We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Lovely hotel wtih a friendly staff. The food we had there was very good. The room was lovely and spotless, though a bit small. The bathroom was large, clean and modern. The location could not have been more convenient for these first-time London visitors. Would definitely stay ther again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenejaShawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, the food and the cleanliness of our rooms and I would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,058 of 4,307 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was the second time we stayed at the Montague. Nice that the staff recognized us, but a billing dispute marred the experience cause the counter staff was not aware of prior arrangements made, and when she was corrected by her supervisor, did not apologize. My wife thought that was somewhat rude. Otherwise, the location was good, and the room comfortable. We stayed in the junior suites 'Virginia Wolfe' and 'Queens'. Both were nice but the executive suite we had on a previous visit was more interesting due to the split level, and of course, more spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singapore_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.
I was sorry to hear about your experience upon check out for which I sincerely apologise.

Here at The Montague we are very passionate about delivering the highest levels of service and I was therefore particularly disappointed with the very poor hospitality displayed by our receptionist as this does not reflect our usual standards.

I hope that this recent experience does not deter you from returning back to the Montague in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at the Montague for 3 nights for our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel is wonderful, well placed to be able to walk to everything. The staff were all great and made our stay soooo special. We were upgraded on arrival, and were given strawberries and chocolates with a balloon later on that evening. On the second evening our room was fillied with rose petals and candles, how romantic! The bar was intimate and had a great atmosphere. We came home and booked to stay in another 2 months. When visiting London we would stay no-where else now.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveandkim03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that your 20th Wedding Anniversary celebration at The Montague was an occasion to remember, and that you enjoyed the room upgrade and the special treats to mark your anniversary.

I am very happy to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in 2 months and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Although the Montague had the best service imaginable, I am still seething about the room. When we checked in, the desk clerk could obviously see that my husband was 75 ish, and I was 68 ish and she should have been knowedgeable enough on the rooms for something in her brain to click and realize she should not be putting these two oldies in a "split level" with 11 steps down and 11 steps up. Meaning, when you walked into the room, the bathroom was on the right, the closet on the left. You then walked down 11 steps to get to the bedroom. Every time we needed to go to the bathroom (which was often at our age) we had to walk up 11 steps and then down 11 steps which was a nightmare during the numerous times during the night. But even moreso, we were there 6 NIGHTS!! You "oldies but goodies" be sure to confirm there will be no stairs in your room.

Room Tip: Seniors be sure you get a stair-free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Montague.

I was sorry to hear about your experience with the bedroom that was allocated to you for which I sincerely apologise.

The Montague has different styles of rooms within each category, of which some have stairs.
Unfortunately on some occasions, a specific style of room might not be available due to these rooms being previously allocated to other guests.

At The Montague we endeavour to accommodate our guests’ preferences at all times, and therefore I was sorry to hear that we did not have the opportunity to move you to a more suitable room for your requirements during your stay.

I am delighted that you found the service to be memorable and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We enjoyed this hotel The staff were welcoming and friendly , The main areas a little old fashioned but very comfortable. Rooms a reasonable size , a a bit on the small side but nicely decorated. Excellent afternoon tea. Quirky little bar and conservatory.Good food, good breakfast, excellent cocktails ( expensive of course) excellent service and handy for British Museum( over the road) Not far from Covent garden and Soho. We would definitely go again once we have saved up!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read your comments on your stay at The Montague and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed overnight on Friday to celebrate my birthday - a surprise from my husband. Hotel staff went overboard and made our stay extra special. We were upgraded to a small suite with a lovely bedroom area; separate sitting room & huge bathroom. The bar area was great and the hotel beautifully decorated throughout. It's in a central location next to the British Museum & overlooking Bloomsbury Gardens. Would not hesitate to visit again or to recommend. A big thank you to all at the Montague.

Room Tip: Always worth asking for an upgrade if you're not satisfied with the first room offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillkent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us and I am glad to hear that we were able to upgrade you to one of our suites.

It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the birthday treats and I would like to thank you for recommending us.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My wife and I frequently stay at the Montague and done for years - we have no reason to go elsewhere in London. The service is excellent and the staff is so friendly that you feel quite at home. As well as the usual greeting, the doormen and reception staff show a genuine interest in plays we see and visits we make. The manager is also often around and makes time to ensure guests are satisfied. It is a restful place where you can wind down from the busy city and relax.

The rooms have been recently re-furbished and we are very pleased that they took the opportunity to soundproof the walls. I am light sleeper and so appreciate the quiet nights.

We always look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest

I am delighted that we have once again made your stay a memorable one, and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,338 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £168 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing