We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This delightful hotel is in a wonderful location, in Bloomsbury. Our room was most tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast, and dinner on the terrace. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxing, and we do hope to have the opportunity to visit again. We strongly recommend The Montague as a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback on your recent stay at the Montague. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various areas that our hotel has to offer and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,246)
There are newer reviews for The Montague on The Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,981 - 2,987 of 4,246 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

One of the best priced hotels ive stayed in, the service is impecable where most of the staff knew our names after being there only a very short time. Underground stations are very close and we didnt have to use cabs but once. I would recommend this hotel for business, leisure, kids. The breakfast was well worth the price as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We loved 'The Montague on the Gardens'. We were treated like royalty! The staff were exceptional and quickly new our names. When visiting London, this is the place to stay! Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandT_xlant_Advntur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice comments following your stay at the Montague. I was especially pleased that you felt the staff were exceptional and they recognised you throughout your stay.

Thank you very much for your personal recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a beautiful traditional hotel close to many sights and easy transportation. The room, a superior double was small but well appointed. The Afternoon Tea was a delightful experience not to be missed and the room service breakfast was scrumptuous. I also wish to give special thanks to Jorge, a young member of your Concierge Team that I encountered most often for all that he did for me while I was a guest at your hotel. His commitment to professionalism, along with his genuinely warm personality made him a pleasure to encounter everyday during my stay. Thanks to all the staff at The Montague on the Gardens for a remarkable stay, and to Jorge in particular for ensuring that though it was my first visit, it will not be my last.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding the hotel and especially Jorge, our Deputy Concierge.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to Jorge and that his service is duly recognised.

I am pleased to hear that you will be returning to The Montague in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is outstanding. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and discreet.
The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and stylish.
I won't stay anywhere else whenever I return to London.
In addition to all of this, the location is central and peaceful - pretty hard to find in London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at The Montague and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After a first stay which was slightly disappointing, we returned a few months later : our perseverence could not have been better rewarded: whether you are looking for a quick meal before the theatre, late night drinks, or a full English breakfast., the Montague is ideally situated for thatre land, the Brtish Museum and much else besdes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herestaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your return trip to The Montague. I was delighted to hear that your visit on this occasion was a successful one and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My Husband and I came to this hotel in September and stayed in a Superior King room and decided to re book for my Sisters wedding in November. We couldn't be happier with this hotel. The location is ideal, service is second to none, breakfast is delicious, ambience is very relaxed and has a feel of old style glamour to it.
On arrival we were upgraded to one of their junior suites and it was beautiful with everything you could wish for including a big corner bath and magazines in the lounge area and plenty of complimentary hot drinks to choose from. The concierge even lent my husband some cuff links as he forgot his! My Sister had her car parked for her by the concierge and the concierge service made this totally stress free by organising it all for her and bringing it back outside the hotel when she left for her honeymoon.
The only minor complaint I would make is that there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke from the bar area in the evenings which I am thinking comes from a smoking area next to the bar which lingered whilst we were having a pre dinner drink but this is probably my ultra sensitive sense of smell! The bar snacks and piano music were very enjoyable. We will definitely revisit this wonderful hotel again on our next trip to London and will miss our Junior Suite! Thank you Montague for another wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay at The Montague.

I was especially pleased to hear that we managed to upgrade you to one of our junior suites and that our Concierge was able to make your stay a stress free one.

Thank you for your comments regarding the smell of smoke from the Cigar Terrace. I have spoken to the bar team for them to ensure that the doors and windows are kept firmly shut at all times when this area is in use.

I am delighted that you will be returning to The Montague in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,255 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,072 in London
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £190 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing