We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mum`s treat to her daughter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mum`s treat to her daughter”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I would just like to say that The Montague On The Gardens was a delightful hotel to spend time celebrating my daughter`s 21st birthday in mid December. It was important to me that she was treated to a little luxury and the hotel staff went out of their way to make her feel special and my hopes and expectations of the Montague were exceeded on every level.
The members of staff we came into direct contact with were all very personable, attentive, efficient, friendly and several were especialy charming which only added to an already superb 2 night stay in one of the sumptious Junior suites.
On a practical level I found my stay to be "good value for money". This was important to me in the current economic climate and the extras experienced in the way of a room upgrade, little treats given to my daughter by the hotel and the quality of the Afternoon Tea/Winter Wonderland experience contributed to this.
I look forward to visiting The Montague more than once during 2012 and my next intended visit will be in March to celebrate my anniversary.

Room Tip: I communicated directly with the hotel via email and then made an on line booking with both methods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations, from the room through to Afternoon Tea and our unique Winter Wonderland experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,438
    629
    97
    24
    9
See reviews for
708
2,047
276
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here for eight nights in July-August 2011. Accommodations were excellent, featuring interesting, richly-textured, high-end furnishings. Service was consistently friendly and no request was too much trouble. After mentioning in passing that I had a special birthday coming up, I returned to my room one evening to find a beautifully decorated plate with biscuits and balloons. The restaurant was an added bonus. I never have high expectations of hotel restaurants, but again, only the word excellent can describe the food and the service. I was pleased to eat there several evenings. I look forward to my next visit and, perhaps a less frantic schedule so that I can try afternoon tea and other features of the hotel that I simply hadn't time for on this first visit. One word of caution to North American visitors. This is a British hotel. The rooms are not the size of football fields and there's no ice maker down the hall, although the staff will provide a bucket of ice on request. If you can accept these limitations, you can look forward to a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The garden side is quieter. Non-smokers take note: there is a Cigar Terrace, so this is not a smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed both the hotel restaurant and the service that you received.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

stayed there with my spouse for a romantic weekend. The hotel location is just excellent. The breakfast was superb. We also loved to have our aperitif in the bar.
The room was very small in my memory it feels like a room with just enough space for a (queen-size)bed. Nevertheless the room and bath was clean. We had there a pleasant stay. Not sure if we would come back as the hotel is not very cheap and there are other options available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zum_fettigen_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly the bar and breakfast offerings and that you found the location to be excellent.

I was sorry that you found the room to be small. Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of January for two nights. The staff were absolutely wonderful; nothing was too much trouble and anything we asked for was provided swiftly and with the utmost courtesy. Special mention should go to Luis who was so lovely at looking after our children (they wanted to take him home!), talking to them like grown-ups and providing sweets! We stayed for my birthday and the hotel left me a bottle of champagne on arrival and Luis brought us another two glasses on the day itself. My husband also ordered a dairy free birthday cake which was delicious!

We stayed in the Guv'nors two bedroom suite which was lovely and clean and had the highest standard of finish. We chose this room as our children are still relatively young and we're not quite ready for interconnecting rooms (and a family room would mean no sleep for anyone!) Whilst the room was lovely, with its own little conservatory and Christmas tree (a lovely touch), it was very overfurnished. The main room is dominated by a huge dining table (too big for four occupants) which conceals a snooker table underneath. Despite the dining facilities being able to accommodate about eight people, there was not enough room in the conservatory for the four of us to comfortably sit down together. The kitchen was fantastic and the beds very comfortable but the whole suite is at basement level and therefore the master bedroom has no outside light at all which we found a bit disorientating. All in all a lovely room but could do with making the dining area into a sitting room with some sofas.

Breakfast was adequate and, again, the staff were lovely. I would have preferred hot meals to order rather than a hot buffet as the food would have been fresher. If I'm being very critical, the breakfast wasn't the best: the rolls were so soggy they were inedible on the first morning and the pastries weren't regularly refreshed, leaving very few by the time we came at 9.30am.

I would stay at this hotel again because they made us feel so very welcome but I would go for a room facing on to the gardens instead of the basement suite and wouldn't include breakfast in the price. A lovely, clean, homely and welcoming place to be though. Thank you for making my birthday very special.

Room Tip: The Guv'nor's two bed suite is lovely but overcrowded with furniture and in the basement res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you found the staff to be absolutely wonderful particularly the service you received from Luis and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was disappointed however to read that you found the breakfast to be adequate and that you felt that the buffet was not refilled to your satisfaction.

We do pride ourselves in exceeding our guest expectations at all times and I am sorry to read that we have not done this on this occasion. I have discussed your feedback with my Food and Beverage manager to ensure that this does not reoccur.

I was also disappointed to read that you felt that the dining table in the Guv’nor’s Suite was too large and that the decoration was not to your taste. We do receive so many fantastic comments regarding our Guv’nor’s Suite but we do also have a large variety of rooms and suites available each with its own unique interior design. We will be more than happy to discuss the room styles with you on your next reservation to ensure that the room that is allocated to you is more to your satisfaction.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Most of the nice things they say on this site about the hotel are true. It is a sweet English hotel. If you look hard enough you'll find fault everywere - and reading reviews it seems some people only travel to do so - but it's difficult to find some in this place. We stayed here for three nights and what struck me most was the very, very good customerservice. I think that's their main asset. If you're looking for a happening hotel this is not your place. If on the other hand you want a quite, elegant place with a well trained staff in the centre of London: this is it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erasmus115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our customer service and that you found our property to be elegant with well trained staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Montague of the Gardens is a great place to stay whille traveling in London. I stayed here for one night in late December and had a very plesant experience. It is about 1hr away from London Heathrow airport by Taxi. The hotel can arrange a pick up and drop off taxi service upon request. The bed was extremley comfortable, and after having traveled by plane for many hours, the comfort and relaxation the hotel provided was much needed and appreciated. I origionally booked a twin size room, but was able to upgrade to a double for a small additional fee. The bathroom was very nice, and very clean, which is very important to me. The staff was extremley helpful in providing information about tours. I was able to book a tour thru the hotel, and it was only a block away from the hotel, so close enough to walk. Also the hotel is located close to the tube station, so you can use that mode of transportation as well. I ordered room service and the food was very good. The internet works extremley well, they provide both free wifi and cord. I was able to skype with no interuption in service and a clear picture. There are many many restaurants close to the hotel within walking distance and driving. I would definitely stay here again and look forward to returning to London.

Room Tip: I would choose a double room at the very least, rooms are a bit small in London compared to hotels i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read your very complimentary comments about the service that you received and the facilities that we have on offer at the hotel. I was delighted to also read that you will definitely return in the future.

We wish you all of the best for 2012 and we look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.

Regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the Montegue just before Christmas and loved it. The rooms are fantastic, decorated in a distinctive style and to a very high standard. Breakfast was delicious and made all the better for the friendly service. Our only regret was that we had such a busy schedule we didn't get to enjoy sitting in the bar and conservatory. Recommend this hotel and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at the Montague on the Gardens. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, service and breakfast in the morning.

We wish you all the best for 2012 and we hope to welcome you back in the new year.

Regards,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,201 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,777 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,784 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing