We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid Jan for a special birthday. Expensive but worth it . The place is well run, rooms are nice & it's handily located for theatreland & the sights of London. We had a nice stay.

Room Tip: choose the back of the hotel for views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j5ffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Montague and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,018 - 3,024 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had an evening out to go to in central London and found this hotel on the net. The hotel is impressive inside with extremely polite and attentive staff who made us welcome. The room was lovely and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very nice feedback on your recent stay at The Montague and I was pleased to hear that you found the staff to be extremely polite and attentive.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We arrived on the Friday at 12.45pm to a lovely welcome as we stepped out of the taxi. Our bag was taken and the door was opened for us ! Wow what a stunning interior! Our room wasn't quite ready so we had a meal in the bar which was divine in lovely surroundings. We went off to explore the area and returned a couple of hours later to an apologetic welcome for the room not being ready earlier but we didn't mind at all. Our bag was in our room which again had the wow factor very clean and everything we could possibly need to make our stay comfortable. Even complimentary biscuits were bought up by room service. After an evening out we ventured into the cigar room where my husband selected his cigar from a menu and we had a night cap in the heated covered patio area where again the staff were really helpful and welcoming. We then had a hot drink in the lounge (the hot chocolate is exquisite). The staff continued to make sure we were having a nice time. I can honestly say it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay and I was delighted to hear that you had an outstanding experience with us and enjoyed the various services and amenities that we provide.

I was delighted to hear that you will be returning to us in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for a Sunday night in early December as I was attending an early business meeting close by. We chose this hotel as we've stayed at others in the Red Carnation group and know that the group delivers in terms of service and attention to detail. We were not disappointed. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The concierge sorted out our car parking so that we would pay the minimum and avoid congestion charge. We changed rooms as the first one they showed us was tiny (no room to move around the bed). We paid an extra £30 to upgrade to a larger room with a view of the gardens at the back. Although the decor was a little tired, it was charming in it's own way. The bed was king size and very comfortable with a soft mattress topper. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. We welcomed some guests in the evening and we had drinks and snacks in the bar. Was cosy and had a 'club' like feel about it. We were slightly bothered by the smoke emanating from the cigar area at the back Breakfast next morning, ordered via room service, was plentiful and arrived right on time. We enjoyed our night at the Montague and would return should the need arise.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room - the pictures on the website are a little misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Montague and I would equally like to thank you for your continued support of Red Carnation Hotels.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Montague and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the discomfort that was caused by smoke from the outdoor cigar terrace and I will ask my team to be more vigilant in ensuring that this area is properly closed off during use.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Attended the hotel for a conference and had an overnight stay. The hotel is in a central location, which is great for tourists etc and close to the station. Good facilities (the bar and tea area were genuinely beautiful and will be wonderful in he summer, BUT, the main reason for praise are the staff. They are truly fantastic! I do not think I have attended a hotel in this country where the staff have such wonderful customer service. A special mention to the following:-
George (in the conference rooms) - so, so, so helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble and always had a smile on his face! I could easily steal this member of staff for my organisation!!!
Vanessa (on reception) - a perfect individual or reception. Attentive, friendly and flexible - again, nothing was too much trouble!
Mohammed (conference rooms) - another friendly and helpful staff member
Sebastian and George (conceirge) - So helpful and ready to assist with any matter, e.g. getting things out of my bag for the 10th time - and always done with a smile!

Our conference organisers agreed we will have another meeting there as we were all equally impressed with the high quality of customer service! Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon

Oh and the beds...best night sleep in ages! SOOOOO comfortable!!! (I was in 302). Not the biggest of rooms, but everything you need...including lovely lip balm (love it!) and comfy slippers!

Room Tip: Anything you need, just ask. I can assure you it will be done with a smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjaynepoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very complimentary feedback following your recent conference that you held with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the customer service to be wonderful and especially the service that you received from George, Vanesa, Mohammed, Sebastian and Jorge. I will ensure that their efforts are duly recognised.

I am pleased to hear that you will be holding another meeting with us in future and we look
forward to looking after you again.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We have just spent a night at the Montague and had a fantastic stay. We were really fortunate to be upgraded to a master suite which was just wonderful. Such a lovely thoughtful gesture which made our stay.

From start to finish, the staff were genuinely friendly and charming, they really helped to make our stay special.

Our room was split level and beautifully decorated. It looked out over a lovely private garden at the back of the building, so was very peaceful. The bed was huge and really comfortable.

As we settled into our room, canapes were brought to us, a lovely touch to go with the champagne we had ordered! Breakfast was amongst the best we've had- the option of crispy bacon deserves a special mention- yum!

The bathroom had a tv, although it was actually positioned in the wrong place to be seen from the bath! But other than that, it had lovely touches like a light in the shower head, and a blue light over the toilet so you didn't need to put the main light on at night.

The location is ideal for the British Museum, which is a couple of minutes stroll away. We also walked to Covent Graden in less than 15 mins. Russell Square tube is a 5 min walk across a lovely garden.

We will definitely return to this hotel, they made our stay a really happy and comfortable one. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

I was additionally delighted to read that you found our team to be genuinely friendly, helping to make your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I really enjoyed my recent stay at the Montague on the Gardens. It's very hard finding decent accommodation in London. I suspect I'll stick with the Montague now I've found it. The location is excellent - right next to the British Museum, and walking distance to the West End. The room, while fairly small (this is London after all!) was comfortable and well furnished. Best of all, the service was excellent. You actually felt like the staff cared!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room to be comfortable and well furnished.

I was particularly delighted that you found the service to be excellent.

Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique. Our Reservations Team will be delighted to discuss these room types with you when you are next making a reservation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,132 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,908 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £170 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing