We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 February 2012

From the moment we arrived the service could not have been better.
Check in was smooth and the staff seemed interested in our plans during our stay and offered to help with any planning should we so wish.
We had a room on the ground floor which was clean and attractively decorated. The bathroom was very large and clean. Our room was set up to accommodate a disabled traveller but this didn't make the room any less pleasant.
When we returned to the hotel later the bed had been turned Down ready for us to climb into.
Breakfast was extensive with a good selection of meat and cheeses for the continental option and all the usual suspects for the full English.
The juices were freshly squeezed, delicious and plentiful.
The restaurant staff were as attentive as all the other staff at this hotel. It's a rare treat to have such friendly and engaged staff at a hotel and this will definelty bring us back here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay at The Montague. I was especially pleased to read that you found the service outstanding and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

I am delighted that you will be returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you then.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,051 - 3,057 of 4,394 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at the Montague for a week just after Christmas and over New Year's weekend. Tthe Bloomsbury location is unbeatable, the decor is thoroughly British with a Scottish accent, sumptuously decorated for the holidays when we were there. It felt like stepping right into a Masterpiece Theatre story, with us in the leading roles. Every single staff member, from the doorman to the guy who fixes TVs, was both gracious and conscientious, with a just-right balance between respect and friendliness & without a hint of snobbishness. On New Year's Day we invited friends to Afternoon Tea & our group included a diabetic, a Deaf person, and two people needing gluten-free food--and with less than a day's notice of the special needs, the kitchen produced a really lovely & delicious tea that accommodated everyone and was served by staff who were patient, attentive, and really caring. We had several meals in the hotel--breakfast and dinner--and found it all excellent--*really* scrumptious Christmas pudding! If you want to treat yourself to a top quality, very British, very comfortable place to stay in Central London I don't think you could do better.

Room Tip: If you want twin beds, they can divide a big bed for you in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very complimentary feedback following your stay over the Festive period. I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the service that you received throughout your stay. I was delighted to hear that we were able to assist with the various dietary requirements for your afternoon tea at such short notice.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our stay at The Montague on the Gardens was perfect from start to finish. Greeted by Vanessa at check-in, we were delighted by the kitschy perfection of this comfortable, luxurious, very plush room overlooking the gardens of the private gardens of the Bedford Estate and its surrounding Georgian townhouses. Please understand that I am using the word 'plush' advisedly: in addition to the aforementioned view, our room had upholstered walls and matching drapes, not to mention outrageously fine bed linens as well as a tiny annex a few steps up from the room itself (with a gleaming little brass bannister) containing an outsize divan, reading table, reading light and small flat screen tv - PERFECT for snoozing, reading and anything else you might think to do on it... We enjoyed a complimentary pot of tea upon arrival on the hotel's stage set of a ground floor leading to two conservatories and a restaurant and, from there on in, our every experience in the hotel was a delight - drinks in the bar, dinner in their excellent restaurant (last-minute reservations booked during intermission at the Royal Opera were promptly taken with less than an hour's notice for a very late dinner) and a perfectly timed breakfast and punctual departure coordinated by Jamie at the night desk and Mark the night concierge in the wee hours after our last night out. I cannot overstate the professionalism AND warmth of the hotel's outstanding staff. Absolutely unforgettable and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room overlooking the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and the facilities that we provide.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback about our staff and especially Vanesa, Jamie and Mark. I will ensure that their service is duly recognised.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid Jan for a special birthday. Expensive but worth it . The place is well run, rooms are nice & it's handily located for theatreland & the sights of London. We had a nice stay.

Room Tip: choose the back of the hotel for views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j5ffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Montague and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had an evening out to go to in central London and found this hotel on the net. The hotel is impressive inside with extremely polite and attentive staff who made us welcome. The room was lovely and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very nice feedback on your recent stay at The Montague and I was pleased to hear that you found the staff to be extremely polite and attentive.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We arrived on the Friday at 12.45pm to a lovely welcome as we stepped out of the taxi. Our bag was taken and the door was opened for us ! Wow what a stunning interior! Our room wasn't quite ready so we had a meal in the bar which was divine in lovely surroundings. We went off to explore the area and returned a couple of hours later to an apologetic welcome for the room not being ready earlier but we didn't mind at all. Our bag was in our room which again had the wow factor very clean and everything we could possibly need to make our stay comfortable. Even complimentary biscuits were bought up by room service. After an evening out we ventured into the cigar room where my husband selected his cigar from a menu and we had a night cap in the heated covered patio area where again the staff were really helpful and welcoming. We then had a hot drink in the lounge (the hot chocolate is exquisite). The staff continued to make sure we were having a nice time. I can honestly say it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay and I was delighted to hear that you had an outstanding experience with us and enjoyed the various services and amenities that we provide.

I was delighted to hear that you will be returning to us in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for a Sunday night in early December as I was attending an early business meeting close by. We chose this hotel as we've stayed at others in the Red Carnation group and know that the group delivers in terms of service and attention to detail. We were not disappointed. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The concierge sorted out our car parking so that we would pay the minimum and avoid congestion charge. We changed rooms as the first one they showed us was tiny (no room to move around the bed). We paid an extra £30 to upgrade to a larger room with a view of the gardens at the back. Although the decor was a little tired, it was charming in it's own way. The bed was king size and very comfortable with a soft mattress topper. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. We welcomed some guests in the evening and we had drinks and snacks in the bar. Was cosy and had a 'club' like feel about it. We were slightly bothered by the smoke emanating from the cigar area at the back Breakfast next morning, ordered via room service, was plentiful and arrived right on time. We enjoyed our night at the Montague and would return should the need arise.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room - the pictures on the website are a little misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Montague and I would equally like to thank you for your continued support of Red Carnation Hotels.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Montague and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the discomfort that was caused by smoke from the outdoor cigar terrace and I will ask my team to be more vigilant in ensuring that this area is properly closed off during use.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,081 in London
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,949 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £183 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing