We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, great staff”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #12 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, MA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I arrived in London on September 3rd. Took the Heathrow Express to Paddington and then the #7 bus to Montague Street. The bus left me off right across the street from the hotel. Very convenient! I was able to check in early to room #302 on the 3rd floor. My room faced the street, but I was never bothered by any street noise during my stay. My room had beatiful fabric wall covering, like nothing I'd ever seen before. The bathroom was quite nice. My room was equipped with a hairdryer, iron, ironing board and a safe. The hotel staff were wonderful, very helpful with directions or ideas of what I could do. Full breakfast was included with my room rate, no complaints whatsoever. It was delicious and had almost anything you could think of. I picked this location because of the proximity to The British Museum. I was within walkng distance of the Tottenham Court Road or Holborn tube stations. Plenty of restaurants to choose from along Kingsway, a short walk.

Went to Sir John Soane's Museum (stuffed to the brim with interesting things), got a meringue from Bea's of Bloomsbury (excellent!) and of course, spent hours at the British Museum.

I'd definintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the Montague and you liked the decor in your room. I am equally pleased that you were happy with all the amenities provided including the hairdryer, iron and safe and that you experienced a peaceful night.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback that the staff were wonderful, helpful and assisted you with ideas of what to do. Your comments will be most appreciated.

I am thrilled that you were happy with the breakfast, finding it to be delicious and of a good variety.

Thank you for your positive recommendation, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

4,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,412
    625
    96
    24
    9
See reviews for
695
2,036
275
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here on business and it was good for a functional, clean and quiet place to lay my head. Decently priced but small rooms, even by european standards. Only stayed one night - overall comfortable, average service and amenities, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of the room that was allocated to you. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment this may have caused. Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique.

However I am pleased to read that you found the room allocated to be comfortable and a quiet place. Your kind feedback that the staff were friendly is most appreciated.

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Montague on the Gardens this past week for three nights. From arrival on the staff couldn't have been friendlier and more attentive. The room, albeit quite small was delightful and so quaint, yet had all the modern amenities we needed. I would definitely stay here again and would love to see the other rooms as I understand they are all different!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit to the Montague.

I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were happy with the amenities provided in the room.

Your kind comments that the staff couldn’t have been friendlier or more attentive are wonderful to read as they provide great motivation for the team.

Each of our rooms are unique and so I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon to experience a different one.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We recently had a good sized group at the Montague on the Gardens hotel in London. As tour operators, the Montague is our first choice for hotel in London. As usual, the service was superb, from the sales department to the front desk to the catering staff.
The location can't be beat and staff is wonderful. Can't say enough good things about the Montague and we've been bringing groups to the hotel for over 12 years!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review following your visit to the hotel.

As regular and much valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations.

I am absolutely thrilled that the service was superb from all departments, I will be sure to pass this feedback on to the staff who will be most grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was at this hotel this summer for a business trip and everything was marvelous.
From the consierge that was extremly nice and willing to help to the superb rooms. The room was not too big but it was enough to accomodate me and it had really nice interior, it made me feel really welcomed.
Another thing is the fact that the hotel is really in the center of London and you can easily walk to the Oxford Street (if you are interested in shopping) or to the British Museum if you are more of an art person.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit.

At the Montague we like to ensure that everyone has a comfortable stay with us whether they are travelling for business or leisure and I am delighted that that these efforts were noticed.

I was delighted to read that you found the Concierge to be extremely nice and willing to help. I am equally pleased that you felt welcome; I will be sure to pass this kind feedback on.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I spent a weekend in London and I stayed at this hotel from October 4-6, 2013. I chose this hotel solely based on Tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room, although a little small for a King room, was very well appointed and very clean. breakfast was very good, and the location very close to major sights; including the British Museum which is just around the corner. I had a late dinner, a club sandwich, in the bar on Saturday night and it was delicious. My room (Room 20) faced the garden and was extremely quiet even with the window open. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there the next time I'm in London.

Room Tip: My room faced the garden and I recommend getting a garden-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback following your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and was not disappointed. I am pleased that the staff were friendly and helpful.

At the Montague on the Gardens we pride ourselves in excellent customer service and quality of food, so I am thrilled that you found breakfast to be very good and that you were happy with your sandwich served in the bar.

I am equally happy that you had an undisturbed and quiet night.

Thank you for your kind recommendation. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at The Montague for a week long business visit and was very pleased. The location is great, as it was a short walk to my offices, but also a short walk to the underground, a quick cab to Camden, and across the street from the British Museum. Upon arriving I was greeted by name (and every time I returned from the office). My early arrival from the US meant my room was not immediately available. The staff set me up with a nice light breakfast and some tea while final preparations were made. I was in the room shortly and appreciated the personalized feel. As others have mentioned, the room sizes are a bit tight, but I do feel this is to be expected at a hotel of this age. I would recommend requesting rooms off the ground level however, as my garden view was not enjoyed in lieu of closed blinds and privacy.
The overall feel was one of excellent service and English hospitality. A classic feel with little use for trends or fads. When coming home exhausted from a long day settling into the lounge for a quick dinner and drink hit the spot perfectly. Be sure to try the breakfast, as it was definitely a great start to each day. While I may seek a more modern experience if traveling for pleasure, I have regular business in London and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Give preference to rooms off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Montague and that the staff were able to assist you when your room was not quite ready. We like to ensure our guests are comfortable and so I am happy that you enjoyed breakfast whilst the finishing touches were being made to your room.

We like to offer our guests an area where they can relax after a long day of business or sight seeing and so I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy dinner in the lounge.

Your kind comment that service is excellent is most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,177 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,713 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,756 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,199 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing