We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very english”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was a truly wonderful stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms just as described. We ate several evenings in the Bistro and were delighted.
The feeling is a bit like watching an Agatha Christie film on BBC.
I could even recommend it for women travelling alone.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller side (but this is London). Book rooms on the garden side.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

I was thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant, The Blue Door Bistro. Your kind feedback is most appreciated; and I will be delighted to share this with our Kitchen team.

We like to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and have everything they need when they stay with us including solo travellers. Thank you for your kind recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,240)
There are newer reviews for The Montague on The Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,169 - 2,175 of 4,242 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have been in such hotel for two weeks last week of October and first week of November 2013
The only negative thing is that the rooms are not very large (quite small) but despite the fully booking period the direction changed my room with a largest one (this once again shows their total attention to the client)
Rooms (despite measures) are very comfortable very well equipped and the kindness of the whole personnel is more than perfect (I wish to thank you in particular one lady – Naples origins , her husband, and all staf of reception – sorry but I cannot remember her name and I apologize for this since she has been very very nice towards me and all the hotel personnel made me feel at home)
The hotel is very well located and most London attractions can be easily reached on foot (see Covent garden)
I deeply suggest such Hotel to anyone visiting London
Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rota E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit.

I was very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of the room that was allocated to you. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment this would have caused. Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique. However, I am delighted that you were offered a more suitable room.

Our staff like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and have a memorable experience. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to Adele, Jorge and the team and that their service is duly noted.

Your kind recommendation is very much appreciated. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were delighted with the experience again.Other reviewers have made the advantages of the geographical situation obvious and I can only endorse this.Everything is first class and the food,furnishings,linens etc,are top quality.What we especially appreciated were the "little touches" e.g. a bookmark slipped into a reading book,heating turned up to give us a warm welcome after a night out and phone calls to make sure all was o.k. with the room.I cannot speak highly enough of the staff who are pleasant and friendly and prepared to go "the extra mile" to oblige.I jist didn't want to leave to return home!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your recent visit.

As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations, and made your second stay an occasion to remember.

Your kind words that everything including the food, furnishing and linen are ‘first class’ are most appreciated. I am equally pleased that you liked the small gestures our staff did to ensure your stay was comfortable and memorable. I am thrilled that they were pleasant, friendly and were happy to go the extra mile for you. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our work worthwhile.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A beautiful hotel in a superb location. Rooms were standard size for London. Great bar area, breakfasts were fantastic. Stayed for 3 nights for a graduation. The hotel picked up on this and sent a balloon, a card signed by all the staff and a plate of treats to the room to join in on the celebrations. Amazing touch! Only down side was a v.small gym room with 3 CV machines in. Otherwise, had a great stay and would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent visit.

I have noted your comments with regards to the gym equipment and I would like to apologise for the disappointment this would have caused to you. Unfortunately due to a lack of available space, we are limited with the amount of equipment we can provide in our fitness suite however our Concierge would be more than happy to assist you with recommendations for a local gym on your next visit.

I am pleased that this did not detract too much from your stay and we have met your expectations, making your special graduation trip an occasion to remember.

Your kind comment that the breakfast was fantastic is most appreciated and I will share this with the Kitchen and Restaurant staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first anniversary!

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Super clean and lovely, great location mid way between two central tube stations. The nightly treats left on the bed at turndown and the fluffy towels and crisp linens were a treat. Very very nice, not inexpensive but nothing in London is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Montague. We like to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and you found the hotel to be ‘super clean and lovely’. I am equally pleased that you were happy with the amenities including the fluffy towels and crisp linens.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Montague for two nights - two adults, a 7-yr. old and a 1-yr. old - and had an excellent experience. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. The restaurant staff were terrific - breaking out the highchair for the baby and paying special attention to the kids. The rooms were charming and the housekeeping staff made sure the 7-yr old had a drawing kit and the baby had a crib and toys. We lost a beloved stuffed animal on our last day there, which the reception desk found and mailed back to us.

The location is terrific for walking to the British Museum and areas all around.

Will definitely stay there again when back in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APRRWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent visit to the Montague.

We are very proud of our staff and it is wonderful to read that you had an excellent experience. Our staff like to ensure that all of our guests including children have a comfortable and memorable stay with us. I am thrilled that the team were friendly and helpful and were able to assist with a baby chair. I am equally delighted that your children enjoyed the toys left in the room.

I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

fantastic location, can walk to covent garden or Piccadilly easily, buses go to where you are going close by. two tube stations close by. Fabulous room. lovely attentive professional staff .nice to look out on gardens. sky tv. no music marvellous. no decaf tea. no classical music on the tv. would like speaker in bathroom. for radio 4 or classical music.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemmy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

I am delighted to read that you found your room to be fabulous and the staff to be attentive and professional. We always work hard to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is lovely to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I have noted your suggestion regarding additional TV choices and speakers in the bathroom. I welcome any specific channels/choices that you would like to see included and will share this with my Management team.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,072 in London
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,815 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £188 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing