We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Montague contines to deliver!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Montague contines to deliver!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I always stay at the Montague when we are in London. The hotel is comfortable, the staff are superb, and its location can't be beat. It's close to Soho, the West End, Covent Garden and much more, but it manages to still provide a quiet and peaceful oasis. We've stayed in both street and garden facing rooms, and have never been disturbed by any outdoor noise. Every room we've stayed in has been unique and beautifully decorated. We stayed in Room 316 this past visit, and it was very comfortable, garden facing, and a little roomier. I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GATraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the hotel.

As returning and much-valued guests your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore thrilled that we have once again met your expectations and made this visit another quiet and peaceful stay.

I am delighted that you enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep and do not get disturbed by outside noise when you are at the hotel.

Your kind words that the staff are superb and the hotel is comfortable are most appreciated and I will be more than happy to share this with the team who will be most grateful.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,438
    629
    97
    24
    9
See reviews for
708
2,047
276
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Montague is excellent if you like comfort, attention to detail and friendly, cheerful service. You pay accordingly, as it is not cheap, but worth the expense (more than can be said for many over-priced London establishments). Although it has 100 rooms, the hotel feels much more intimate than that would suggest - rooms and public spaces are small scale, in keeping with the original terrace of properties. Its situation is ideal if you want to visit the British Museum - literally just around the corner from the main entrance. In-room entertainment offers good choice - we were able to catch up with a recent film release we had missed. The restaurant staff were helpful in coping with our food allergies, and we were very well looked after, especially by Anya. This was our second visit, and it now becomes an annual event.

Room Tip: Room 30 is lovely - ground floor, garden view, just round the corner from the restaurant. Can be kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us

Your kind comment that the Montague is comfortable with a friendly and cheerful service is most appreciated. I am delighted that you were not disappointed on your second visit to the hotel.

We like to ensure that our guests are happy and have anything they may need during their time with us and so I am extremely pleased that Anja looked after you and assisted with your dietary requirement in our restaurant, the Blue Door Bistro. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly recognised.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Having stayed at the Monty over many years on business, I was in no doubt as to where I would stay when I retired whenever my wife and I are in London. The staff at the Montague never fail to impress with their friendliness and fantastic service. They are always attentive (without being over-bearing), thoughtful and helpful. It really does feel as though you are visiting friends and you sense the staff feel that too.

All the rooms I have stayed in have been beautifully decorated and there is a wonderful homely and comfortable feel about all the public rooms that are stylishly and sumptuously furnished. The quality of the food is outstanding and the breakfasts, in particular, are a feast with everything you could wish for.

Besides the overall service quality, it is also the small touches that makes the hotel stand out: the un-prompted upgrade; the telephone call to check that everything is OK; the small gift of homemade biscuits; the personal note of welcome from the Manager; topping up the nibbles whilst having a nightcap; the waitress at breakfast getting a mango juice from the bar which was not obviously available on the breakfast table.

The hotel is ideally situated for the places we often visit including the Royal Opera House, Ray's Jazz in Foyles and the British Museum. There are loads of excellent restaurants nearby should one choose to eat out. The Concierge staff, brilliantly led by the wonderful Mustafa, will always help out with directions and, on one occasion, got scarce theatre tickets for us.

This modest-sized, boutique hotel, and by that I mean the staff really, stands head and shoulders above any other in its class I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_r_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your visit to the hotel.

At the Montague, we like to ensure that all of our guests whether they are visiting for business or leisure feel comfortable and at home when with us and so it is lovely to read that our efforts are noticed. Your kind comments that our staff never fail to impress and are attentive, thoughtful and helpful are most appreciated. I am especially happy that Mustafa and his team were able to assist with directions and theatre tickets for you.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant the Blue Door Bistro. Your kind words that the quality of the food is outstanding is most appreciated. We like to make sure that our guests have everything they may need or want and so I am pleased that the team arranged for you to have mango juice.

I will be delighted to pass this kind feedback on to the staff and ensure that their hard work is recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here 8th march on a quick visit to visit friends and family, and was pleasantly surprised at the luxury and service received from this boutique hotel. My room was a little on the small side, but not a problem for one person and was beautifully furnished. Had lunch on the outside terrace which was superb. Every member of staff was very attentive, especially Paulos who looked after us on the outside terrace, and made you feel very special, nothing was to much trouble. Will definitely be booking a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting friends and family and that you were pleasantly surprised.

I am equally thrilled that you had the opportunity to dine on the Terrace which you found superb. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always positive to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that Paulos assisted you and that he made you feel special during your visit. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to Paulos and that his service is duly noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My family and I have been guests in the Montague Hotel for a long time and each time we come it is wonderful. I spent my birthday in London 2 weeks ago and I received wonderful service including a delicious cake and a very kind birthday card. As always the staff was brilliant making this occasion very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

As regular and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations, and made your birthday an occasion to remember.

I am delighted that the staff made this celebration special for you during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise in London. There was plenty of staff to help with your every need. The decor is beautiful and very comfortable. My room was a little small but the beautiful furnishings helped make up for that. I received a phone call to make sure all was ok with my room, then also received a visit from house keeping with complimentary home made biscuits .. Which were beautiful and a wonderful gesture. I stopped shrove Tuesday and here was a chef in the lounge area cooking complimentary pancakes. The bar area is quaint and I could spend many an hour watching the world go by. Only thing to watch out for was the pricey drinks - a house vodka was 11.50 !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review about your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you found the Montague to be a pleasant surprise in London. Your kind comments that the decor is beautiful and that it is very comfortable are most appreciated.

I am glad that you had the opportunity to spend some time in the bar to watch ‘the world go by’. We like to celebrate special occasions and holidays so I do hope that you enjoyed one of the Chef’s complimentary pancakes!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Visited my sister here for lunch and had a fabulous time. The hotel is excellent and the attention to detail is amazing. Staff are fabulous but a special mention to Paulus who went the extra mile. I felt like a princess, nothing was too much trouble and he shone like a star!
Fantastic food, service and ambience'

This is a hidden gem and I will be back!
Well done Red Carnation Hotels!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your recent visit.

I am delighted that you and your sister had a fabulous time with us when you came for lunch in The Blue Door Bistro.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always lovely to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that Paulos went the extra mile when serving you and that he ‘shone like a star’. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to Paulos and that his service is duly rewarded.

Your positive comments that the food, service and ambience were fantastic are equally most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,202 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,781 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing