We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, above and beyond attention to detail that ensured a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #12 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, above and beyond attention to detail that ensured a great stay!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thank you everyone at the Montague for making our weekend a memorable one! I highly recommend this hotel. Putting aside the special attention payed to me for my birthday; the complimentary upgrade to the Queen suite, the special personal messages from the staff; the rose petals in the room and in the bath along with the floating candles, the complimentary hors d'oeuvres and the presents of home-made biscuits and cuff links! this was a really enjoyable stay.
The staff were very attentive and friendly and the food at breakfast was fresh and very nice.
We have stayed at some very nice hotels in London, however this was by far the most impressive as far as service, quality and friendliness is concerned.
Thank you to everyone at the hotel from the concierge and reception staff through to the dining room and kitchen staff, the housekeepers and the management, all of which contributed to a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: The Queen suite is lovely with a nice view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review following you recent visit.

Our staff really like to make sure that our guests have a memorable and comfortable time with us here at the Montague. I am delighted to read that their efforts were noticed and that you had a enjoyable stay to celebrate your birthday. I am equally pleased that the team were attentive and friendly; I will ensure that their service and hard work is duly recognised.

Your wonderful comment that you found the Montague to be the most impressive of the hotels you had stayed in where service, quality and friendliness is concerned provides great motivation for the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,379
    620
    95
    24
    9
See reviews for
684
2,018
274
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had wanted to stay at this hotel for a number of years but had always chosen cheaper hotels close by in London. My husband and i were to travel onto Paris for 6 days to celebrate my birthday and so i also decided that i would finally book this hotel to make the trip even more special ...and special it was! From the moment we were met at the front door, we were welcomed by staff, who were very warm and friendly and we were made to feel relaxed and right at home. After checking in, one of the porters gave us a little introduction tour of all the downstairs areas. The King bedroom was light, bright, spacious, very comfortable and a lovely relaxing night sleep came as a result. The room was situated at the rear of the hotel, with a garden view. The sitting/television area was great with plenty of space and had numerous magazines to browse through. After spending the afternoon at The British Museum, (which is right across the road), we returned to the room to find complimentary biscuits, a personalized welcome card, a plate of savory food items, a plate of macaroons with the message of 'happy birthday' written in chocolate, oh and also a balloon. This just made my day! Breakfast the next morning was very delicious and plentiful. I will not hesitate again to book a room here and i am already planning my next trip abroad to also coincide visiting London again. Thank you to all the staff, you really do make a difference!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you chose to continue your birthday celebrations at the Montague on the Gardens Hotel and that we met your expectations, making this special occasion memorable.

I am delighted that the staff were welcoming and made you feel at home. The team endeavour to ensure that our guests are most comfortable during their time with us and that their stay is truly unforgettable. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the staff.

I am equally pleased that you enjoyed your room and found it to be light, spacious and very comfortable and that you experienced a relaxing night’s sleep.

Your kind comments that breakfast was very delicious and plentiful are most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

During our stay here for six nights not once did we have a problem or issue with the Hotel or the ever smiling and helpful staff. They establishment is exquisite and their attention to detail results in a memorable, enjoyable and relaxing stay which is surely what we all want? I would have no hesitation in recommending this to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent visit.

At the Montague our staff endeavour to exceed our guests’ expectations of service and I am delighted to read that your stay with us was excellent. The team like to ensure that every guests stay with us is memorable and comfortable and so I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found it to be relaxing.

Your kind recommendation is most appreciated, thank you. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is charming and quaint with a great central location in Bloomsbury next to the British museum. Everyone on the staff is friendly and eager to help. Susanna and Tomas were exceptionally helpful and nice. The room is not large, but its clean, light, and tasteful, and small is normal for London and this price. The room was facing the back garden area. The only problem was the noise from the room above in the morning. The person was walking around alot and the floor was squeaking loudly, so I couldn't sleep past 7am in the morning. When I conveyed this to the front desk, they were understanding and offered to move me to another room. I chose not to move and the next two mornings were fine with a new, less noisy occupant. The bed was very comfortable too. The afternoon tea is the back garden room is quite pleasant and the English breakfast from room service was good and plentiful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit.

Your feedback with regards to the noise from the guest in the room above you is appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the disturbance this would have caused. We are limited with what we are able to do with regards to noise levels within the hotel; however I have asked my Chief Engineer to investigate possible ways in which we can improve the sound proofing of our rooms without causing further disruption to our guests. Nonetheless, I am delighted that the team offered to assist with a room move.

We invest heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care and make sure our guests leave us feeling they have received exceptional service. I am thrilled that Susana and Tomasz assisted you during your stay and were exceptionally helpful. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our efforts worthwhile and I will ensure that their service is duly noted.

I am equally pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our afternoon tea and that you felt breakfast was good and plentiful.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had visited this hotel last year on business and it was so nice that I decided to bring my husband back for a surprise weekend to celebrate his birthday. We had one of the Bloomsbury weekend packages which includes champagne and complimentary 'tea'. My husband was very impressed with the hotel, as was I and although the rooms are small it wasn't a problem - the ambience, staff, decor and attention more than make up for it. Best thing about the hotel - the personal attention given by the staff - they always make you feel like you are the most important person in the world: the quality of the staff services is the best we have encountered. The worst thing - the 12.5% service charge in the bar. We could have done without the complimentary tea as neither my husband nor I like tea or cakes and we're not that keen on sandwiches either. However as it was free we could not miss out and ended up too full to have dinner (so saved a bit of money!). I am thinking of booking for the same weekend next year as we had such a good time, but will have to count the pennies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent visit.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations and made your husband’s birthday an occasion to remember.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always motivating to receive such positive comments as yours. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that they were attentive during your time with us. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Montague is the quintessential dream of a boutique holiday. It comes with whimsical, quaint furniture, international and attentive staff, a great location and a wholesome breakfast set in a cosy bistro. Just a stone's throw from the British museum you are in a quieter part of Central London but basically just around the corner from Soho. I shelled out a few quid more which was really worth it - the room I had chosen had a comfy four poster bed but with a footboard which is difficult for me as I am rather tall. Reception would have moved me to another room immediately, but I chose an upgrade instead. Well worth it. There was live music in the bar when I arrived which gave the place a very laid back atmosphere. Definitely one to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments about your recent visit.

I am thrilled that you found the Montague to be the quintessential dream of a boutique holiday and the staff to be attentive, your feedback is most appreciated.

We understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and so I am pleased that you felt it was wholesome.

It is equally delightful to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy the live pianist in the bar in the evenings.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

There is nothing to fault when it comes to the staff, the breakfast and the ambience. From the moment we walked in, everyone made us feel at home. Ours was a romantic getaway and at £225 for our room we had high hopes. But it was small. Very small. Perfect in decor and facilities but small, small, small. I even asked at reception if our room was a double as at one point, I thought it might be a single and there had been a mistake. But no. My husband is very tall and did not sleep well at all as space was limited.
If we were staying again, we would save up, pay more and get a suite. We would also ask for a room with a view over the gardens.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the gardens and go for more than a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaBreak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay.

I was really very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of the room that was allocated to you. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort this would have caused. Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique. If you would care to mention that you would prefer a larger room when next making a booking with us, we will, subject to availability, allocate a more spacious room.

However, I am delighted to read that you found that there was nothing to fault about the staff, breakfast and ambience. The team like to ensure that everyone feels welcome at the Montague and so I am pleased that their efforts were noticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,068 in London
3,139 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,068 in London
3,671 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,733 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,068 in London
2,165 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing