We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just had five days in London and found this wonderful hotel perfectly located in Bloomsbury. Walking distance to Covent garden, Leicester square and the Thames and right next door to the British museum. Service was impeccable...the best of British. Room was clean, really comfortable bed, slightly tight in room size but that is similar to most European hotels. Small gym with three machines but suits a travelling work out. As far as value for money goes we were very happy. We walked every day to most of the London sights from our hotel and it was great to get home easily. Good pubs near the museum for hearty dinner and pints. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powderhound2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found your room to be clean and that the bed was really comfortable.

I would like to thank you for your comment that the service was impeccable. We invest heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile.

It is wonderful that the gym suited your needs; we do offer free guest passes for a local gym should you wish to have more variety. Our Concierge will be happy to assist during your next stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,043 - 2,049 of 4,389 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed four days, I don't want to repeat what other travelers wrote, I want to say, I thought they exaggerated, but when I woke up one night feeling very sick, the attentiveness and care the night duty manager showed was overwhming ! He took care to send me lemon, salt & water to calm my upset stomach which it did,& offered all possibilities of help; he called three times with 30 minutes intervals to check on me, finally when I dozed off he called and realized I was much better he said please go to sleep . Next morning they called late to make sure I was well and when I came back to my room found a get well card signed by all
staff!!!! Anyone who wants to experience London exquisite traditional interiors and feel at home amongst most caring family should start here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

I was very sorry to read that you were unwell during your time at the Montague; however I am delighted that the team looked after you. Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have a comfortable stay. I am thrilled that the Night Manager offered different possibilities of help, including sending you a lemon, salt and water drink to help settle your stomach. I am equally pleased that he continued to check that you were ok until you were able to sleep.

We continuously strive to go beyond our guest’s expectations of service and so it is rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.

I do hope that you are now feeling better. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our second stay enjoyed the fantastic staff, service second to none, very English in decor, restaurant was also reasonably priced and good food. Found location central to most of London plus underground rail stations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xxxDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent visit.

As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations and made your stay an occasion to remember.

Your kind comments that the staff were fantastic and that the service was second to none are most appreciated. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I am equally delighted that you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant; The Blue Door Bistro and that you enjoyed the food.

I hope that you return to the Montague again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent one day before & 3 days after a British Isles cruise. The first night & day, we didn't want to leave for the cruise. That is how good the hotel is. What can I say about a hotel that feels "more like home!" The personnel outdo themselves working to make sure your every wish and need is met. Yes, it is pricey even for London, but, even though I didn't want to spend the $$$ for the room & hotel, it was worth every pence we spent. Even their included breakfast was fulfilling & they made porridge (English version of Oatmeal) on request for me since I am limited to what I can eat because of lap band surgery. Especially the dining room staff (who greeted me w/ a hug when we returned), front desk, restaurant...everyone stood out because of their dedication to service). Homemade biscuits (cookies) in the room, slippers, robes, coffee, tea, elegant rooms (they upgraded us w/o charge when my husband commented on the size of the room). Every evening something was left for us on the pillow. We came back from the cruise sounding like we were dying so they took us to the garden restaurant for some chicken soup (home made-the chef is my hero). Even the owner, Bea Tollman, was there in the garden one day. I don't want to single anyone out, but especially Daria (the hugging employee) was incredible (yes, & her staff in the breakfast rooms). There is a good reason people come back again a second & third time to this hotel. They even had homemade lemonade after a busy day in London for those who needed it! Okay, one caveat, the plumbing is "English" (ugh!). (spoiled American!!!) I could go on and on, but w/o exception, the best hotel stay I ever have had, bar none. Spend the money, and you will get an experience that is...."incredible!"

Room Tip: Take a larger room w/ breakfast included. Worth the extra charge. Garden rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review following your recent visit.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time at the Montague before and after your cruise.

The staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have everything they need to make sure that their stay is comfortable and memorable and so I am thrilled that you felt like home with us. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am especially happy that Daria and her team were incredible. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.

I am pleased that we could assist with your dietary requirements and that you enjoyed the porridge made on request, as we like to ensure that our guests are fully satisfied. I am equally delighted to read that you liked the homemade lemonade and Beas Chicken Noodle Soup on your return to the hotel. I will pass this positive feedback on to the Kitchen team who will be most appreciative.

Your kind comment that the hotel is the best you have ever stayed in, bar none, is wonderful to know.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is my third stay at the Montague, and will continue to stay there in the future. Right next to the British Museum, walking distance to Covent Garden and the theater district, easily accessible by several underground lines. It's a bit pricey, but elegant and oh so British. Every room is wonderfully decorated, and the staff is superb. The concierge, reception, the bartender, everyone goes way out of their way to cater to every whim you come up with. Lovely outdoor area, awesome restaurant, and hunting lodge type bar. They even have a "tea room". I can't wait to stay there again

Room Tip: If you can afford the suites, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EARTHLINGTOURIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback following your visit to the Montague.

As regular and much-valued guests, your review is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore thrilled that we have once again met your expectations and made your stay with us an occasion to remember.

I am pleased that you feel the hotel is elegant and that the rooms are wonderfully decorated.

Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have everything they may need for a comfortable and memorable stay and so I am delighted that they were superb and assisted to every need. I will ensure that their service is duly noted.

Your lovely comments about our indoor and outdoor public areas are most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel, which we chose for its proximity to the British Museum, made our stay in London exceptionally comfortable. All on the staff were thoughtfully attentive. It is difficult to identify any who were not amiable but, in particular, the concierge staff and the staff in the bar were outstanding. Individually decorated rooms are lovely. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in London.

Room Tip: All I saw seemed lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStoker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am delighted that you had an exceptionally comfortable stay at the Montague and that you cannot imagine staying anywhere else in London. This wonderful comment is highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our team, we invest heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care. I am thrilled that they were thoroughly attentive, especially the Concierge and Bar staff. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile and I will be pleased to share this lovely feedback with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the outside, this hotel looks like many others but when you walk through the doors it's something special.

The staff were warm, welcoming and thoughtful, and very accommodating for our three year old. In the room, they left him a toy, mini slippers and a mini bathrobe! In the evening we ate at the Blue Door Bistro and they brought his dinner as soon as it was ready.

For adults, this hotel is a little sanctuary. There are conservatories, wood decks and a terrace overlooking Bedford Gardens. We had breakfast outside on the terrace one morning - what better way to start the day. We were too early in the summer, but we read that they have bbqs in the summer - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 216 caused even our son to say 'Wow' as he walked in. Split over three levels overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you found the Montague to be ‘something special’. Our staff take pride in all they do and it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments as yours. We like to ensure that our younger guests have a great stay with us too and so I am delighted that your 3 year old enjoyed the gifts and amenities we provided for him. I am equally pleased that you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant, The Blue Door Bistro and that it was a good experience.

Your lovely feedback that the staff were warm, welcoming and thoughtful are most appreciated and I will be pleased to share this with the team.

I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfast on the Terrace and I do hope that you have the chance to return to enjoy a BBQ meal on our Wood Deck in the summer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,425 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,939 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £182 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing