We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a fantastic time with a big group of friends for afternoon tea. Felt very spoilt,staff were amazing and very friendly. They could not do enough for us. Would love to spend a night or two at this top hotel. Very central in london, Great for sight seeing and museams. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you and your friends had a fantastic time whilst enjoying afternoon tea with us.

Your kind comments that the staff were amazing, friendly and made you feel spoilt are most appreciated. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Thank you for your kind recommendation to others, I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,322
    611
    95
    23
    9
See reviews for
672
1,981
266
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a pity we only had one night in this stylish 21st century version of Agatha Christie's fictitious Bertram's Hotel - which is how we came across it, asking Google for a hotel like Bertram's Hotel. In the heart of Bloomsbury, on a quiet street next to the British Museum, not only is this hotel in an area which has, perhaps more than any other, retained its timeless elegance, a gorgeous Regency terrace unpolluted by commercial development, but in keeping with its location, the hotel's obvious desire to avoid the standardised corporate feel of so many of its competitors seems to me supremely successful. Our daughter let slip that she was up for her KCL graduation, and within 15 minutes a plate of congratulatory macaroons had been delivered to her room and the personal touches continued from this point, with the staff anxious at every turn to know if all was well, clearly conscious of a reputation they have gained, and wish to retain, for the kind of old-fashioned, attentive service which makes very guest feel special. Chic definitely yes, but naff, definitely no. This is a hotel of real class. It's pricey, but much better value for money than any other London hotel I have stayed in at this price level. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your stay at the Montague.

It is lovely to read about your connection of the Montague and the hotel in the Agatha Christie book ‘Bertram’s Hotel’. Your comment that you feel the hotel has been unpolluted by commercial development and has remained in keeping with the local area is wonderful. We like to ensure that the style and decor of the building is unique and true to its origins.

I would also like to congratulate your daughter on her graduation from KCL.

Our staff take pride in all they do and it is always motivating to receive such kind feedback as yours. They work hard to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and memorable stay and so I am pleased that they were attentive and made you feel special. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.

Your warm recommendation is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro District, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I loved every minutes of our stay on this beautiful hotel. Staff are lovely. They welcomed us with smiles each day. Room was beautiful. Location is perfect.
We could not have wanted more. We will be returning on our next visit to London. This hotel deserves the great reviews, nothing is perfect but this is so close.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rpstifler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am delighted to read that you and your partner loved every minute of your stay with us and that you found your room to be beautiful.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. I am thrilled that they were lovely during your time with us and that they welcomed you each day. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Your kind comment that the Montague is close to perfect is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at The Montague two weeks back. The Hotel is beautiful with a stylish British decor. The rooms chique and comfy. The staff and service are of the best u can experience (Thank you!). Breakfast is bountiful - take the English one. Apples and chocolate at the desk - a small treat when coming in at late hours. Ask for the company car to and fro the airport, when making reservations. The concierge got us tickets and reservations for a dance show and restaurant. In the center of London, on Montague street which is extremely quiet and calm; around the corner from the British Museum; 5 minute walk from Oxfrod street. Access to shops and restaurants nearby. London was fun. Plan on coming back soon. The Montague will be my home in London!

Room Tip: Get the best room you can. King sized bed was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RommeyHassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

It is lovely to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the Montague is your ‘home in London’.

Our team take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have everything they need. I am pleased the Concierge team assisted with car reservations, arranging tickets and suggesting restaurants. Your kind comment that the staff and service were the best you can experience is most appreciated and I will be sure to share this with the team and duly recognise their hard work.

I am equally delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast served in The Blue Door Bistro.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic experience. I came to this hotel for afternoon tea with my family as a birthday treat for my grandson. The staff had put a birthday banner and balloons around the table as a surprise for my grandson. The staff where very friendly and very professional. They couldn't do enough for us. I have now found a new favourite tea to enjoy thanks to being give the chance to smell the loose teas in the jars. My daughter didn't like the chose of sandwiches ,the staff made no fuss just asked what she wanted and provided her with what she had asked for. I could go on, as my afternoon at the Montague was out of this world. A memorable time was had by all. Icant thank tje staff enough.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you chose to celebrate your grandson’s birthday with an afternoon tea at the Montague.

Our staff like to ensure that our guests have a truly memorable time when visiting and it is wonderful to read that they were friendly and professional. I am equally pleased that they offered your daughter alternative sandwiches that she preferred. I will ensure that your thanks and kind comments are passed on to the team.

It is wonderful to read that you have found a new favourite tea from our selection that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived in London at 6AM after an overnight flight and were well aware that our room was not guaranteed until much later in the afternoon(2PM) but we took a chance and sure enough, due to a terrific,caring lobby staff, some luck in terms of room availability we were able to access the room. Other hotels might have stood by what ever the rule may have been but these kind folks were empathetic and thoughtful. The Hotel is beautiful and well located in Bloomsbury by the British Museum. The restaurant off the lobby had a fantastic and classic British breakfast buffet All in all would absolutely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfeing00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit to the Montague.

Our staff take great interest in our guests and they understand that long journeys can be extremely tiring, so they work hard to make sure that every guest is comfortable and that they have everything they may need. I am delighted that the team assisted with getting a room ready for you on arrival.

Your comments that the team were terrific, caring, empathetic and thoughtful are most appreciated. We invest heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care to make sure that our guests leave us feeling that they have received exceptional service. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast served in our restaurant, The Blue Door Bistro. I will be sure to share this feedback with the Kitchen and Food and Beverage teams.

It is lovely to know that you would stay with us again and I would like to thank you for your positive recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent the weekend here to celebrate my Birthday with my husband and some of my family visited. We actually choe this hotel due to such good reviews on trip advisor!
Absolutely loved our stay here! and was made so very special by staying at this delightful hotel.
The staff at the hotel are so welcoming and so attentive at all times. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and so very nice, and well thought out with extra touches.
We received complmentary champagne and fruit and homemade cookies which were delicious. The hotel interior is charming The food on the terrace was delicious and in a nice garden setting which is tranquill. The hotel is in a very good central location near Russell Square but in a very peaceful street.
Will definitely return as it is far the best place we have ever stayed in London! Thank you!

Room Tip: We choose the deluxe king size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaS613KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback following your recent visit.

As much-valued guests, your review is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am thrilled that we have met your expectations and made your birthday a special occasion. It is wonderful to read that you loved your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and very nice.

I am equally pleased that you had the opportunity to dine on the Terrace and that you found the food served from our restaurant, The Blue Door Bistro to be delicious.

Your kind comments that the staff were welcoming, attentive and that nothing was too much trouble for them is most appreciated. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always lovely to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.

It is delightful to know that the Montague is the best place you have ever stayed at in London and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing