We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrete elegance and hospitality; fine cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Discrete elegance and hospitality; fine cuisine”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staying in the Montague on the Gardens is a real pleasure. Personnel is friendly and professional. The rooms are wonderfully decorated, quiet and rather spacious. Good bathrooms with excellent toiletries, bathrobes, slippers etc. Concierge will help you with any difficulty you might have. Quick and reliable. We had booked tickets for a musical online and had to collect the tickets from the theater the day of the performance. Since we were returning to London late afternoon that day, we really wanted to have the tickets in advance. The concierge made several phone calls, but wasn't able to solve our problem. He then sent someone to collect them for us. Just one example of a great service!
One of our children celebrated her birthday while we were staying at the Montague and she received a lovely surprise in her room.
The restaurant is good. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and enjoyed all the meals. Both the snack menu in the bar and the restaurant menu had a wide variety of choices, meat, fish, chicken and vegetarian. No difficulties with my gluten-free diet. Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. The smoothies at breakfast are a treat! And try the "Chopped salad". Very special. In the summer there is a BBQ that we can recommend as well.
The location of the hotel is excellent. Close to the British Museum and walking distance to Covent Garden. Don't miss Neal Street. The Piccadilly line is at Russell Square which is just 5 minutes away. So direct connection to Heathrow. Good shopping centre just behind Russel Square. A taxi to King's Cross takes no more than 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms on the garden side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chambesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

As much valued guests I am delighted to read that you feel that staying at the Montague is a real pleasure and that you were happy with the room allocated to you. I am pleased that you found it to be wonderfully decorated, quiet and spacious and that you liked the amenities provided.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your meals in the Blue Door Bistro, especially the chopped salad and smoothies. We work hard to ensure that there is a wide variety of options for guests with special dietary requirements so it is lovely to read that our hard work is worthwhile.

Your kind comments regarding our staff are most appreciated. They take great interest in our guests to ensure that they have a comfortable stay with us and that they have everything they need for their visit to go smoothly. I am delighted that you found them to be friendly and professional and in particular, our Concierge team who assisted with your theatre tickets. I do hope that your daughter had a memorable birthday whilst staying with us and that she enjoyed the special surprises we organised.

Thank you for your positive recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,370
    620
    95
    24
    9
See reviews for
684
2,013
273
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited this beautiful hotel august 2014, stayed for only one night with my mum, we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely, very modern, very comforting and clean, top class. most comfortable beds iv ever slept in, robes and slippers were a lovely touch, ipod docking system fab! the room was simply amazing we were upset that we only had one night here as we wanted to stay for more. the breakfast was great wide variation of food from English breakfast, smoked salmon, croissants and pastries, fresh fruit and yogurts. The fresh juices were delicious. Staff are a credit to this hotel, excellent customer service, every guest treated as an individual they all made us feel at ease and always checked to see if everything was ok!. will definitely be back it is now our favourite hotel to stay in London. Thank you montague for making our stay fabulous.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are amazing and worth an upgrade you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmajade1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your stay at the Montague.

It is wonderful to read that you and your mum had a fabulous stay with us and that you were happy with your room. I am pleased that you found it to be modern, clean and comfortable and that you were happy with the amenities, especially the slippers, robe and iPod docking system.

I am delighted that you felt the breakfast in The Blue Door Bistro offered a wide selection to choose from. We work hard to ensure that there is something for everyone.

Your kind feedback about our staff is most appreciated. I am thrilled that you feel they provided excellent customer service and that you felt at ease. We are very proud of our team and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I will be sure to share these lovely comments with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was my second time at this small hotel.
We were treated so well.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming.
We were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. This trip was a very special one for us and was made perfect by all the staff
I would stay a third time ...loved it
Thank you to all the Montague staff

Room Tip: The basic rooms are a tad small though excellent furnishings ...... Check this before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us here at the Montague and that your special occasion was made perfect by our staff.

The team take great interest in our guests to ensure that their time with us is memorable and so it is wonderful to read that their efforts were noticed. I am pleased that they were helpful, charming and treated you so well. I will ensure that this kind praise and feedback is shared with the team and that their hard work is duly noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your third stay.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My Daughter and I, went for a Girly overnight stay in London to watch Miss Saigon.
This is our second time staying at this wonderful Hotel.
We travel to London a couple of times a year for the Theatre and always try to combine Luxury within our price range, we have stayed in many beautiful hotels but we have to say this is our favourite.
Unlike a lot of London Hotels you are treated very much as an individual.

The Concierge greet you like old friends and combine sincerity with an active open interest in there Guests, whilst retaining the charm and professionalism of days gone by
.
I travel quite extensively and for this reason I know the standards I am happy with and what I expect from a Hotel of this standard, this Hotel ticks all the boxes and we could not fault it.
We were upgraded to a Deluxe King Room which was amazing, pure luxury.
Beautiful décor, and the best nights sleep in the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in anywhere.
The Breakfast was fantastic, with a wide selection of hot and cold foods, from a Full English, to a selection of cold Meats and Fish, lovely fresh fruits with quality yogurts and Pastry's, perfect to start a busy day in London.
The location is ideal just around the corner from Oxford St, so it was central for walking and buses.
We had a fantastic stay in this Beautiful Hotel and the only regret is that we had not booked more days to stay there.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff who looked after us during our short stay, you are all excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaela018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our stay was for five nights and I will certainly stay there again. The staff was incredibly attentive. I typically do not dine in the hotel unless short on time. The meal was so sumptuous that we returned for two more meals. Much care is taken by all staff to ensure a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your visit to the Montague.

Our staff work hard to ensure that every guest has a wonderful stay with us and I am delighted that they were incredibly attentive and that their efforts were noticed.

Your lovely comment that you found your meals in The Blue Door Bistro to be sumptuous is most appreciated. I will be sure to share all of your positive feedback with the Kitchen and Food and Beverage teams, as this is positive motivation and they will be most grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDERLAND ENGLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a standard room on the 3rd floor which was quiet and extremely comfortable.
The hotel was very central and easily within walking distance of most locations. We visited for 3 days and never had the need to use any transport although the furthest we walked was Camden Market ( approx 45 m).
The hotel staff were without exception, extremely amiable and helpful, Jorge the concierge gave us lots of useful information including details of a lovely nearby French restaurant called Savior Faire. Breakfasts were delicious and the dining room was overseen by Lucia who was fun, friendly and super efficient.
We had a lovely three days and felt totally spoilt by the hotel. We will certainly return.
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were happy with the room allocated to you, finding it to be quiet and extremely comfortable.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always satisfying to receive such kind feedback as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always fulfilling to hear that this hard work has been noticed. I am delighted that they were amicable and helpful, especially Jorge and Lucia who assisted you with recommendations and were particularly friendly. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to Jorge, Lucia and the team and that their service is duly recognised.

I am thrilled that you felt spoilt and that you plan to return, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night in July,14 and the hotel is terrific: very conveniently located just a short walk from the train station and just across the British Museum. We really walked everywhere from there, but also had day a great afternoon tea - informative, tasty and fun!
The room was spacious and very clean, overlooking a beautiful garden!
After two days in Cambridge we returned to the hotel for one last night. The staff received us as family, since we were returned guests and spoiled us in every way. We had a superb dinner in their restaurant. It is so nice to have such a pampering last night of a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit.

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your return visit and that you felt the Montague was terrific.

I am also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our afternoon tea, finding it to be informative, tasty and fun and that you also had a superb dinner in The Blue Door Bistro.

Our staff like to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and so it is fantastic to know that you felt pampered during your time with us. I am equally thrilled that you thought your room was spacious and clean and that you were happy with the view.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,654 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,067 in London
2,154 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing