We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montague on The Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$256
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$300
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$356
US$346
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$264
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
US$588
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
US$171
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$312
US$292
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,450)
Filter reviews
4,450 results
Traveller rating
3,655
660
100
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,655
660
100
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumblue door bistroafternoon tealeopard barrussell squarered carnationcharming hotelquiet streetbirthday cardcovent gardenthe general managerconcierge staffturn down servicelittle toucheswest endjunior suiterooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,834 - 3,839 of 4,450 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Five members of our family recently spent six nights at the Montague on the Gardens Hotel and were very pleased with this hotel. Our granddaughters, ages 11 and 15 were with us and they thoroughly enjoyed the British touch. Full English breakfast was wonderful! The location in Bloomsbury was so convenient. There are many ethnic restaurants nearby; the British Museum was directly across the street; and there were three Underground stations within easy walking distance. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful! Dr. and Mrs. J. W. Smith, Waco, TX USA

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorbyWaco_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at The Montague on the garden. On this occasion we had a four night visit.
We were very pleased with the level of service from the staff, they were always keen to do anything to make your stay a pleasure, and they were very polite and took the time to talk to you. The concierges were very polite and always there when you needed a taxi.
The waiting staff were very pleasant and the meals were very good with a vegetarian option available. The afternoon tea is worth the experience. Coffee and news papers were on hand after breakfast.
The room was very well appointed, clean and comfortable with air conditioning. The bed was especially good and I had a very good sleep.
The hotel is nicely decorated in a kind of Victorian style and is worth looking at just for that.
The location is great, there is a garden square a few steps away, and you are just far enough away from the main stream but close enough to the underground, we used taxis as it was almost as cheap and more convenient, and within walking distance of shops, theatres and museums.
We would recommend this hotel. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mummymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

What can I say? This hotel is very, very nice. The staff know their jobs and are extremely polite; the rooms are quite luxurious and the restaurant is excellent.
We stayed twice over a period of three weeks, once for four nights, and then again for one night before heading home to Sydney. The location of the hotel is very good being close to the British Museum, not far from the underground railway, and walking distance to Covent Garden, Picadilly Circus and the Westend.
We booked a Deluxe Bloomsbury Suite (Regent Suite) on our first stay, in order to have extra room for luggage and such. With the exchange rate it was a little pricey, but if you like fluffy white towels, thick bathrobes, soft slippers, a large and very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, ironing board, safe, mini-bar and tea/coffee making - it's worth every cent.
We enjoyed breakfast every morning - eggs to order, bacon in both crispy and soft styles, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes. These were kept lovely and warm, and topped up regularly. The coffee was great and orange juice tasted freshly squeezed. The toast came in white, multi-grain, wholemeal or mixed and was brought to the table (instead of having to wait for those dreadful toasting machines). Condiments were on hand; fresh butter, marmalade or jam. A great meal to start each big sightseeing day.
The restaurant meal was excellent as well, and quite reasonable compared to other places around London. We had a nice table in the corner away from other diners, and enjoyed tasty, well-cooked food and a nice wine.
On our second stay we had booked the same type of suite but were upgraded to the Queens Suite. We had heated towel rails, double sinks, plus a view over the Duke of Bedford's private garden. Quite splendid!
We were able to have a late checkout until 3 pm and then for a small fee could stay until 5 pm in order to shower and change before our late flight. It was a wonderful indulgence.
Before we left we enjoyed champagne on the heated patio outside (heaters and blankets supplied) and looked over the garden. The concierge had kindly checked us onto our flights online and printed boarding passes.
It was such a nice experience. Something we will never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Took my wife away for the week to London and the Montague was recommended to us. Wasn't disappointed as the atmosphere and decor of the hotel were of a high interior qaulity albeit the hotel room small but it oozed charm and character. The service was some of the best I have incountered from any Hotel I have stayed at internationally and nothing was ever a problem for them. The food was excellent and the bar with the female pianist created a great ambience and mood. Greatly situated for Knightbridge and its shops and of course for the British Museum. Would highly recommend this unique and comfortable establishment to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeestonRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This is a wonderful hotel and location to escape too.But it is still in the centre of London.
Every where in London is within walking distance.The rooms are comfortable




but not large due to the historic buildings it is part of . Staff, food, comfort and service are always amazingly good what ever time of day.
We have been many times because it is so good, including New Year.Would not stay any where else in London

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews