We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,efficient and helpful and ideally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly,efficient and helpful and ideally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

On arrival we were greeted in a most welcoming fashion, all the staff were anxious to make our overnight stay a memorable one.
Dinner was excellent, both the cooking and the value for money. We had to leave very early in the morning but the staff arranged breakfast for us ahead of the normal time, so that we started our journey in good spirits.
Thank you to all the staff and the management team for making our stay a peaceful and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,249
    602
    94
    23
    9
See reviews for
657
1,943
263
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

This is a great hotel but with one major failing. First, the good part--great location right across a side street from the British Museum, in Bloomsbury with wonderful ethnic (Thai, Turkish, Korean etc) restaurants in two minute walk; rooms are small (standard in UK) but adequate; the service from the reception desk, concierge, bellhop, chambermaids, and especially breakfast service is absolutely superb; breakfasts have great buffet plus hot eggs and toast and coffee ordered. So what's not to like, especially in London where value for the money in hotels is quite rare? Internet. They have both cable connect and wifi in the rooms but want 10 pounds per day ($15) for the privilege. This is as absurd today as charging for electricity or plumbing! My wife and I both travel with laptops and I need it for professional contacts and my wife to keep in touch with friends. It would have cost us $30 per day for internet. Ridiculous! My wife was able to pirate off an open source connection the whole time and I only used it for two days, but it was quite irritating having to ration and do connections this way to avoid large charges. The hotel apparently like many hotels outsources the service to a private contractor who is gouging, but would be much better off making a fixed rate contract with the company and charging all guests 3 pounds extra per night whether they use internet a night to pay the cost than alienating guests like us who use the internet and spoiling an otherwise perfect hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English in Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

A lovely hotel, ideally situated (near the British Museum) for much site seeing on foot and beyond. The staff were EXTREMELY polite and attentive. The hotel is decorated in an old English style and one of our rooms even had a 4-poster bed. Only one criticism - the rooms are fairly small - but that's what you get in an old building and hey - how much time do you want to spend in the room swinging your cat? Get out there and enjoy the sites. The bathroom was lovely, with toiletries and bath robes provided. Lounge/waiting areas are filled with sofas to sink into, arranged in little huddles so that groups can be private. Breakfast was delicious, if a little hectic, great staff although we did have to wait around 20 mins for a table on Monday morning. To sum up - just lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pappelweggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it extremely ordinary. Decor horribly dated (although we were in refurbished room!!) We were on the ground floor, the room was tiny and it had a very bad smell. No mini bar/fridge in room.

We were told on the telephone before arriving we would be given a Bloomsbury room but by the time we arrived (2 hours later) this had changed to a "classic" room. That aside, it was reasonably priced but more expensive than Base2Stay in Kensington (which we loved but had to check out to due power failure).

I didn't particularly like the location in Bloomsbury either. Yes, it was only a short walk to the tube and the British Museum but not much else.

Unfortunately not many positives but the staff seemed very nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to The Montague on the Gardens Hotel, I hope that you had a very pleasant journey home.

As a much-valued guest your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide.

I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations with the room that was allocated to you. Being an older style property, our room sizes do vary and I do understand how the décor may not be to everyone’s taste, however I am a little confused as all of our ground floor rooms are Bloomsbury rooms and not classic rooms as is your understanding.

I have noted your comments about the mini bar or fridge in the room. We do provide a mini bar service in our Deluxe Rooms and Suites and 24-hour room service to all of our guest rooms. However should you have perishable items which require cold storage our Concierge would be more than happy to assist you.

I would like to apologise once again for the disappointments you encountered during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future to restore your faith in us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotels and if there is ever anything that we can do for you please let us know.

Yours sincerely

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Five members of our family recently spent six nights at the Montague on the Gardens Hotel and were very pleased with this hotel. Our granddaughters, ages 11 and 15 were with us and they thoroughly enjoyed the British touch. Full English breakfast was wonderful! The location in Bloomsbury was so convenient. There are many ethnic restaurants nearby; the British Museum was directly across the street; and there were three Underground stations within easy walking distance. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful! Dr. and Mrs. J. W. Smith, Waco, TX USA

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorbyWaco_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at The Montague on the garden. On this occasion we had a four night visit.
We were very pleased with the level of service from the staff, they were always keen to do anything to make your stay a pleasure, and they were very polite and took the time to talk to you. The concierges were very polite and always there when you needed a taxi.
The waiting staff were very pleasant and the meals were very good with a vegetarian option available. The afternoon tea is worth the experience. Coffee and news papers were on hand after breakfast.
The room was very well appointed, clean and comfortable with air conditioning. The bed was especially good and I had a very good sleep.
The hotel is nicely decorated in a kind of Victorian style and is worth looking at just for that.
The location is great, there is a garden square a few steps away, and you are just far enough away from the main stream but close enough to the underground, we used taxis as it was almost as cheap and more convenient, and within walking distance of shops, theatres and museums.
We would recommend this hotel. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

What can I say? This hotel is very, very nice. The staff know their jobs and are extremely polite; the rooms are quite luxurious and the restaurant is excellent.
We stayed twice over a period of three weeks, once for four nights, and then again for one night before heading home to Sydney. The location of the hotel is very good being close to the British Museum, not far from the underground railway, and walking distance to Covent Garden, Picadilly Circus and the Westend.
We booked a Deluxe Bloomsbury Suite (Regent Suite) on our first stay, in order to have extra room for luggage and such. With the exchange rate it was a little pricey, but if you like fluffy white towels, thick bathrobes, soft slippers, a large and very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, ironing board, safe, mini-bar and tea/coffee making - it's worth every cent.
We enjoyed breakfast every morning - eggs to order, bacon in both crispy and soft styles, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes. These were kept lovely and warm, and topped up regularly. The coffee was great and orange juice tasted freshly squeezed. The toast came in white, multi-grain, wholemeal or mixed and was brought to the table (instead of having to wait for those dreadful toasting machines). Condiments were on hand; fresh butter, marmalade or jam. A great meal to start each big sightseeing day.
The restaurant meal was excellent as well, and quite reasonable compared to other places around London. We had a nice table in the corner away from other diners, and enjoyed tasty, well-cooked food and a nice wine.
On our second stay we had booked the same type of suite but were upgraded to the Queens Suite. We had heated towel rails, double sinks, plus a view over the Duke of Bedford's private garden. Quite splendid!
We were able to have a late checkout until 3 pm and then for a small fee could stay until 5 pm in order to shower and change before our late flight. It was a wonderful indulgence.
Before we left we enjoyed champagne on the heated patio outside (heaters and blankets supplied) and looked over the garden. The concierge had kindly checked us onto our flights online and printed boarding passes.
It was such a nice experience. Something we will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing