We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montague on The Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,485)
Filter reviews
4,485 results
Traveller rating
3,686
663
101
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,686
663
101
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumblue door bistroafternoon tealeopard barrussell squarered carnationcharming hotelquiet streetbirthday cardcovent gardenthe general managerconcierge staffturn down servicelittle toucheswest endjunior suiterooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
3,812 - 3,817 of 4,485 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The Montague on the Gardens is the only place I stay when in London. A small hotel with a really personal feel, the rooms and surroundings are delightful and the staff could give masterclasses in customer service - they are superb. Nothing is too much trouble and they make a point of remembering people's name and personally greeting you. You feel like you are their most important customer. I am so convinced I encouraged colleagues to hold regular meeting at the hotel and they are all really impressed with their Montague experience. The fact that some of the staff have been there for 20 years speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

simply one of the best hotles in the world. Great customer service form beginning to end. a true home from home

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and I were traveling in celebration of our honeymoon and by the time we got to London we had stayed in 5 different hotels across Europe and a train. This hotel was by far our favorite. It was my husband’s 31st birthday the day after our arrival. The Montague really helped me pull off a great birthday. They arranged for a bakery to bring over an amazing chocolate cake and arranged for a private menu. While we were having dinner they set up the cake, candles and roses in our room. I was hoping for a nice dinner and a small dessert in the room. NO WAY! They really made it special. The staff was amazing and the hotel was really nice. If we ever get a chance to back to London we will defiantly stay at The Montague.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaoaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Montague hotel had a feeling of granduer but did not live up to first impressons. The location is very good right next to the British Museum and not too far from Covent Garden and Theatreland. Russell Square tube staton is between a 5&10 minute walk so not too far. The reception by the hotel staff was warm and welcoming and staff were on hand to andle your baggage if required. The stay also included breakfast which was good and the staff were again very attentive. The only problem was the bedroom (a double with en-suite) was extremely small, it was with all intentions a single bedroom with a double bed in it. This on talking with the assistant manager was the size of their standard bedrooms so be aware if you do book to stay here either ask for an upgrade or if you like your space then look elswhere. In our case, as we were only staying one night, we put up with it but if we were staying any longer it would have been an upgrade or we'd have looked somewhere else. Hope this helps, thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wockys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was our second stay at The Montague on the Gardens. Since last year nothing has changed which is actually a good thing because what I mean is the service standard is just as excellent. In fact, it was challenging last year to locate a relatively reasonably priced London hotel that offered excellent service, amenities, and location. So we are glad we found The Montague.

We chose to reserve the hotel’s private car pickup/drop back service to and from Heathrow. It is pricey, but it is worthwhile to us. We preferred it to the tube and cab. They use luxury cars so the rides from the airport and out of the city were very comfortable. Unfortunately we were delayed by hours upon arrival yet the pickup was sorted out quickly by the hotel. Drop back was also great as our driver, Anthony, was very thoughtful and related some interesting and amusing London stories along the way.

Our first room on this recent visit was in room #28, deluxe king with sofa bed for the third person in our party. The room, as in many London hotels, was small yet functional and had all the conveniences necessary. The bathroom surprisingly was very roomy so much so that there were double sinks.

This stay we broke up our London visits and requested king rooms on one level. Room #28 is on one level. However, on our return to London we were accommodated in room #227 which is another deluxe king room except like last year, it was on two levels with the bathroom at the entryway at the top of the stairs. This room was also very functional and while small was comfortable. However, the reason for requesting the one level was that we don’t like walking up and down the stairs to get to the bathroom. But we understood that in order to have a garden view, which we requested, is only on request unless one wants to reserve one that will be an extra cost. We did not reserve one and just had it on request for both rooms. Apparently the split level room was available with garden view so that’s what they gave us.

Of note the sparkling bottled water that is in the room is free. If you need more just call and they will replenish it.

We had the traditional English breakfast included in our rate (we would not take it if it were not included as it’s GBP 26/pp) and there was a good selection of pastries, breads, fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs (you can request fried and boiled on request too), sausage, bacon, mushroom, and tomatoes. It was filling and all good to start the day with. If you do have the breakfast inclusive rate yet need to leave early as we had to again on the way to Heathrow and like last year on a trip away from London, you need to fill out the breakfast card and request the Continental breakfast options. Although the time on the card states breakfast is served from 7 a.m. one can call and make arrangements to have it served earlier-just make sure someone in room service has the earlier time request marked down for sure. The Continental breakfast is good also because they offer cheeses and hams along with some really great mini pastries and breads.

Vincenzo, the assistant concierge, was really helpful. We requested him to assist us in checking in our airline reservations online and printing our boarding passes which he did promptly and patiently. The front desk staff were very welcoming and answered our various questions cheerfully.

It really was great to return ‘home’ to ‘our’ London hotel after a year and also after our trip to Belgium/Netherlands. Truly The Montague on the Gardens was the best hotel we’ve stayed at and after staying at five other hotels on this trip The Montague still beat them all.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank paris_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews