We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The location of The Montague is perfect, most theatres just 15 minutes walk away.Tube only 7 minutes walk
Room comfort and decor very good we were lucky as we had a room overlooking the gardens. Breakfast very good selection. On the first morning we ate on the verandah nice and peaceful, on the second in the main dining room much more hectic.I wish there were more English staff working here as sometimes it seemed as though you were in another country with the staff speaking to each other in their mother tongues!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank redvanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,711 - 3,717 of 4,394 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Montague is justiably highly rated by previous reviewers for its location and staff. I shall always remember the exceptional effort and execution of the entire staff throughout my stay. Head concierge, Mustafa is a real gem and a fine example of the hotel's excllence. Well-staffed front desk (Stehanie and Sophhie) are efficient, warm and friendly. English breakfast (with plenty of other options) was a great start to the day, with attentive staff caring for the diner and replenishing the hot food. Location notable for ease of multiple visits to partake of collections found within the British Museum, option for Tube stations, and pubs/restaurant options. Rooms cozy but typical of European hotels, well-appointed and always clean, with plenty of outlets and Wi-Fi included, so bring your netbook. The Montague impresses travellers for its personalized treatment of its valued clientele.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The location of the hotel was convenient to St. Pancras, but we would have preferred to be closer to the action. Did not care for the decor of the Bloomsbury room at all - fake fur throw on the bed, yuk! Nice bath, weird shower head mounted flush in the ceiling so you can't adjust it. Since we were traveling with our 22 year old son, we did like the jr. suite feel of the room, which gave his bed some privacy, and the room was actually well fitted out if somewhat cramped. Staff is pleasant, but unable to help two out of three times with restaurant suggestions. "Fitness Center" is tiny. Overall, I felt we got a good value considering the inflated prices of London hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CentennialTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We picked Montague on the Gardens based on reviews from Trip Advisor. As said, the service was really excellent. The concierge Mustafa was knowlegable and he worked long hours too. The porter Sebastian was also helpful and friendly.

The location is good as the hotel is close to Russell Square underground. We stayed there for one night, in transit to Brussels. It is close to Eurostar and cost us GBP10 taxi fare to get there.

The room was a bit small, the original room would have been smaller had we not been upgraded. Our room faced the street but it was quiet. The only noise was from the corridor when people walked. I wish to comment on the bathroom for the benefit of travellers who are fussy about bathrooms like me. It was not grand, but neat and functional.

The free internet is certainly a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirladelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

What a great and memorable first (leisure) hotel break in London. From the moment we stepped up to the entrance of the hotel on arrival to entering the taxi to leave, nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff were a pleasure and made us feel special and welcome straight away.

The room met our expectations. It was comfortable, cool and very relaxing. And just as we requested, it overlooked the gardens.

This was a theatre trip and the hotels proximity to Drury Lane was fantastic - just a stroll to the Theatre Royal to see Oliver.

We really enjoyed our two breakfasts - they set us up more than adequately for the day ahead. We honestly have no negatives to report and would wholeheartedly recommend The Montague on The Gardens to others,

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonLon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Same case as for others who wrote previously, I selected this hotel based on reviews and ranking on this website and was note disappointed. I had no idea about the Montague before and looked at their website. As I had a special request, I was pleased to see that the General Manager had his e-mail available on the homepage. I was even more pleased that he replied promptly and pesonally to my inquiry. Upon arrival we were assigned to one of the garden view rooms, and this coupled with the daily breakfast on the terrace beats many other hotels in London. If you do not want to take time in a taxi from Heathrow, the hotel is located five minutes away from Russell Square Station on the Piccadilly Line, which means no need to change trains from Heathrow, and you access the hotel with a pleasant stroll through the square. As we were then continuing our journey with he Euro Star to Paris, it was even greater as London St Pancras train station is the next station on the line... and Paris just 2 hours and 20 minutes further away. Thank you again for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baanbellerive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I regularly stay at the Montague in The Gardens when on business, I can honestly say that I hate travelling and staying away from home so a comfortable, reliable and welcoming hotel is much appreciated.

In addition to the location of the hotel and the new renovations in many of the rooms the key attribute of the hotel is its staff who I have always found to be willing to help, friendly and in two words "so accommodating".

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K1ngfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,081 in London
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,949 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £183 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing