We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed 1 night in the middle of June, first stop on our honeymoon. Booked through their website, mentioned that we were on our honeymoon and that we were referred through trip advisor.
Room was a bloomsbury king, typical size that comes with european accommadations but the room was very comfortable. Showers were very nice.

The staff was extremely friendly. Front desk called to make sure the room was ok. Porter and concierge were ready to answer any questions about food, theatre shows, bus tours etc. Since we mentioned we were on our honeymoon, they sent up complementary strawberries and real roses were in the room. Couldn't have asked for more!

I personally like the location: Walking distance to covent gardens, a lot of theatres and Holborn underground (tube). It's also on the "big bus" tour route as well.

Would say the hotel was expensive, but London is expensive.

I highly recommend doing the bus tour because you get to see most of london as well as a river tour. Stay on the bus/river because the bus only runs until about 5. If you want to actually go through let's say the Tower of London, go back to it the next day when you have more time so you get your money's worth from the bus.
We added a pickup from the airport when we booked which was great after a 9 hour flight. Might be cheaper to use the Heathrow Express to Paddington Station, then a cab to the hotel, but it's nice to be picked up in style sometimes.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,285
    606
    95
    23
    9
See reviews for
668
1,956
265
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

At the end of our two week vacation (and wedding) in the Caribbean we wanted to end on a high note and so we decided that a night in London to take in a show, Mamma Mia as it happened would be the perfect thing. After reading some reviews on trip advisor I chose The Montague on the Gardens and I feel that I made a very good choice.

I booked a junior suite directly with the hotel and enquired if an early check in would be possible as our flight arrived in London Gatwick at 5.30 am. The hotel told me that we could definitely have the room at 12 noon and earlier if possible.

We actually arrived at the hotel at about 9.30, planning to just leave our bags and freshen up before we went out for a walk for a few hours. We checked in very easily and were told that our room would be ready by 11am. So a quick coffee in a local café and a look into the British museum (literally, just around the corner) and back to the hotel for a much needed siesta.

The room was decorated in a “heavy traditional English style” but the separate sitting room, bathroom and separate en suite shower were more than satisfactory. The bed was very comfortable and with the help of the blackout curtains we were soon asleep.

We had a light pre-theatre dinner on the terrace at the rear of the gardens which was delightful, the main courses were very tasty, perfectly cooked and nicely portioned.

When we returned to our room after the theatre we found a selection of fresh fruits along with a card from the management offering congratulations on our marriage. Did I mention the bottle of champagne that arrived at our room earlier in the day, again courtesy of the hotel?

Breakfast in room was excellent and we were able to pack and check out in a very leisurely manner as check out was 12 noon.

The Montague on the Gardens is a well located hotel, although the décor is rather traditional (even garish by modern minimalist norms) the room was extremely comfortable, the food was excellent and the courtesy and professionalism of the staff was second to none.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel has everything going for it. It is well-situated in central London. The neighborhood is very quiet and there is a tranquil private park on the backside of the hotel that opens it up to light and greenery from the cozy restaurant terrace. The service is the best I have ever had a four star hotel. It came close to the best I ever experienced at the Four Seasons. The bellman and the waiters in the restaurant were exceptionally good. The rooms are smallish, but not so small as to be annoying, as some are in Central London.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLA90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Price
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

The Montague on The Gardens was an amazing hotel, fantastic staff extremely helpful and moreover friendly, the rooms a bit tight but decor superb with comfort levels high. The food and beverage facilities and staff simply delighful. When I return to London thats where I'll be staying

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJmuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I stayed for four nights in July 2009. Through the hotel I booked a car to meet us at Heathrow upon our arrival. The driver was waiting for us and drove us pointing out the sights on the way. Immediately on our arrival the concierge's Mustafa and Jorge met us and asked Sam to check us in. They were all so helpful and our room exceeded our expections. The bed was wonderful and the bathroom was spacious and equiped with all amenties needed. The dining rooms and bar were beautifully furnished with great service and food. I would highly recommend Montague on the Garden and look forward to our return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, Ca.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Spent one night in London and decided to return to this well located (next to The British Museum) property in the Bloomsbury area. While an older building the hotel is attractive and well maintained. Friendly, efficient check in. Our bellman gave us a refresher tour of the hotel's facilities and went over every detail in our room (climate control, flat screen TV, safe,etc). Rooms are not huge but are very efficiently designed and comfortable. Nice bed and linens. Our room (some type of a small suite) had two bathrooms both were nice and clean. There were also two flat screen TV's and a seperate area for our daughters fold out bed. Great shower with water grate in ceiling.

Our train was leaving very early and we missed breakfast in the dining room. The hotel was nice enough to send up coffee, juice, and some toast so we would not leave hungry.Check out was quick and our cab arrived right on time after the bellman called for us.

I have now had two very positive experiences staying here and would not hesitate to stay again if/when I return to London. The hotel seems very British and has a welcoming, comfortable feel to it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

Superb hotel, one of the best so far. Good atmosphere throughout. The staff are very professional yet friendly, always smiling and extremely helpful. We had been trying unsuccessfully, to purchase tickets to watch 'Oliver' before Rowan Atkinson left the show. However,the concierge managed to obtain two top class tickets for us and we had an excellent evening. Thank you Mustafa! So pleased we are now hoping to spend New Year at The Montague.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing