We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
lincs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

The most charming hotel i have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff went out of there way to help and please you. Very good location. It was just wonderfull. The only negative if i had to say was the rooms are on the small side and very hot! But we opened the window and we were fine! On the whole we were very pleased and had an excellent stay. Try it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,284
    606
    95
    23
    9
See reviews for
668
1,956
264
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

everything about this hotel was excellent, the staff couldnt do enough for you but not in an overbearing way, from arriving to leaving we were looked after brilliantly, the rooms were gorgeous, the breakfast was lovely, and the setting was beautiful, cant say enough about this hotel and its staff, would love to stay there again....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncasterprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I have used this Hotel many times for theatre trips, shopping and sharing a weekend with friends from Chicago. It never fails to deliver on ambience, staff attendance and all round friendly atmosphere.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and feel luxurious.
I personally have a soft spot for Jorge one of the Consierge's who is funny, efficient, kind, and hardworking.
A gem of a Hotel, The Red Carnation Group should be very proud

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuba-Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We recently stayed at the Montague and it was Awesome! The hotel made our trip. The service and staff was absolutely wonderful. They were always offering help and assistance and were very friendly. The Concierge, Mustafa, was extremely helpful. While in London, I wanted to go see a soccer (football as they call it) game and my wife wanted to have an english style afternoon tea. The concierge was able to find tickets for me to Man. U at Chelsea (perhaps the biggest game of the year!) and our afternoon tea at the hotel was just perfect. The hotel was a little walk to the nearest underground, which we used a lot, but they were also easily able to arrange a taxi whenever requested as well as a taxi that could hold all of our bags for our trip to the train station. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel to the underground (or subway, tube) at night. We stopped by a little pub by there and had a wonderful pie and mash and some English style Ale's that we enjoyed. Overall, we had a Wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromnewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

I stayed at The Montague with my wife in October as part of a city break in London. The hotel is well located in a quiet road in Bloomsbury, right next to the British Museum. On arrival we were given a complementary upgrade to a junior suite. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and overlooked a quiet, shared garden at the back of the hotel. All thestaff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the service was again excellent. We really liked the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Our first time in the city, stayed in the hotel for 4 days after our cruise of Western Europe. Our stay in London became the highlight of our trip Location is convenient and service is excellent. We recommend the hotel and will go back if we have another opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Portia239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

This hotel is a gem. Set in a quite street close to the British Museum it is tastefully furnished and beautifully presented with a lot of attention given to detail. Service was generally very good and suggestive of a more expensive hotel. For a London hotel this offers good value for money. One minor disappointment. Breakfast is arranged as a hot and cold buffet. The day we stayed the hot food was somewhat neglected and therefore not as fresh or hot as it would have been with table service something that spoilt what would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing