We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem of a hotel in the heart on London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem of a hotel in the heart on London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Friendly staff, relaxed yet opulent surroundings. A great place to stay when visiting London.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,242
    600
    94
    23
    9
See reviews for
656
1,937
263
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

I stayed at the Montague for three nights with my Mum and sister from 4th to 7th Dec 2009. We were availing of the 3 for 2 Junior Suite offer but when we arrived we were upgraded to a Master Suite. It was quite spacious and very clean. The decor is quite old style but I personally liked it, it might not be to everyone's taste though. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to Covent Garden yet quiet. It's obvious that the hotel is well managed and the staff are very profesional and friendly. All the staff seem to be so happy in their job which makes a change! We dined one evening in the hotel and although the dinner menu was pretty good value (considering the times we're living in) the one negative thing i woudl say is the hotel bar is very expensive....we were a bit shocked at the bill, as it really bumped up the price! It's the incidentals such as sparkling water or bread etc that are very overpriced in my experience. That said, if money is no object to you and you prefer to dine i nthe hotel then by all means do, the atmosphere is lovely, very relaxed. As it was coming close Christmas the hotel was decorated beautifully, very tasteful and festive. I had read comments about the concierge Mustafa on the previous trip advisor reviews, and although we didn't hvae the pleasure of meeting him as we did not requirte his services, he gave us a very big smile on arrival and departure! I had known London well from prevous trips so we did not really need any guidance with regard to tourist attactcions, but i am assured if you do he is your man! So overall, I woudl recommend this hotel, but would add that it is expensive but the attention to detail, the professionalism of the staff and the lovely suite make this a special treat, although had there not been a special offer on it would have been out of our price range.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

The most charming hotel i have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff went out of there way to help and please you. Very good location. It was just wonderfull. The only negative if i had to say was the rooms are on the small side and very hot! But we opened the window and we were fine! On the whole we were very pleased and had an excellent stay. Try it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

everything about this hotel was excellent, the staff couldnt do enough for you but not in an overbearing way, from arriving to leaving we were looked after brilliantly, the rooms were gorgeous, the breakfast was lovely, and the setting was beautiful, cant say enough about this hotel and its staff, would love to stay there again....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncasterprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I have used this Hotel many times for theatre trips, shopping and sharing a weekend with friends from Chicago. It never fails to deliver on ambience, staff attendance and all round friendly atmosphere.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and feel luxurious.
I personally have a soft spot for Jorge one of the Consierge's who is funny, efficient, kind, and hardworking.
A gem of a Hotel, The Red Carnation Group should be very proud

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuba-Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We recently stayed at the Montague and it was Awesome! The hotel made our trip. The service and staff was absolutely wonderful. They were always offering help and assistance and were very friendly. The Concierge, Mustafa, was extremely helpful. While in London, I wanted to go see a soccer (football as they call it) game and my wife wanted to have an english style afternoon tea. The concierge was able to find tickets for me to Man. U at Chelsea (perhaps the biggest game of the year!) and our afternoon tea at the hotel was just perfect. The hotel was a little walk to the nearest underground, which we used a lot, but they were also easily able to arrange a taxi whenever requested as well as a taxi that could hold all of our bags for our trip to the train station. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel to the underground (or subway, tube) at night. We stopped by a little pub by there and had a wonderful pie and mash and some English style Ale's that we enjoyed. Overall, we had a Wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromnewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

I stayed at The Montague with my wife in October as part of a city break in London. The hotel is well located in a quiet road in Bloomsbury, right next to the British Museum. On arrival we were given a complementary upgrade to a junior suite. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and overlooked a quiet, shared garden at the back of the hotel. All thestaff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the service was again excellent. We really liked the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing