We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This hotel really lives up to all expectations! I was travelling with my mother and the staff could not have been more helpful, anything we needed to arrange was really no problem whatsoever to the extremely helpful concierge. My mother even remarked that the staff were the nicest the she had encountered on her travels anywhere in the world! When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite from a king sized room which was a great way to start our trip! The rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, the breakfasts were excellent and the afternoon tea was a real treat. I will have no hesitation in booking another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamFullarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,489 - 3,495 of 4,328 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed at the Montague on the Gardens earlier this month to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
We have stayed several times at The Montague (our favourite London hotel) and this time booked a suite for the occasion.
The hotel staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, and they really went out of their way to make our stay very special.
This is a hotel which oozes client friendliness and efficiency.You are treated like a human being and not as a room number.
The food is great, service is excellent and the most helpful staff you could wish for.
We are looking forward to our next stay at The Montague!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Location is great; at the heart of London.
I absolutely loved the style of the hotel. The restaurant offered lovely meals, and breakfast was top class!
The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
They have a very nice garden. An unexpected surplus in the center of London.

This hotel offers the best service I've ever experienced. I was treated like the Queen of England!

(Nicole)

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleVanHekken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel had everythinhg I was looking for in London. The staff gave me a warm welcome on my arrival. They made me feel at home right away, and were very helpfull during the whole weekend. I was absolutely charmed by the warm English-style decoration of the hotel. The room had everything I wished for, and more. The hotel also has a beatifull garden, in the centre of London!
The location of the hotel is great. It's central location allowed me to explore the whole of London.
The dinner I had in the restaurant was lovely. And the English breakfast they offer, is how every breakfast should be!!

I'm looking forward to my next stay in the Montague on the gardens hotel!

(Filip De Bie)

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilipDeBie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We were here last year for our 26th wedding anniversary and loved it!

Wonderful part: Romantic: small sun room for cozy eating, outside stone patio (with heaters/plastic screen if cold) for eating, piano in bar, larger conservatory overlooking garden area=romantic places to chat. Great location: within a block of the British Museum, within steps of bus stops (great for zipping around London and hopping on/off with oyster card), and walking distance to several subway stops, felt like safe area for strolling. Half a block from a nice square for strolling--square has a fountain, a little place for tea/coffee, fun to watch dogs frolicking on morning walks there, etc. Hotel staff was very customer-friendly. Our room was on the entrance street but the street is fairly quiet at night and curtains are heavy--little outside noise. Bedroom walls were padded. Great buffet breakfast in the morning. We were there in off season--lots of businessmen.

Not-so-wonderful: Beautiful but tiny room--could not walk by each other (very high ceiling kept room from being claustrophobic); bath had a shower with "half door" and water came down from ceiling--directly on your head; no real dresser for clothes, no small frig. When we explored the hotel, we discovered that some hall areas had floor boards that are very creaky--this is an old place that's been restored. We asked for a fan for white noise (just to cover conversations in hall) and was told none was available. Not many really good restaurants within walking distance--but upside is that this is a fairly quiet area compared to other areas of London.

Summary: a few minor disappointments but overall loved it and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudiabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This was a very disapppointing stay. We'd been recommended to stay here (because of the great location near West End and British Museum and supposedly quintessentially English boutique hotel) but it was very expensive for very little. The room was TINY! With monstrously loud wallpaper that made the room appear even smaller. One of us had to be sitting on the bed if the other was to move around/go to the bathroom. Getting the breakfast tray in the room in the morning was a major logistics feat. We had to put furniture in the cupboard to have room for our four bags under a table. The fan did not work in the bathroom so everything was steamy most of the time. The gym room was tiny tiny: a treadmill and an elliptical. That was it. And all the staff are from Hungary so if you are looking for English speaking guest service, then you have come to the wrong place. We stayed one night. The second night was at a Hilton: 1/2 the price of the Montague, as good a location and much more space in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TamsinPlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed in a suite in this hotel and left dissapointed. We arrived after recommended check in time and the room was not ready. Eventually after drinking coffee in the lobby to pass the time, we left for the afternoon with our bags still at reception and came back later.
The room was comfortable, and spacious, but attention to detail definitely not what we would've expected (eg. Safe instructions for use removed, heating in the lounge area erratic, no door chains with which to latch the door from the inside, no plug in the vicinity of the kettle).
What troubled us the most however, was inability to get a decent nights rest because of noise from creaky floor boards - loud enough to prevent sleep.
On the plus side the hotel is in a good location, the staff very polite and helpful, and the ambience in the hotel around Christmas time was lovely.
We would however pick differently next time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAtraveller93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,078 in London
4,058 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £163 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing