We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our stay was impeccable as usual and the member of staff who looked after us on New Year's Eve was brilliant, unfortunately we do not remember his name. Also we appreciated the upgrade to a wonderful split level room.

Robert Morgan

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutronc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,274 - 3,280 of 4,312 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

I use this hotel very often, staying a couple of times a month, the locaton is good the service excellant with the best conciege I have come across, nohing is too much trouble. The rooms are delightful, if a little on the small side occasionally. The quality of the beds is always excellant. It is a very decadent hotel which I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This hotel is beautiful and clean. The staff are first class and very friendly. They did everything they could to make our stay special. The room was wonderful. We could have done with a little more space in the room, but we did stay in the cheapest room available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibbo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I both travel quite a bit, both together for leisure and also separately (for work purposes). Of all the hotels we have stayed in, the Montague on the Gardens is by far the one we both prefer (we have been here three times in 18 months). The hotel itself is in an excellent location, the Piccadilly and Central lines are a mere 5 minute walk away (Russell Square and Holborn respectively), and within walking distance of other attractions such as West End theatres and Leicester Square. The rooms are snug and lavishly furnished, the lobby is exquisite and the food (we have sampled breakfast and tea) are definitely above average for a hotel. But the thing that keeps us coming back for more is the service. It is really quite excellent. It is immediately apparent that a lot of thought and investment has gone into training the staff and it shows. No matter what time, day or night, they always have a smile on their faces, they always do their best to help out and they look genuinely concerned if something may not be to your liking. Going back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and shopping feels like going back home - the warmth, the smiles, the will to please of the staff really makes this hotel a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandadeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 11 nights thru the Christmas and Boxing Day holidays. We found the hotel on the internet, and after staying at the Dorset Square a couple of times, thought it was time for a change and that this would be a nice cozy alternative. We booked a junior suite, but were upgraded to a master suite upon arrival, which was a very nice surprise. Our room was nice/reasonably spacious. Lower level "living room" with a couple chairs/couch/writing desk with a really bad chair. Entry level bedroom and ensuite bath with double sink and heated towel rail. The bath had a "cool" "invisible" ceiling rain shower, but the glass partition never prevented water from spraying all over the floor and the toilet. The light switches were a bit complicated to figure out, and the heating unit rattled sometimes annoyingly, but kept the room nice and toasty, as it was a particularly brutal weather period while we were there. The furniture, throughout the hotel and in the room, was a bit dated and worn (very old fashioned). There were two nice flat screen tv's in the room, but the cable was bad, as we would have liked to have had SKY, not CNN. There was plenty of storage space, but the light burned out in the closet because the doors did not shut properly. Also a great inroom safe, although we had to bend down to access it (would be better at eye level). Room Service was good the one time we had it, tho expensive; we rec'd lovely canapes and lemon wedges and an ice bucket each evening. We did experience some real difficulty getting our "welcoming tray" replenished daily....sometimes there was no filter coffee, no cocoa, no biscuits, and we had to telephone to secure the replenishments. One time it wasn't even cleaned. But the room was usually attended to and cleaned on time, the bed made and towels replenished properly. The rugs could have used a really good cleaning. One of the best things about the hotel is the staff....there is a TON of staff...the concierge team was particularly helpful and accommodating. They even anticipated our needing tax service one evening and took care of all the details. The doorman was also very friendly. They quickly learned our last names and usually addressed us by name, even when we weren't together, which was a nice touch. We were very impressed with the attitude of the staff here...excellent. The hotel bar is cozy and friendly. We ate a couple of times in the Blue Door Bistro. Breakfasts were very pleasant (apart from having to sit next to a side serving station, as we were constantly being interrupted by servers coming over to replenish their supplies). We had Christmas Day lunch in the Bistro and were seated out on the side terrace overlooking the gardens. Very warm and cozy and the mulled wine before lunch was splendid, as was the lunch itself. We'd definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, given its great location to the right of the British Museum and two tube stations.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

As a much-valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities we provide, and I would like to thank you for bringing the various maintenance issues that you experienced throughout your stay to my attention. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment these would have caused to you.
I have spoken with my Chief Engineer in order for him to take the necessary remedial action as a matter of urgency to ensure that future guests do not have a similar experience.

At The Montague, we are passionate in achieving the highest standards in both service and quality and therefore I was especially disappointed to read that your welcome tray was not replenished on a daily basis. I have discussed your experience with my Executive Housekeeper in order that she revisits this area of staff training to ensure that our standards remain consistently high.

Thank you for such kind comments regarding our staff, particularly our Concierge team. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always pleasing to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that your kind praise is passed on to the individuals concerned and that their service is duly recognised.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit overall and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my teenage son for New Year's Eve. I have never used this hotel before and chose it based on previous Tripadvisor reviews. What an excellent choice. From the moment you walk in the door you are made to feel warmly welcome by attentive, helpful and caring staff. Indeed, I cannot praise the staff team highly enough: the care and attention to detail is superb, nothing is too much trouble - the very highest standards of customer care. The standard twin bedded room we had may have been a little 'snug' in terms of size, but the quality of the decor was instantly apparent. Excellent beds, wonderful furnishings, good rage of technology freely available. Superb full English breakfast this morning - very good range of local produce. I cannot speak highly enough of my first visit to this hotel. We will certainly be returning again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

My daughter and I had the good fortune to stay at The Montague on the Gardens while "stranded" in London due to the recent snow. The rooms were comfortable, sleek, clean and quiet. Our king bed was split into 2 singles for our convenience and comfort. There were delightful common rooms in which one could enjoy tea or cocktails. The location across from the British Museum was ideal. However the real star of this hotel is the staff. They did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. A uniformly professional and competent staff is impressive enough. That they were also compassionate during a stressful stay suggests not only skill in hiring but also reflects a deep commitment of the organization to "customer service" - a term that is all to often overused today but appropriate in this instance. I can't wait to return for a planned trip with my wife.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £173 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing