We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples on short breaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful New Years Eve in London and the Montague was an ideal location for this. Very quietly situated next to the British museum, we arrived at 9am and were pleasantly surprised that our upgraded room was ready and we could offload our bags. The museum, a show, the fireworks were all followed by a perfect nights sleep. Im a very light sleeper and this is the first hotel I can genuinely say that I wasn't disturbed one jot. Young, exceptionally attentive staff added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyltonsurgery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,241)
There are newer reviews for The Montague on The Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,205 - 3,211 of 4,242 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

9 of us stayed at the Montague for New Years Eve/New Years Day 2010/2011 and had a brilliant time. The hotel, food, rooms & staff are exceptional. Everyone is so friendly and helpfull without fawning all over you. I really cant fault the place and whilst I accept its not the cheapest place to stay, its our hotel of choice whenever we stay in London. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - we cant wait to go back.
John & Jules, Derbyshire

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My wife and I spent eight days at the Montague in early December. It was our third trip to London last year. I intended to post this review sooner, but Trip Advisor does not permit you to post a review within three months of a previous one (see my previous reviews dated March 13 and September 30, 2010). As before, I just cannot say enough about the management and staff. Arriving at the Montague is like arriving at the home of a favorite relative. The experience has the same life-affirming quality about it. There is no point in me repeating what I have said in my earlier reviews, except to say this: If you’re planning a visit to London, and the impersonal glass and concrete experience is not for you, then there is only one hotel you should consider – Montague on the Gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wichoo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our stay was impeccable as usual and the member of staff who looked after us on New Year's Eve was brilliant, unfortunately we do not remember his name. Also we appreciated the upgrade to a wonderful split level room.

Robert Morgan

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutronc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I use this hotel very often, staying a couple of times a month, the locaton is good the service excellant with the best conciege I have come across, nohing is too much trouble. The rooms are delightful, if a little on the small side occasionally. The quality of the beds is always excellant. It is a very decadent hotel which I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This hotel is beautiful and clean. The staff are first class and very friendly. They did everything they could to make our stay special. The room was wonderful. We could have done with a little more space in the room, but we did stay in the cheapest room available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibbo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I both travel quite a bit, both together for leisure and also separately (for work purposes). Of all the hotels we have stayed in, the Montague on the Gardens is by far the one we both prefer (we have been here three times in 18 months). The hotel itself is in an excellent location, the Piccadilly and Central lines are a mere 5 minute walk away (Russell Square and Holborn respectively), and within walking distance of other attractions such as West End theatres and Leicester Square. The rooms are snug and lavishly furnished, the lobby is exquisite and the food (we have sampled breakfast and tea) are definitely above average for a hotel. But the thing that keeps us coming back for more is the service. It is really quite excellent. It is immediately apparent that a lot of thought and investment has gone into training the staff and it shows. No matter what time, day or night, they always have a smile on their faces, they always do their best to help out and they look genuinely concerned if something may not be to your liking. Going back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and shopping feels like going back home - the warmth, the smiles, the will to please of the staff really makes this hotel a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandadeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,072 in London
3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,815 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £188 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing