We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A horrible, unpleasant place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheshire Hotel
Ranked #1,005 of 1,088 Hotels in London
2 reviews
“A horrible, unpleasant place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I booked to stay here recently. What a mistake that was. In my opinion the staff were very rude and useless. The rooms were a disgrace, the first room I was given, I would of had a panic attack it was that bad If I would of had to of stayed here, to then be moved to another which was just as bad. In the end I ended up having to leave the hotel due to it being a disgrace.. Would strongly recommend not to stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjammin0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    65
    104
    84
    199
See reviews for
68
136
45
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very convenient location. Hotel room was very small and a little tatty. Bathroom sink was blocked and toilet seat loose. No air conditioning in hotel so convenient location results in lots of outside noise in the evening with bedroom windows open which is essential due to high unconfortable room temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked this hotel as it did look to be clean, comfortable, and with a nice large comfortable reception and bar on the internet advert. On arrival, reception was very tiny, no lounge or bar. Female staff greeted us pleasantly, staff after that seemed unconcerned. No teamaking facilities were provided. Room reasonably clean. Visitor info. book in room was way out of date on prices etc. But worst was the noise during the night.
Could not wait for the night to be over as hardly slept due to lorries delivering/collecting laundry etc etc during night, traffic, sirens going, loud shouting and so on with people coming out of pubs, night clubs, theatres, near by. We may as well have been sleeping, or trying to, outside. Would definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

A most dissapointing place hotel, we were given a ground floor room no natural light even though we requested a room with a good view.
We asked for another , then found someones suit case in the cuboard thought it may have been sheets or pillows but on looking it was someones case.We phoned reception they were not apologetic then put back into the cellar, how discusting.The room didnt come with mike on tea and coffee guy on reception was very unhelp ful in getting any for us.All the staff were rude no goodmornings or goodbyes when leaving,the room was very bady made, shaver point upside down, sink loose on the wall.No light swich or table near the bed.
The worst hotel I have ever stayed at, oh yes and the blinds were think with dust , dreadful place

Room Tip: choose a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked this hotel as the pictures on the internet seemed ok....How foolish!! We should have dug deeper. on arrival the reception area looked lovely, warm and cosy nice furniture etc. BUT.. as soon as you pass reception, skirting boards and wallpaper are tatty, the lift creaked . We were given a room on the top floor . We opened the door and could not believe our eyes! The carpet was torn and threadbare, the furniture was worn and scratched, the bedding had cigarette burns and looked like something out of the sixties cheap polyester bedding, the panel of the bath was smashed in. I stood in shock not believing my eyes. We turned round straightaway and went back to reception. We explained the state of the room was completely unacceptable . We were given another room on another floor and this was in the same state.. We went back to reception and asked for a refund to be told we could not have one and that if we had looked properly on booking.com we would have known this. Fortunately we were in the position to walk out and booked ourselves into the nearest premier inn. The YMCA down the street would have been a better standard of accommodation than this!!!!!

Room Tip: There isn't one all are appalling. Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortjan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

• Buy/lease a building. Decorate pillars with gold paint. Put up plastic sign.
• Charge a high price.
• Employ very few, young foreigners with moderate grasp of local language and pay them very little.
• Don't renovate.
• Leave the wallpaper peeling off the walls.
• Have staff say "there's a problem with the internet in the rooms" when really you have only installed one router in the reception.
• Have very small rooms. You will put in mini furniture and ensure banging of shins which keeps guests out of rooms saving on wear and tear and TV watching which uses electricity.
• Save more on electricity: Ensure all plug points are burnt out. Guests won't want to recharge phones or computers running up unnecessary costs.
• Don't install air conditioning. For air, leave the sash windows open for city smells and sounds (especially drunken yells at 3am from the surrounding pubs). And for burglars. Make sure a continuous balcony runs in front of all rooms for easy access of aforesaid. Make sure cleaning staff always leave windows open. Do NOT provide a safe for valuables.
• Provide additionally to the large radiator, two large portable electric radiators. This won't heat the room (see burnt out plugs) thus saving electricity, but will fill up the tiny closet ensuring no room to hang clothes.
• Ensure cheap shower curtain sucks inwards leaving no place to stand in bath cubicle and flooding floor.
• Don't replace lights on elevator buttons to keep guests guessing as to whether it'll come and where it'll stop. Make elevator very slow.
• Charge a lot for breakfast then deliver brown bread and cheap jam. This makes guests upgrade to expensive "english breakfast". Make sure coffee tastes terrible so guests won't want more. Prepare and serve said breakfast very slowly from a converted broom cabinet. Don't provide newspapers.
• Arrange long queue (see point 3) when guests checking out so that they can enjoy ambience in reception cubbyhole and miss their appointments.
• Buy/lease next hotel and repeat

Room Tip: Rooms to inward court better as may be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I had to be near Charing Cross Road for two days so this was perfect. The room was small but hot, but then so was the weather. Could have done wit coffee-making facilities and more pillows but apart from that I found everything fine, all staff very pleasant, room clean, shower room impressive, continental breakfast more than adequate and good hot coffee. Dining room has good street view.The building is old but not decrepit and I was satisfied with the budget price I paid. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I only saw one single budget priced room so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#674 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#372 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Hotel

Property: Cheshire Hotel
Address: 110 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NA, England (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,005 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cheshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn London Bloomsbury
London Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing