We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheshire Hotel
Ranked #1,007 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night, the location was just ideal for us. The room was small but we did have an extra bed in there for our son, it was clean and the shower was brilliant. All we wanted was a place to sleep which we got, and we're very happy with it.
If you want breakfast DON'T go to Garfunkel's round the corner, got to Cafe Klea opposite at 14 Great Russell Street, really friendly, great cuppa and good food, the Salt Beef Sandwich was lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    65
    103
    83
    193
See reviews for
67
134
45
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

8 of us stayed here, all lads so booked 4 twin rooms. On arrival we were told they on had two twins as there had been a electrical problem?! 4 of us had to share two double rooms, the man on duty just didn't care nor see a problem. The room I stayed in was 405, iron burns on the carpet, tap not secured to sink in bathroom, grotty bed linens, tv from 1970 are just a few gripes, the room was so small we just had no room to move. Glad we only booked one night. In the morning there was no hot water, when I question the man from the check in about this, I was told it was because it was a Sunday!!! Then there's breakfast, well infact there wasn't.......tables are few a far between, at the time I was in there I counted 12 diners. No table was fully laid, no direction from staff as to where they would like you to sit either. No acknowledgement from staff, no greetings. We sat for 10 minutes with not a word from the two staff, one being the incompetent fool in reception (he was also trying to answer phones in reception in between ignoring diners!) when I asked if there was any chance of getting tea and some breakfast I was grunted at saying chef was busy. I again told this horrible man that the hotel as whole hadn't fallen very short of the service and standards you expect when you have spent £150 for a room you didn't book! He told me he didn't care, we that statement we left and had breakfast across the road. I do NOT recommend you stay at this horrible place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night theatre break in London staying at this hotel. Booked it due to convenient location BUT that was the best thing about it, apart from agreeing with all the other bad reviews here re room size, grotty bed spread, no tea and coffee to add to all that our toilet did not flush properly and the best the staff could advise was for us to use the communal toilet in the basement - we were on the FIFTH floor so this meant getting up and dressed early morning when nature called and taking the rickety lift down to the basement!!!! Would not stay there again someone said you get what you pay for but you don't even get that here....quite right.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel looks ok from the outside but when you step into the foyer you know that it's not going to be a great experience. Holes in wood panelling covered up with sticky back plastic and a distinctly worn look . We booked a triple room for a girly shopping trip over half term so choices of hotels last minute were limited. The lifts are shabby , carpet frayed in corridor and plugs hanging off the wall. A small double and a single bed had been squeezed in so the headboards looked ridiculous . Sockets didn't work, tap almost came off in hand and silicon round bath had cracked to show gaping holes. I could go on . My mistake being I didn't complain until the next morning so was told it was my fault . Nothing offered and to add insult to injury was told I had to pay £5 per bag to keep in storage past 12noon . I thought they should have waved this at least .
Needless to say I don't recommend staying here which is a shame because the location is good . The worse £200 odd quid I've ever spent !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Didnt know what to expect with this as the reviews were mixed.
Came here with my two friends (we are all mid twenties) and my mam.
Booked two double rooms. Rooms were perfect. Enough space and storage for a comfortable stay. Very clean and room serviced every day.
Staff were a pleasure. Very friendly and extremely helpful. Arrived 4hours before check in with the intention of just dropping our luggage. Fella behind desk insisted that we get our rooms straight away.
Location wise i dont think you could get closer to a tube station. Its on the central and northen line. Oxford street is at the top of the road and plenty of things to do around it.
Its a quiet hotel (no street noise). I would highly reccomend it and will definitely be back. Price was so cheap compared to other hotels. Where its no ritz it is streets ahead of the rest.

If i was to critize it, it would be the lift. There is 2 but only one worked and it was really slow and small. Only used it once.

Didnt have breakfast so cant comment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aisling k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very close to the Dominion theatre and looks nice from the outside.. AND THAT'S WHERE IT ENDS !!!! . Felt uneasy in the lift, when we opened the room door, the carpet was thread bare from foot traffic. the room was tiny, double bed pushed against one wall. the springs on the matress, could be felt on the suface and it squeaked with every move. WORST BED WE HAVE EVER SLEPT ON. the noise level from the road outside was bad to say the least. the shower flooded the bathroom floor..
booked it based on cost and location for theatre....... I know you get what you pay for..... but there is a limit...... and you don't even get what you paid for at the Cheshire hotel.

Room Tip: don't book a room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is cheap, clean and the location is perfect. Despite the rickety lift and no tea and coffee facilities, the staff were friendly and efficient and our room ready half an hour before check in. Lovely break thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TardisHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Hotel

Property: Cheshire Hotel
Address: 110 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NA, England (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,007 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cheshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn London Bloomsbury
London Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing