We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, central, cozy and very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #360 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Affordable, central, cozy and very clean!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I think the title of the review summarises it all! I have stayed in this hotel back 2005 before it belonged to the Accor Group and I was not impressed. Since the Mercure chain took it over, it got completely renovated and refurbished and is now very modern. Although the rooms are a bit small (which seems to be the rule in central London) they have all you may expect: very comfortable beds (some may find them too soft but I personally slept like a baby), ironing board, safe, flat screen TV, free bottled water and Nespresso coffee machine. We only paid 139 GBP for one night in a double room which for London is a reasonable price. The hotel is so well located (literally next to the British Museum and 10-15 mins walk from Oxford Street) that my partner and I are now considering it our "regular" for the next visit to London.

Nice plus during our February visit: the room was ready way before check in time and we could already get the keys at 10:00 AM!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Fabrizio

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review following your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We wear to delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us so much that you are looking to make us your "regular" London hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back soon.

Kind Regards
The Management team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    958
    284
    85
    52
See reviews for
357
769
220
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Lovely modern Hotel in a decent location for exploring. Fresh decor and fittings. Just a pity that our room is like a shoebox!! Only here for 2 nights so can't get too upset, but based on what we paid, we have had better value in London. Not to be avoided, but beware.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinb2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 saturday night, chosen for location, did not bother getting a tube ticket as most things well within walking distance. The room we were in was quite small but spotless and had all you could need, coffee machine, kettle, iron and board, safe. ect, the window looked out onto the road, which is obviously busy and quite noisy being central london but we didnt find this a problem. The staff on reception and in the resturant ( excellent breakfast ) are the most attentive I have come across anywhere. You can also leave your baggage in the hotel even after you have checked out, excellent if like us you are travelling by train.We will definatly return next time we are in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaggzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Yaggzie

We would like to take the time to thank you for posting such a lovely review regarding your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We especially pleased to read your comments regarding the team, they are our greatest asset and we very proud of them. Please be assured that we will be showing them your review so that they see they benefits of their hard work.

Thank you once again and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Bloomsbury very soon.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 4 times in the last year. It is well located being 15 mins from Euston London mailine station and 5 mins from the Tube.
The staff are second to none, really excellent and professional service. Food quality in the restuarant is very good. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all of your visits with us and we do hope that we can see you for your 5th visit very soon.

Kind Regards

The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for a few nights around a theatre trip and a show at the Royal Albert Hall. We chose the hotel for its convenient location for the west end and for us to wander around the Inns of Court and city areas of London and good value for money.

The location is convenient, a short walk from Russell Square tube. It's not much further from Holborn tube. The room was small but more than adequate for the two of us. The storage in the room was just adequate after removing the ironing board from the wardrobe. The room, and indeed the rest of the hotel, was clean. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room and free bottled water. A nice large screen TV was positioned very nicely for watching whilst lying in bed.

Our room looked out onto the side street off of Southampton Row. We had to keep the window open because it was impossible to have the radiator on anything other than off or full on. There was road noise but it didn't interfere with a good night's sleep.

The breakfast was great. We didn't try out the cooked breakfast which was apparently cooked to order. The cold buffet had a selection of fresh fruit, cold fish and meats, cereals, cheese, yoghurts and fruit jiuces. It was sufficient for us.

On one of the evenings we had a Valentines dinner in the restaurant. Food was good and service excellent. In fact the only possible criticism of the restuarant service was that they were keen to remove your empty plates and sometimes they looked to be hovering, ready to pounce on any diner who had finished eating.

The service throughout was excellent.

We'd stay here agin if looing for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Brian

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your theatre break and the time that you spent with us. We do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Mercure Bloomsbury very soon.

Kind Regards
The Mercure Bloomsbury Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent one night in the Mercure last week on business. The room was fine, not large, but pretty much what you expect. The wifi works ok upstairs, but patchy in the common areas. The best thing was the laptop safe! which meant I could get away from work in peace of mind for a while. I was up fairly early for breakfast but it was looking a bit tired by the time I got there.

It's fine for business, but if you're in London for fun, splash out a bit more and go to the Hotel Russell down the road - much classier.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Cook_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limousin, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a single room for 2 nights - the price £279 which included breakfast was not good value for money for the size of the room. However i was limited with the need to be in that area so the Mercure was the best option.

My room looked out onto a black wall 5 stories high - I may as well not had a window! However there was no street noise.

The inclusive breakfast was poor -standard English breakfast was clearly pre-plated and dried out!!

However, all the staff were very courteous and helpful - they cannot be faulted



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaghornA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Daghorn A

Thank you for posting such an honest review of your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel.

We were disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. We shall pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our Food & Beverage team in order to improve on our standards but can assure that all our meals are cooked fresh to order.

With regards to your bedroom please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we can give you the best available rate for a double room instead of the single room that was booked for you so that you can be more comfortable.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing