We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can always trust a Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #360 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“You can always trust a Mercure”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What's great about these hotels is that you know EXACTLY what to expect - and that expectation is always a VERY high standard. This was my second stay at a Mercure within the last 3 weeks and again I wasn't disappointed. Room a bit small but then I was only staying the one night and on my own, but every other detail, including the fantastic breakfast, was the same as my last stay in another Mercure hotel in SE England. Staff again very upbeat and helpful. Everywhere pristine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprite_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent time with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a satisfying stay and enjoyed all services provided and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    958
    284
    85
    52
See reviews for
357
769
220
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My mum & I stayed for 5 nights in Oct this year.
Our twin room was a few floors up but we were thankful for the lift. The beds were comfortable, the room a little small room but the hotel is in the Inner City. To be honest, as we were there for sight seeing purposes, it had everything we needed.
Loved the Nespresso in the room since decent coffee is a little hard to find. We had room service a couple of times and meals were delicious.
Staff were friendly & helpful. Hotel is very close to Russell Sq / Holborn tube & bus stops are very close by too.
Would definitely recommend Mercure Bloomsbury & would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
it was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your mother had an enjoyable time with and were satisfied with all services provided. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We met a very helpful and friendly staff who organized a move to another room, as we were given a very small double room the first night. The price at 200 £ per night we believe is in the higher end compared to the standard and the size of the rooms.
Breakfast was ok, although limited selection. Overall we had a good stay, but did expect more at that price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experiences with us. We were disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with the choice of rooms we have provided you over the last few stays. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are glad that you are enjoying the customer service the staff is providing and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A good hotel in prime location. Rooms are always well prepared and with facilities required. I return regularly for business and trust this brand to get it right. The staff in particular are helpful and welcoming. I never have any problems with Mecure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate that you took the time to review your experiences about your stays with us. We are delighted to hear that return regularly for business as you feel comfortable with us and appreciate our helpful and welcoming staff. We are already looking forward to welcome you back on your next business trip.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is very well located in central London, and offers excellent service. The rooms are well equipped but are a little bit too noisy, certainly those facing the main road. The automated closing of hotel room doors generates a lot of noise on every floor as well.

Room Tip: Avoid those facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for tkaing the time to review your recent experience with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt that our rooms are noisy but appreciate that you enjoyed our central location and thye services provided. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My daughter and I were staying in London for one night with a special event the following day. The hotel staff on arrival and during our stay were excellent , from making us feel welcome on arrival, serving our dinner early for us to go to a show, with any request never too much bother. This came from reception, bar, restaurant, and room staff. The room was also very comfortable and the food excellent in the restaurant. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor at the front of the hotel which was quiet for a room in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Hassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have been fully satisfied with all aspects of your stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel and the warm welcome from the staff is always excellent. Some in particular remember me each time I stay. However, the past couple of times I've stayed there the room comfort and noise levels have been a let down; rooms are to hot and the air con is noisy, rooms facing the main road are noisy too (what has happened to double glazing), the walls are quite thin and you can hear most things in adjacent rooms, pillows are like cardboard - no feathers here !? But there are great touches, over and above other hotels, even like the Hilton Doubletree next door e.g. a bottle of water as standard, selection of good teas in the room and I received a drinks voucher to use at the bar - customer service is great the rooms are letting them down right now!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the main road, higher floors have less noise from internal down pipes for wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experiences with us. We were disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with the choice of rooms we have provided you over the last few stays. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are glad that you are enjoying the customer service the staff is providing and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing