We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #344 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Well situated in Central London”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is very well located just down from Russell Square. It is an easy walk to 2 or 3 tube stations and there are plenty of restaurants in the nearby streets and in the Brunswick Centre which is less than 5 minutes walk. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly and my room had all that you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our service and especially our central location. We are looking forward to welcome you abck to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    947
    276
    82
    51
See reviews for
353
759
216
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was my third trip to London, and we had decided on a short stay only. Got an excellent deal through booking online. Room was small but well appointed and quiet. Staff on the front desk were very helpful and tolerant of our jet lagged very early questions. Many good places to eat around here, and laundrette in the next street across Queen's Square was easy to use and friendly.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room ask for one, but don't expect to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in London. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time with us and were happy with the services provided. We hope to welcome you back for your next short trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very well located (off Oxford Street), north of Covent Garden (10min walk) and buses direct to Picadilly. Also close to St Pancras (10min by bus).

Nice staff, professional, with some gifts like chocolates brough to your room every evening!

The rooms are quiet, extra high rise bed for an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent overnight experience with us. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including all serives provided and the central location. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

WE visited the Mercure Bloomsbury on a Sunday for Afternoon Tea. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to a nice booth style table. The staff were very attentive and the service was excellent. The actual tea was delicious and well presented. Only x 1 observation as that the pancake served with the scones at the end was a little out of place maybe an additional scone might have been better? Overall an excellent experience and with an Amazon voucher very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the offer and the service provided by our staff. Your feedback is important to us and we will take it into account when reviewing our offer. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Most of the other reviews are spot on. Expensive for small but very nice rooms in a central location with excellent staff. No complaints (other than the wi-fi in the rooms being rubbish). We had a room on the front corner on the sixth floor. We could just about hear the traffic but not enough to keep us awake or spoil our stay - not sure the same would apply on lower floors.

Hotel rooms in central London are expensive - the same room in a Mercure hotel in Paris would be 50% cheaper - but that is London for you. If you want a nice, comfortable, clean room in central London at under £200 per night this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors and at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with all services provided. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked this hotel for my wife's birthday. I was extremely disappointed with the size of the room and the bathroom was ridiculously small. 6 square feet of moveable space in the bathroom would be generous. I actually called reception to confirm that it was a superior room, which they confirmed it was. Goodwill gesture of a bottle of wine was sent up, but that didn't change the size of the room or the cost. Smaller issues, the wires for the bathroom mirror were visible, pencil marks on the wall next to the mirror from previous work carried out, bedside table could only fit phone on and nothing else and tea making facilities were minimal. The staff were polite, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, but the room was definitely not superior. Left feeling disappointed that my wife didn't receive the birthday treat she deserved and that I didn't get value for money. Expensive and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Spent a night at the Mercure Bloomsbury while attending a conference. Warm welcome and efficient check in. Very comfy room - not a bad size for Central London. Nice breakfast and free newspapers. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayenne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and felt welcome by our staff. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,022 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing