We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #346 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was small but well stocked and had everything I needed for a short overnight stay in London for a good price. It is also in a great location with good connections.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and are hoping to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    947
    276
    82
    51
See reviews for
354
759
216
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Overall, it was a very nice experience: the location of the hotel is very good - walking distance to ST Pancras station, Oxford street, Soho and Picadilly; the staff is really kind and responsive, the rooms are clean; the wi-fi is ok, the heating works very well and the breakfast is good (not amazing but good).
The downsides:
- when we arrived, we were given room 408 which was extremely small (actually it's the smallest hotel room I have ever seen) and the door margins had paper on as apparently they had just done some painting; I was not happy at all but after complaining about it, we were given another room - 206 which was big and very beautiful.
- we had to change the access cards twice in 3 days; apparently they are really sensitive
There might also be an issue for those who need silence at night as the rooms facing the boulevard are a little bit noisy but that was not an issue for me. Also, there were some works going on in the hotel next to Mercure so if you want to have a nap during the day, this might also prove difficult.
But, after changing the new room everything was fine!

Room Tip: 206 was very good! avoid 408, it is extremely small and actually I just noticed they do not indicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that not all aspects of your stay were to your full satisfaction but we are glad that our team was able to rectify the issue by moving you to a different room. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here due to my usual hotel being booked up, and a very glad i did.

Upon arrival they took my luggage up to my room as i was running late for a meeting. I stayed in room 706 which was a circular room with very comfy bed, good working desk space, decent bath and shower and plenty of room.

For breakfast i ordered room service and had the Eggs Benedict which was one of the best i have had, arrived in the room hot and within 10 minutes.

To top it all off they also had a nespresso machine so i could drink decent coffee :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our staff and the efficient services provided by them. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your nect trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is very well located just down from Russell Square. It is an easy walk to 2 or 3 tube stations and there are plenty of restaurants in the nearby streets and in the Brunswick Centre which is less than 5 minutes walk. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly and my room had all that you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our service and especially our central location. We are looking forward to welcome you abck to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was my third trip to London, and we had decided on a short stay only. Got an excellent deal through booking online. Room was small but well appointed and quiet. Staff on the front desk were very helpful and tolerant of our jet lagged very early questions. Many good places to eat around here, and laundrette in the next street across Queen's Square was easy to use and friendly.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room ask for one, but don't expect to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in London. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time with us and were happy with the services provided. We hope to welcome you back for your next short trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very well located (off Oxford Street), north of Covent Garden (10min walk) and buses direct to Picadilly. Also close to St Pancras (10min by bus).

Nice staff, professional, with some gifts like chocolates brough to your room every evening!

The rooms are quiet, extra high rise bed for an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent overnight experience with us. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including all serives provided and the central location. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

WE visited the Mercure Bloomsbury on a Sunday for Afternoon Tea. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to a nice booth style table. The staff were very attentive and the service was excellent. The actual tea was delicious and well presented. Only x 1 observation as that the pancake served with the scones at the end was a little out of place maybe an additional scone might have been better? Overall an excellent experience and with an Amazon voucher very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the offer and the service provided by our staff. Your feedback is important to us and we will take it into account when reviewing our offer. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#292 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#419 of 1,068 in London
1,023 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#88 of 1,068 in London
350 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing