We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only ten min walk to Holborn tube station but room size of broom cupboard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #360 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Only ten min walk to Holborn tube station but room size of broom cupboard”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for two nights. We got the tiniest room I have ever been in. When I asked at reception whether they can give us another room a member of staff said she can’t since all rooms are the same size.

When I checked-out and raised this issue again, a different member of staff at reception said I should have said something on arrival since all rooms are different in size and they would have been able to allocate us to another room. This is no appropriate behavior at all.

Location is great though. Few minutes by taxi to St Pancras Station and approx ten min walk to Holborn tube station.

Room Tip: Room 115 is the size of a broom cupboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We were disappointed to hear that you have not been satisfied with the room allocated for you. In fact all the bedrooms in the hotel are in different shapes and their are slight differences in the size which is due to the construction of the Victorian Building we are situated in. Please be assured that we have already addressed your comment with the relevant parties and we sincerely apologies for the inconvinience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back some time in the future for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    958
    284
    85
    52
See reviews for
357
769
220
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and if we were to travel to London again this would be our Hotel of choice. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff ensured a wonderful and comfortable stay. The Hotel is in a fantastic location close to Russell Square, cafes, pubs, shops and a short walk to the West End Theatre district. Public Transport is available nearby as is the London Hop on Hop Off buses for tourists who are visiting London. The hotel is modern in design, the rooms are good in size with great amenities and hotel cleanliness and service is excellent. We had an excellent stay at the Mercure Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyCessnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with all aspects of your visit and had an enjoyable time at the hotel. We are already looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just had a lovely girlie weekend at the Mercure and was pleasantly surprised at the spacious triple room we were given.
The beds were a little on the soft side for my liking and we were on the main road side of the hotel so it was very noisy at night.
The room was very comfortable though.
The buffet breakfast was very good with an excellent selection and was lovely and hot.
The bar was very homely and Christmassy too.
I would definitely stay here again but would maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as it's much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and are hoping to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was small but well stocked and had everything I needed for a short overnight stay in London for a good price. It is also in a great location with good connections.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and are hoping to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Overall, it was a very nice experience: the location of the hotel is very good - walking distance to ST Pancras station, Oxford street, Soho and Picadilly; the staff is really kind and responsive, the rooms are clean; the wi-fi is ok, the heating works very well and the breakfast is good (not amazing but good).
The downsides:
- when we arrived, we were given room 408 which was extremely small (actually it's the smallest hotel room I have ever seen) and the door margins had paper on as apparently they had just done some painting; I was not happy at all but after complaining about it, we were given another room - 206 which was big and very beautiful.
- we had to change the access cards twice in 3 days; apparently they are really sensitive
There might also be an issue for those who need silence at night as the rooms facing the boulevard are a little bit noisy but that was not an issue for me. Also, there were some works going on in the hotel next to Mercure so if you want to have a nap during the day, this might also prove difficult.
But, after changing the new room everything was fine!

Room Tip: 206 was very good! avoid 408, it is extremely small and actually I just noticed they do not indicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that not all aspects of your stay were to your full satisfaction but we are glad that our team was able to rectify the issue by moving you to a different room. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here due to my usual hotel being booked up, and a very glad i did.

Upon arrival they took my luggage up to my room as i was running late for a meeting. I stayed in room 706 which was a circular room with very comfy bed, good working desk space, decent bath and shower and plenty of room.

For breakfast i ordered room service and had the Eggs Benedict which was one of the best i have had, arrived in the room hot and within 10 minutes.

To top it all off they also had a nespresso machine so i could drink decent coffee :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our staff and the efficient services provided by them. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your nect trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is very well located just down from Russell Square. It is an easy walk to 2 or 3 tube stations and there are plenty of restaurants in the nearby streets and in the Brunswick Centre which is less than 5 minutes walk. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly and my room had all that you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our service and especially our central location. We are looking forward to welcome you abck to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing