We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #393 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the mercury for 1 night and found it very clean, modern with very good service.
The rooms aren't the biggest we have stayed in but it was adequate enough.
The location is excellent, within walking distance of Covent garden and close to a couple of tube stops and Euston station.
I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mike-cheshire-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time toreview your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay and particullary enjoyed our central London location. Our staff is always glad to assist with any requests and we hope to welcome you back for your next visit to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed just for one night - and have already booked for another night in a couple of months time. On a solo business trip and this is a perfect location. Single rooms are small but have everything you need including free Wi-Fi - and I knew that before from reading previous tripadvisor reviews - so no surprizes and couldn't have asked for more. The staff are so welcoming on arrival - make you feel really important. Eat in house or every possible restaurant on the doorstep. There was a bit of interference on tv main channels - don't know if this was a one off. Warm, clean and very pleasant!

Room Tip: Probably higher up the better if you want to open a window as quite a noisy area - but with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoOfAKindEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that had a comfortable time with us and had a warm and pleasant feeling from your arrival throughout to your departure. Please accept our apologies about the TV channel situation which is caused by the high speed of wind which is currently occuring in England and influences the hotels aerial. We are already looking forward to welcome you back for your next stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

No major problems, rooms are clean, bathrooms remodelled. Breakfast was poor, just beans, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc. Reception stuff not very helpful. My phone charger broke and both of my phones went off on Sunday night and I asked whether they have any standard micro-USB charger for an hour or so.They said "we can't help you". Expected at least some movement there, nothing. Practical note, limo driver could't pull over at the door, I had to cross the street with the luggage. I guess, that's a more general thing in London. Oh, and they open windows when the curtains are closed. There's a chance you notice it the next day. I did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were surprised to read about your breakfast experience as we are offering on a daily basis a full breakfast buffet which includes a wide range of cheeses, yoghurts, meat, fish, pastries, fruits and a lot more continental items. Further we offer a full English breakfast buffet and in addition to this the Mercure a la carte breakfast menu to order for example egg dishes such as eggs benedict or eggs florentine on request.
Our staff is always happy to assist and I apologise that we have not been able to as we are not keeping a range of phone chargers. I am sure we would have been able to point you in the right direction in order to purchase one.
As our hotel is situated in the heart of Bloomsbury in Central London on a main road with a public bus stop right in front it is not possible for cars to stop there. All ordered taxis are stopping as close as possible to the front door and I have already addressed the fact that the driver did not offer you to help you with the luggage.
Please once again accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to welcome you back for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely hotel, great location within a 10-minute walk from London's Euston Train Station, comfy well-appointed rooms. Biggest plus-point was the staff - really nice and helpful. Nothing we asked was too much trouble. Recommend highly !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you could take advantage of our central London location and appreciate the recognition of our helpful staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. Double room was fairly small but had everything we needed. Nice little touches such as offering a voucher for a free drink in the bar, putting mineral water and chocolates in the room. Only a few minor niggles. For us the room was too hot and we were unable to adjust the heating, so the second night we had to use the air con. The bathroom was also quite cramped, especially where the toilet was located. On the plus side the shower was very good. Reception were staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was quite good - within walking distance of the West End and Covent Garden and also several tube stations nearby. Overall a good stay and probably would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you had not been able to adjust the temperature of your room to your preference. Our maintenance team has checked the radiation system in the rooms to avoid occurrence in the future. It is a pleasure to hear that you had enjoyable stay and appreciate your nice comment about our helpful and friendly staff. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Yes the staff are helpful and friendly. I had a single room which was very small. The bed could only be accessed on one side and the bathroom was really very very small. I imagine that the double rooms are more spacious. Although the room was small it did contain everything needed and expected. The television struggled with some channels but most were fine. A definite plus for this hotel is that the wifi is free and worked quickly. The lift was still broken but I saw men working on it. The hotel is in a good location and if you feel like a walk then covent garden and Leicester square all within walking reach.

Room Tip: I had a single room, very small bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle-Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experiences with us. We were disappointed to hear that you have not been satisfied with the room which was allocated for your stay but appreciate that we were still able to provide you with everything that you needed during your time with us. Your feedback is important to us and we are glad that you could take advantage of our central London location. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mrbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,087 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#359 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £96 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing