We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #393 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Ive stayed here a few times whilst on business and wasn't impressed the last time however I have to say that the improvements are very noticeable. I received a good sized room with all the comforts required. The hotel offers free wifi throughout which is excellent - a must these days.

I had dinner in the restaurant which was quick, tasty and efficient.

The bed was very comfortable and I had a good sleep without disruption

Breakfast was again very good.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and if I receive the same standard in the future I will stay again

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your latest experience with us. We are delighted to hear that we were able to improve the image you had from your last stay and everything was to your satisfaction on this occassion. We ceratinly hope to welcome you for your next business trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Mercure for a couple of nights.
The staff were very helpful especially when we requested a late check out.
The superior room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent and good value at £12.
The location is brilliant. We walked to the hotel from Kings X. Then down to Covent Garden, British Museum and also convenient for Regents Park.
We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlilly_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a satisfying stay and could take advantage of our central London location. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we are looking forward to welcome you back some time in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Last minute booking due to an event in London. Really happy with the room size, a perfect night's sleep, and we were able to enjoy a drink at the bar in spite of out late arrival back at the hotel. Breakfast was superb, the choice is fabulous. Front Office staff were helpful, I had left my phone charger behind, but was lent a spare. The whole hotel is spotless and doesn't feel is impersonal as some of the large chain hotels in London.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have a view, but rooms at the back are quieter if you are a light sleeper or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkippyKangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write again such a lovely review about your recent experiences with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you have been very satisfied with all the services provided at the hotel including the bar and our front office team. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and felt that we are providing a service with the personal touch. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your next visit in London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent service especially from the receptionist who hailed a cab for us in the pouring rain. Room and hotel in general very clean and warm. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was extremely quite.
Being able to store our luggage until we were ready to go home was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was 102 and faced the back so it was a little dark but it was extremely quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have been extremly satisfied with the service provided to you and that you had a comfortable night sleep. We are hoping to welcome you back in the future to the hotel.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the mercury for 1 night and found it very clean, modern with very good service.
The rooms aren't the biggest we have stayed in but it was adequate enough.
The location is excellent, within walking distance of Covent garden and close to a couple of tube stops and Euston station.
I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mike-cheshire-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time toreview your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay and particullary enjoyed our central London location. Our staff is always glad to assist with any requests and we hope to welcome you back for your next visit to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed just for one night - and have already booked for another night in a couple of months time. On a solo business trip and this is a perfect location. Single rooms are small but have everything you need including free Wi-Fi - and I knew that before from reading previous tripadvisor reviews - so no surprizes and couldn't have asked for more. The staff are so welcoming on arrival - make you feel really important. Eat in house or every possible restaurant on the doorstep. There was a bit of interference on tv main channels - don't know if this was a one off. Warm, clean and very pleasant!

Room Tip: Probably higher up the better if you want to open a window as quite a noisy area - but with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoOfAKindEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that had a comfortable time with us and had a warm and pleasant feeling from your arrival throughout to your departure. Please accept our apologies about the TV channel situation which is caused by the high speed of wind which is currently occuring in England and influences the hotels aerial. We are already looking forward to welcome you back for your next stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

No major problems, rooms are clean, bathrooms remodelled. Breakfast was poor, just beans, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc. Reception stuff not very helpful. My phone charger broke and both of my phones went off on Sunday night and I asked whether they have any standard micro-USB charger for an hour or so.They said "we can't help you". Expected at least some movement there, nothing. Practical note, limo driver could't pull over at the door, I had to cross the street with the luggage. I guess, that's a more general thing in London. Oh, and they open windows when the curtains are closed. There's a chance you notice it the next day. I did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were surprised to read about your breakfast experience as we are offering on a daily basis a full breakfast buffet which includes a wide range of cheeses, yoghurts, meat, fish, pastries, fruits and a lot more continental items. Further we offer a full English breakfast buffet and in addition to this the Mercure a la carte breakfast menu to order for example egg dishes such as eggs benedict or eggs florentine on request.
Our staff is always happy to assist and I apologise that we have not been able to as we are not keeping a range of phone chargers. I am sure we would have been able to point you in the right direction in order to purchase one.
As our hotel is situated in the heart of Bloomsbury in Central London on a main road with a public bus stop right in front it is not possible for cars to stop there. All ordered taxis are stopping as close as possible to the front door and I have already addressed the fact that the driver did not offer you to help you with the luggage.
Please once again accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to welcome you back for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,087 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#359 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £96 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing