We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, new hotel, fair rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #337 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location, new hotel, fair rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had trouble finding a hotel with three individual beds. Finally, we found it in a great area, some minutes walking from the British Museum. The hotel was new and very nice. The value for money is very correct.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comment about your recent stay with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with the requested room requierements in this central London location and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    922
    266
    81
    49
See reviews for
341
740
210
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is under renovation, we look forward to visiting it again when works will be finished. The rooms are clean but a little bit old. The breakfast is good. The staff is very professional and very kind, especially the one of the night turn: we had a small problem in our bedroom when we came back late in the evening, and immediately we could change it for a better room. On the contrary, the Asian lady who was at the reception in the morning has been a little bit rude.
The best quality of this hotel is its very good location: very central and very well connected with public transports.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
The hotel has been completely refurbished 4 years ago and we are in the constant process of maintining the bed rooms and public areas. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend break in London.
Reception staff were efficient. We were allocated Room 201 at the side and back of the building.
On entering the first impression was how small the room actually was. This must be one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in!! It looked brand new. Set up for a disabled person with a massive wet room/bathroom which almost matched the size of the twin bedded room. Wardrobe, very small desk/dressing table, flat screen tv, coffee/tea making facilities hidden away in the corner behind the armchair which just fitted in the space at the bottom of one of the beds. No drawer space. Very comfortable twin beds.
The bathroom as stated earlier was a wet room with a very good shower, large wc and a small vanity wash basin.
After unpacking I tried the tv which did not work. Contacted Reception who came immediately and fixed the tv by messing about with the wires and plug behind the set.
It was impossible to get hot water through the wash basin tap. One lever which increased the temp. by moving it from left to right. The problem was that the pressure of water, the small basin was unable to handle the amount of water before the handle got to the hot position!!
This was brought to the attention of Reception the next morning who offered to try and find a better room for us which we declined on the basis that we had already unpacked and didn't want the inconvenience as we only had two more nights accommodation. Nothing had been done to fix it prior to our departure. There was also a safety issue when I noticed a small plug type device which was hanging out of the wall with exposed wiring!! This was also brought to the attention of Reception staff.
The room fittings looked brand new. The room was clean.
Good location. 15/20 mins. walk from Kings Cross. 8/10 mins. walk to the British Museum.
The room was quite noisy. Although fitted with double glazed windows, directly outside the room was a bank of Air conditioning units which were working all the time.
If the issues are corrected and although the room was very small I would consider staying again in a different room obviously.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger than average room. Stay away from room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My Mom and I stayed here for 2 nights on 20th Feb. It was about a 15-20 minute walk from Euston Station. When we arrived we had a very warm welcome by the friendly staff. On check-in they also gave us a 'welcome drink' which we thought was great. We could choose from any wine/beers/ coffee/ soft drinks. We had to wait about 5-10 minutes for our room as it wasnt quite ready but not really a problem. Our room was very clean quite, small but the beds were so comfy had 2 great nights sleep! Nice sized bathroom with a powerful shower. We ate in the hotel on the friday night.The food was gorgeous lots to choose from on the menu.

I would recomend this hotel and will be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal21T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your lovely reviw about your recent visit to the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and found the choice and quality of our brasserie food gorgeous. We are delighted to hear that you and your mother had a comfortable stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

A slightly innocuous looking hotel, centrally situated and handy for Covent Garden, the British Museum etc. There was a smiling welcome and prompt check in with obliging staff. There seemed to be only one lift for the seven story building but we didn't suffer any delays waiting.

Our room on the 5th floor was err.... compact and the en suite even more compact but it served the purpose. It was clean and everything worked. The bar on the ground floor was sparsely furnished and the bar manager apologised for only being able to serve pre-mix cans of cocktails. A "Sex between the sheets" is not so sexy when its poured out of a can.

The dining room experience was pretty good, we were in a hurry for a theatre date and there was no time for a dessert. Drinks on the pricy side.

Many of the staff are French and they have high standards. All in all a satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front might suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmperorJustinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of the room. Due to the construction of the Victorian building we are situated in every room has a different size and shape which in general is highly appreciated by our guests as it brings the individual touch to every room. In our bar we want to offer a consistent quality of drinks and service. We appreciate your feed and will take your comments into concideration. We hope to welcome you back for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel with my twin daughters and their friend. Rooms were immaculate and very clean. We put out the 'Do not disturb' signs and no one tried to enter to clean whilst we were in the rooms.

A little noisy at the front but this is London and didn't stop me falling asleep or wake me in the mornings.

It was my daughters birthday and I had noted this when I booked it. The staff were brilliant, they left a card in their room and after dinner in the bar they gave them a cake with sparklers that kept relighting. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the noise ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our team was able to make your daughter's birthday an enjoyable one and appreciate your lovely comment about our staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is walking distance from Kings Cross, Covent Garden and many more areas. The hotel was very clean and staff very polite and friendly. I had a room on the 7th floor at the back so not much noise at all. Thr bed was the most comfortable bed ever!! The room size was ok but the way the tv and mirror were placed was quite strange,(on a slant due to the design of the building). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you liked our beds and had a comfortable sleep. We are proud to deliver a helpful and polite service to all our guests and hope to welcome you back for your next visit to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#290 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing