We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location close to Soho”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #350 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great location close to Soho”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Nice and tidy hotel with helpfull staff. I was happy with the small and clean room which we got. The views where to the back side of the hotel. Only noise came from the corridor because the room door was quite simply thin with large cap underneath although I had no problem sleeping here. The room was perfect for our stay. Nice suprise was the free WIFI with 2Gbit limit which worked well. I will definately come here again. The best part is the short walk away you have the best of Soho. Nice restaurants, theaters and pubs.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with the windows looking at the back of the hotel. This way you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laukkhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experiences with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay and specifically could take advantage of our central London location.

Your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you abck for your next trip to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    952
    283
    82
    51
See reviews for
355
764
219
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in London so we didn't spend that much time in the hotel other than to shower, sleep & breakfast but the times spent there were very pleasant.

Check-in was speedy with very attentive & helpful reception staff and we were able to check in slightly early at no extra cost. Our room (711) was on the top floor as requested but sadly not a street view as requested. The room itself was clean and comfortable but smaller than expected, however it was still well equipped (t/c & kettle, TV, safe, iron & board, desk and had additional pillows in the wardrobe), the bathroom was very nice and had a brilliant powerful shower. The toilet was in an awkward position but not a major issue.

Neither of us are really breakfast people but we were both very pleased with the quality and choice of food available. A good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries & cooked breakfast. The staff were fast and friendly (although the waiter failed to chuckle at my joke when asking me if we'd like white or brown toast and I said all toast is brown, you're thinking of bread).

Our train home wasn't until 8pm but check out was 11am. This wasn't a problem as the hotel was happy to hold our luggage for free of charge.
The location of the hotel was next to perfect: nice and quiet, a handful of shops & restaurants on the same street, less than a five minute walk to Russell Square tube station, less than ten to Holborn tube station (central line) and less than a fifteen minute walk to the West End.

Would recommend to friend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time and were satisfied with all services provided by our friendly staff.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you abck for your next visit to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a fine hotel. It is in a very nice location. It is central but the neighborhood isn't excessively touristy. It is near some very fine and reasonably priced restaurants. It is near at least two laundromats, which is important if you are traveling for more than a few days. The room is small (it's London--all of the rooms are small!) but is very well laid out. The hotel is quiet. The staff were quite friendly. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient.

Two minuses. First, the wireless was slow and not terribly reliable. Second, the room I had was very dark. It was in the back facing the next building. That made the already small room seem a little smaller. I suppose it was one of the reasons why the room was so quiet--a room facing the street would've been lighter but louder.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarriesDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and felt welcomed by our staff. Thank you for pointing out the slow connectivity of the wifi which already has been rectified by our Maintenance Team.

Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you abck to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March for a business trip. Overall was very disappointed. This is not a cheap hotel so would expect a decent level of service.

Reception was chaotic, restaurant service slow, food ordinary and the bathroom so badly laid out that you couldn't really use the toilet unless you were an acrobat.

There's a Holiday inn nearby...save your money and stay there!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadie415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.

We were very disappointed to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay and would kindly ask you to contact me directly on j.blasse@mercurebloomsbury.com to discuss the matter in detail.

Kindest regards
Jessica Blasse
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my mother for a weekend of shopping/theatre.
Room was great, spotless and good size for London. When we arrived it turned out we'd booked a room with just a shower (our mistake) but staff allowed us to switch to a room with a bath when we asked. The service was brilliant, as was the breakfast, and good value too. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kathy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your mother and you had a very enjoyable time and could specifically use our location for the purpose of your stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your next shopping trip to London.

Your Team at Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed two nights here during a vacation to the UK. The rooms are clean, although a bit small. The staff is very friendly. The prices are reasonable. The location is excellent. We easily walked to the British Museum, the London Eye, and Westminster Abbey. There are numerous restaurants nearby, as is the London Underground. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and could take advantage of our central London location.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very central location, you can walk from Euston or get ai or a bus. No distance to British Museum. Buses to everywhere. The Reception staff are exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed our room very much and are grateful to the reception team for assisting in this. The hotel is a jewel in the Accor selection.

Room Tip: It is not always possible to be satisfied with every room in a hotel but if you discuss what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear your high praising of our friendly reception team and that you had a comfortable time at the hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip in London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#281 of 1,068 in London
798 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,068 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing