We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #344 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location and helpful staff.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a comfortable, well located hotel . Whilst the rooms are a bit compact this is more than compensated by the great location, helpful staff, nice atmosphere and good breakfasts. Bloomsbury is a great location from which to explore London on foot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay at the hotel and are glad to hear that you had a satisfying time with us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    947
    276
    82
    51
See reviews for
353
759
216
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Normally a three night stay here would cost in excess of £600 even with an advance booking, so having found three nights on offer through Accor's 'Happy Mondays' deal for a total of £180 I couldn't resist it. As other reviewers have said, the rooms can be quite small, and the first room I was given was small, inward facing with frosted glass and very little light. It was at least quiet, but on the third night I was able to move to a room facing the side street, which was a little bigger and had more natural light (although tall buildings just across the narrow street are not the best view of London that you can have). It was still nice and quiet, and the furnishings smart and comfortable, and fully functioning a/c which didn't make much noise (although in the first room there were some strange clicking noises from time to time). Reasonable sized bathroom with good in-bath shower. Hotel guests not on a breakfast inclusive rate are charged £10 for breakfast, which includes hot and cold buffet items, but beware if you want to order smoked haddock or kipper from the menu as this Mercure (unlike others I have stayed at who have the same menu) wants to charge an extra £6.95 for them! Considering the normal price of a room here (well over £200 a night) this seems a bit mean. Excellent location, close to Russell Square station (Piccadilly line) and around 10 minutes walk from Euston. Rooms at the front of the hotel could be a bit noisy as the main road outside is very busy. The staff were generally friendly and helpful but speak slowly and clearly as for many of them English is clearly not their first language!

The rating I have given for 'value' is based on normal published rates (from £225 a night upwards, excluding breakfast) - if you can get the £60 a night Happy Mondays deal then it is excellent!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor overlooking the side street should be quiet and has more natural light than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had overall a satifying stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvinience caused during the breakfast. Your feedback is important to us and we will take your comments on board when reviewing the menu and procedures.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very frendly and helpful staff. Great location for sightseing. A bit small room honestly, but all other thnigs including breakfast and internet connection were great. However we didn't need any more room for just sleeping so overal it was great pace to stay while on vacation. Rooms are clean and tidy.
Our fligth home wasn't until 5pm but check out was 11am. This wasn't a problem as the hotel was happy to hold our luggage for free of charge.
It was pleasure to stay at the hotel. I would use it again if I have to stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berberska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate all services provided.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

For our second stay in London within a short period of time we selected Mercure Bloomsbury as our hotel. We had previously enjoyed another hotel in the area but decided to upgrade our experience a little bit.

As a four star hotel Mercure Bloomsbury most certainly lives up to the standard. Of course this is expected, but it just felt like great service, a great attitude and just being nice actually came naturally to the staff at the hotel.

The room size in London is always something completely different from other cities. Our room during this stay was not any different. So it was actually as expeted sizewise. But the bed....! Man, I have never slept so well away from home. Ever. It was a pleasure to be able to go out for shopping, dining and everything else after a good night's sleep.
We had three great nights in this great hotel.

The only thing missing is a better breakfast buffet. But there are so many other options in the city so breakfast is really not that important to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a very comfortable night sleep and appreciate your feedback about our staff and your breakfast experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stay at Accor a lot and have been using Mercure hotels on our trip. I booked a Privilege Room and we were not disappointed.
We arrived late and the staff at reception were very welcoming to us, check in was very speedy. A welcome gift in our room was a very nice touch. Thank You!
The room was a good size and very modern. The breakfast was great value and the morning staff were as good as the evening staff. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review about your first stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.

Yoru Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. I would be lying if I were to say that everything in the hotel was perfect; however what does impress me is the way in which the management address any problems promptly.
The rooms vary in size, because this is an old building that has been adapted for modern standards. However all of them have wardrobes - which is unusual in many of its peers.
The beds are comfortable and rooms have kettles, ironing boards and safes so are well provided for. Most bathrooms now have showers only ratehr than baths - and the supply of hot water is excellent.
The internet connection can be a little poor - and on at least three occasions my kindle has actually connected to the internet for the thistle hotel next door as this was stronger! However you usually can get a connection after some trying.
The breakfast buffet is similar to that in other mercure hotels - very good quality and comprising a mixture of fruit, yoghurt, cereals and the full English breakfast. If you book online you can often get very good value deals for the breakfasts.
The bar is very pleasant however this is the area where the service does seem to be most variable. I stayed in this hotel twice in the last week or so. On the first occasion the service was excellent and on the second it was fair - however a visit a few months ago I did have to wait 15 minutes for the waiter to bring the drinks over only to then be told that there were no brandies/cognacs in stock at all. When I raised a complaint with the management following departure, the situation was remedied and in fact on my next visit there was a reasonable choice of brandies on display.
The location of the hotel is good for the west end (I tend to stay here if I am going to the theatre) and, if you do not want to eat in the hotel restaurant, it is well placed for an array fo restaurants nearby.
Overall this is a very good standard central hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your stays with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the services we are providing. Your feedback is very important to us and we will address your comments witht he concerned staff.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stay with Accor all the time but usually stay with their Novotel brand. I found this hotel and was pleasantly surprised with the quality. Very nice rooms, small but nice and I loved my little gift on arrival. Staff were very nice, in particular the reception team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your first stay with us.

It was a pleasure to hear that you have been satisfied with all aspects of your stay and appreciate our helpful and friendly staff.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,022 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing