We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #335 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Clean and well maintained hotel but it has been refurbished recently.
No problems with check in.
Fridge in room which I thought was a good idea especially. I had been upgraded though so I am not sure if this would be available in standard rooms.
Check out was not so good . When I checked my bill when I got back I had been given some else's even though I had paid the correct one. When I tried to sort this out on phone i had to call a couple of numbers as they could not transfer and in one conversation I was called love and darling which is not very customer focused. Issue was sorted though.
Breakfast good but no one came to offer me coffee or toast for the whole time I was in the restaurant.

Room Tip: See if you can get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19ilovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We were disappointed to hear that you encountered an issue with your receipt and we would like to apologies. After speaking with my Front Office team, it was confirmed to me that we were able to provide you with the correct receipt by email.

We appreciate your comments about the service and will review it with the concerned parties.

Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to welcome you back for a genuine hassle-free stay.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    940
    270
    82
    49
See reviews for
347
751
214
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked this as a 'mystery hotel' and got a good price. It is centrally located close to Russell Square tube and an easy walk from Euston or St Pancras, it's a good mid-range city hotel. My room was a single and fairly compact with a window overlooking a courtyard, which meant it was quiet. It was a hot day but the fan worked well. The bathroom was modern and well -equipped with a large shower. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room as well as a complimentary bottle of water. No nespresso machine though which others had - just the usual kettle and sachets of tea and coffee.

I had breakfast and it was reasonable - a buffet of hot and cold food with a good range. Recommended if you can get a room for a good price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time share your experience of your first stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you felt comfortable at th hotel and had an enjoyable time in London.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hard to find a decently priced hotel in central London that is of a decent quality but am glad I managed to stumble upon this gem that does as it says on the tin. Stayed here at the start of July and paid GBP130 ish pounds per night for a double room with no breakfast. Our room was small with no view (was not fussed about having a view) but had enough room for suitcases on the floor and it was nice and clean. The only painpoint was the fact that the doors or walls seemed to be very thin and each morning we were woken up the constant slamming of bedroom doors. Tea/coffee making facilities are provided and there was even a choice of hot chocolate and some Walkers shortbread! The hotel is a GBP12-15 taxi ride from Paddington station if you are taking the Heathrow Express into town.

Not much around the area as it's dominated by the university and other language centres. Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants around though and the hotel is less than a 10 min walk to Russell Sq tube station and perhaps a little further for Holborn.

Luggage storing facilities are free (have never actually stayed anywhere where this service is charged!) and the concierge was very friendly.

Overall a great stay and will definetly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bundleorbindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and you had an enjoyable time at the hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in June as part of our honeymoon, the staff where so helpful and professional. When we got too our room they had left us a little gift and welcome note on our bed , our room was lovely and quite and I loved the nespresso machine what a treat !!! The room was cleaned daily , although a little snug but had everything we needed, thanks for a great stay !!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niamh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that we were able to make the part of your Honeymoon trip in London a special one and hope to welcome you back for your next visit.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

stayed here with 2 friends for a girly weekend in London. From the minute we arrived in reception we were greeted in by wonderful friendly staff. our check in was quick and painless. our triple room was wonderful, normally when you ask for a 3rd person in the room it is normally a put up bed and I normally have to ask for extra cup, towels and refreshments. But not here it was a proper triple room and 3 of everything. room was big, clean and lovely. there was a fridge in room and a safe, iron and ironing board. Maid came around early evening with dressing gowns and slippers for all of us and when we returned our beds had been turned down and chocolates put on our pillows. fresh bottled water was supplied daily. Hotel has lovely decor throughout and breakfast was excellent. Hotel is in perfect location walking distance of convert garden and 5 mins stroll to 2 tube stations. would defiantly return again. great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had such a pleasant time at the hotel and we were able to assist making it an overall enjoyable stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First impression was good. I know the area well and it is ideal for a central london stay. Reception staff were friendly and informative. The room was okay for the £75 i paid. This was one of the smaller rooms I have had in town, although it was well maintained. The dreaded twin beds did nothing to make this a romantic trip, But the room air con and mini fridge was appreciated. Overall if you can get a deal well worth it for the location and decor of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and could take advantage of our central London location.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#425 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#486 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing