We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for several days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #358 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for several days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel, which had an excellent internet rate. The twin bed room accommodated 2 people; the small kitchen was much appreciated; there was complimentary coffee and tea downstairs; the staff was friendly and helpful. Tube stop is nearby as are convenient buses. I found the bathroom ample, with shelves for toiletries; closet held both hanging and stacked items. We'd requested the street side so we had sunlight (when it was out).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, with sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoHjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Citadines Prestige Holborn and for taking the time to post your review about your stay and for your recommendation.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    523
    194
    62
    47
See reviews for
336
360
71
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. From the minute you walk in to be greeted by friendly and professional staff to the minute you leave you feel that this is the only place you want to stay when visiting the capital. The location is brilliant and the rooms are ideal as they are comfortable and good value for money. I doubt if we would stay anywhere else from now on.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.. The location is key and the room is all you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location is excellent, just a stone's throw away from Holborn station and within walking distance to major landmarks or districts. I liked that it's also nested in a cozy neighborhood with supermarkets, banks and other amenities.

Service was okay, generally friendly but not warm. I was more disappointed by the size of the room! I stayed in a studio suite and it felt tiny to me though I guess this is London. The corridors felt very narrow though. Their toilet bowl was also not very well designed...the handle for some reason is close to the lid, and you can't flush properly without having to slam the lid shut. I also agree that there was a distinct (stuffy) scent that I picked up along the corridor and in my room as well.

Would have appreciated bottled water to be provided as well. Furnishing was dated and if given a modern update and smarter layout, perhaps even the smaller rooms would feel more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekylops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry for your overall disappointment. I have taken note of your comments and I will certainly be following up with my Head of Maintenance regarding the toilet bowl.
Most of our rooms are of a good size for 4 star London standards but we also have Studio clubs and 1 bedroom apartments that are more spacious than the standard rooms.
If you do wish to return, please contact me directly so I can personally ensure your reservation is taken care of.
With warmest wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel's location made it easily accessible to most of the sights and landmarks. The staff were generally pleasant after a few days, but the arrival experience at night was not terribly warm or welcoming.

The breakfast room team was efficient and friendly, but as guests, I felt we had to reach out to most of the staff throughout the property with a greeting first.
Even though it's a serviced apartment, it would have been good if they were able to sell stamps for postcards.

One has to exercise caution in the bathroom, which needs to have a safety rail installed near the bathtub. It can prove to be dangerous if one is not careful enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback.
I am that overall you have enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comments and I will certainly be following up with my Head of Maintenance regarding the bathroom.
I will also share your cmpliments with the breakfast attendants.
If you do wish to return, please contact me directly so I can personally ensure your reservation is taken care of.
With warmest wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We came across this property on TripAdvisor and by all accounts, it lived up to expectations.

Pros: Great location, Walkable to tube stop (Holborn) and Covent Garden and Oxford Circus, Local food stores nearby for things you might need, as well as coffee shops, eateries and other restaurants. Complimentary coffee and tea and lobby was a nice touch; no additional fee to use the gym (not heated! freezing in there) was also very much appreciated. The room was clean overall and the fridge and teapot were put to good use. Friendly service at front desk.

Cons: The room was very tight and crowded. We had no room for our large suitcases and the main hall closet barely fit our two winter coats. It's a small place, and the photos posted don't give an accurate portrayal of just how tight the space is. The bedroom fit the bed; no room for any bags so we placed them in the corner of the living room. The toilet was in its own room...it's more like a toilet closet and not very well lit. The actual bathroom was (again) small...no room on vanity to place kit bag with toiletries...had to hang them from door.But floors were heated (bonus in winter) and heated towel rack is nice to have for towels and hang-drying clothes. Wall-mounted TVs in living room and bedroom could have been a bit bigger...add to wish list.

BIG ANNOYANCE: people would let their doors slam shut upon entering and leaving rooms and the slamming would reverberate throughout the entire floor, making entire bed/room shake. It was very annoying and disruptive for those of us who weren't getting up and out early. Management might want to try and install soft-close door system.

The Skinny: Stay here for the location, don't bring lots of stuff, and request a higher floor to avoid noise from street below. Hope your neighbors are courteous enough to gently close their doors when they are coming and going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on a higher floor to avoid noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very dated. Not very clean. Hallway smelled. Hot water was iffy. Not very competitive as it did not have a convection over nor washer/dryer in the room. Not even a clock. The nice things were location, fitness area, elevator and lobby. The actual room for what I paid was not a good value.

Room Tip: Don't know what to say but if you are looking for a good location this is good. But I would try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needyouradvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had with us. We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. I am truly sorry you did not find our rooms confortable or to the standards you expected.
Once again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and I hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I am very disappointed with the rooms. First, the fridge was broken. Then,the bulb fused. The toilet does not supply any combs or toothbrushes and the water would turn from warm to cold. The green sofa feels very itchy and the television took a long time to switch on.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with Citadines Prestige Holborn and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. I have noted your comments regarding the fridge and the lights and as we are keen to make improvements to enhance our residents’ overall stay at our properties, I have shared your feedback with the Maintenance Manager.
Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Yours sincerely
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#451 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Property: Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
#258 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing