We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fabulous stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #359 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
mansfield
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay !!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here on NYE 2013 again having previously stayed on NYE 2012. Fabulous hotel, lovely clean apartments, including kitchenette. Cannot fault this hotel at all and would definitely stay again. Great location just 100 yards from Holborn underground.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Given that you have travelled quite a bit your review holds a lot of weight.Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.
Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines prestige Holborn, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.
Yours sincerely
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    535
    199
    64
    48
See reviews for
342
368
72
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel provided a great stay for New Years Eve for my boyfriend and I. I booked 2 months in advance to avoid disappointment and the hotel was great.
Location is ideal walking distance to watch the fireworks for New Years and we also walked to The Real Greek for dinner. The hotel is spotlessly clean, modern, comfortable and the Kitchen has all the necessary equipment if you wanted to cook- however there were no glasses in our room- so we popped to Waitrose across the road to get some plastic champagne flutes!
The breakfast was complimentary with our room and we were pleasantly surprised. Such choice. Lots of bread, waffle maker, cheeses, meats, fruit, cereal, juices, complimentary tea and coffee and the most helpful waitress.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Jess-F-1993-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
dera Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Citadines Prestige Holborn and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I will pass on your comments to our breakfast attendant. For your next visit consider booking through our own website where you will find the best deals including complimentary internet.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for work for a couple of nights. v. Small room, funky decor with kitchenette, my room was at the back so overlooked by offices, so curtains needed to be drawn when getting changed. Didn't fancy breakfast offering but no trouble to nip over the road to various outlets and bringing back bacon buttie - love it when you can make a decent cuppa when away from home. Room service was a bit intrusive, insisted she came in when I was obviously getting changed, learnt the next day to doublelock the door at the appointed time ! OK place to stay centrally, and would stay here for personal trip, if I could get a good deal .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TynesideHogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your generous feed back. I agree that our location is fantastic to explore London but I am delighted that you have also recognised the efforts that my team makes to deliver the best possible service.
I have noted your comments regarding the WIFI and I have escalated the issue to my IT department.
In the meantime if there is anything else I can assist you with do not hesitate to conatct us directly.

Kind regards

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My mother and I arrived on Christmas morning after an overnight transatlantic flight. The staff were lovely and the room was great. The kitchenette totally sufficient for our needs and the beds were nice and comfortable.

The first room we were in, the toilet was leaking all over the floor. After a much-needed nap, we called down and let them know. They moved us right away. The next room was just fine. I'd imagine it's a challenge to keep all the appliances and such working for the whole hotel when every room has a kitchen of some kind.

Holborn is a great spot to explore London from. It's quiet at night, but close enough to the action that you can get there with a short walk. Covent Garden, Oxford and Carnaby Street and the Strand are all an easy walk away.

The only reason this isn't a five star: the WiFi. You need a separate code for each device and need a new code every day. It was a pain to have to request a new one. Our primary means of trip planning and contacting home was the internet, so having WiFi was important. I'd suggest the management figure out a way to let guests stay on the WiFi for the duration of their stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely sorry for a couple of frustrations you experienced during your stay but so delighted you enjoyed your overall visit. I am sure you will love the enhancements we are in the process of making here at the Hotel and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future when I would hope to meet with you personally.
With my best wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located about 2mins walk from Holborn Tube and well located for Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. The room is very modern and vibrant and finished to a high standard including the small but well stocked kitchenette. The room was a relatively decent size for London hotels, perfectly big enough for the two of us. The bathroom wasn't a great size but we didn't have a problem with it and again it was well presented, with a shower over the bath.
The bed was quite low but comfortable and large and the room had a light feel to it owing to the large window running the entire length of it.
I believe the hotel also had a gym and a laundry room although we did not use these facilities.
We also did not eat here as it was £24 pp for breakfast which was a continental, which we thought was excessive. Instead we went to a quiet Weatherspoons in the morning just around the corner from Holborn tube and got a full English for around £10 in total.
The hotel is in a bustling area and there are many cafes and pubs in the area if you choose not to eat at the hotel, there is also a waitrose over the road if you wish to make use of the kitchenette, as well as a pret a manger.
A really nice hotel which wasn't over-priced either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I genuinely believe that great service (consistently echoed by all reviewers) makes this hotel such a great place to stay! You can always count on the best in personalized service from the friendly hotel staff, which takes great pains to make your vacation or business trip the best time of your life.

Being in Holborn makes it perfect for you to explore the many famous London attractions (and perhaps almost all London's famous shows) within a short distance. Alternatively, you can make yourself comfortable in your spacious rooms; or work out in our fitness room.
I look forward to welcoming you (and your family) back soon.
Regards
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Monmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have visited London often during the past several years, as our daughter lives here, and Citadines Prestige Holburn-Covent Garden is, in our opinion, the best place to stay. It feels like you have your own flat in the perfect location in central London. We stayed in the smallest room - a bedroom, bathroom and mini-kitchenette that was perfect for us. The kitchen had a small refrigerator, stove top, toaster, pots, pans, silverware, and glasses. We ate breakfast in every day, and several times we ate lunch in also. There is a large Starbucks a few doors down, and a large Sainsbury's and a small Waitrose just down the street. The staff in the hotel were exceptional! They greeted us as we came and went, and were always professional and courteous. It was great that we could grab an umbrella in the lobby whenever we needed them. The location is superb - we walked to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey, St. Paul's Cathedral, and Oxford Circus. We took the tube only a couple of times. Amazing restaurants and shopping very close by. When we return, we will stay here because the room is so comfortable, the staff are great, and the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryArdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We decided on a week in London over Christmas. Our primary concerns were location and value for money. We chose the Citadines as you got a kitchenette in your room so we could prep our own food if we wanted to and also the location was great - walking distance to most of the places we wanted to visit.
The hotel was great at communication. We were driving down and needed to use their car park. We had plenty of help finding the car park. Check-in process was nice and quick. We did have to reject our first room as someone had dropped fish in the corridor outside the door and it smelled awful but the second room was fine, in a quieter location and they even gave us a free bottle of wine for our trouble which was pretty generous as it really wasn't a big deal.
The facilities in the room all seemed pretty new and everything worked. When we needed a couple of extra pans it was no issue for them and they were brought up within minutes.
We paid a little extra to get daily housekeeping in our room (not standard in the apartments) and it was worth it - nice to come back to a clean room.
All in all a perfectly adequate hotel when it came to the room and I think you get what you pay for.
The outstanding bit is really the breakfast! Now it could just be that it was to my taste but I loved brekkie. Lots of different types of breads and pastries. Lots of meats and cheeses. Smoked salmon rolls, fresh made waffles and boiled eggs to order. Lots of juices including squeeze your own orange juice. Unlimited hot drinks - good quality coffee. All in all a perfect breakfast to get your day started.
Location wise it was perfect. It was in a nice area - bright outside and the wonderful Rosewood opposite (visit the bar there - it is brilliant). We walked to the theatre, to Covent Garden, so Fortnum and Masons, to Selfridges, to Trafalgar Sq - everywhere seemed pretty close.
Finally the staff were great - very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G00BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a positive experience . I am sorry about the issue you encountered with the first room you were assigned but I am happy to learn that this was graciously handled by my team.We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#251 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#437 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Property: Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in London
#254 Luxury Hotel in London
#258 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing