We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a 1 Star Motel - Should not be a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Euston
Ranked #637 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“More like a 1 Star Motel - Should not be a Hilton”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Currently staying here for two nights. As a HH Gold, I usually enjoy a good room - not here. Perhaps all rooms are just terrible? Our ground floor room looks out onto the gym - and our floor shakes every time someone puts their weights down. Really horrible and nasty room.

Bottom line: This is a disgrace to the Hilton brand. It would probably be a better experience staying at the nearby Travelodge. My suggestion: Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us. It is through our guest’s valuable feedback that we are able to evaluate and improve upon the high standards expected of us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room.
Due to the structure of the building, some rooms overlook the gym. However, we do have other rooms which are facing the main road and we are happy to provide another room if any issues are raised during the stay.
I apologise for the annoyance that this may have caused to you and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to welcome you back in order to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    668
    530
    318
    224
See reviews for
472
508
176
701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is in walking distance from Euston station and close to bus routes. Family room was large and clean. Breakfast selection was good but huge queues to accommodate guests - needed extra space!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackandlilysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
167 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked a standard double room for two people directly with the hotel. Our room should not have been sold as a double as it was clearly only suitable for one person. The size of the room meant that the bed was pushed up against the wall making it possible to get into the bed from only one side. There was only one bed side light and no bedside table at all which we found inconvenient. Storage was poor as the very small wardrobe was packed with an iron, ironing board and hair dryer, there were only two small drawers which were too shallow for clothing. There was no full length mirror.

We have stayed at the Premier Inn in Euston and the room we were allocated there was larger and was designed for two people, unlike the Hilton. We chose the Hilton expecting a superior standard of accommodation and we left feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent visit at Hilton London Euston.
It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the size of the room.
I would like to apologise that the room size did not meet your expectations, however due to the age and history of the building the size of the bedrooms vary depending on their location within the property. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the layout of the room and I can assure you I have passed your comments to the management team.
I hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the near future and once again, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Best regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here one night this week (Room 426). As a frequent user of Hilton hotels I was very disappointment with the room, although comfortable it smelt badly of damp (on the 4th floor!). Obviously a roof leak at some time in the past has not been completely fixed or dried out.
The room was of average standard for a London hotel, not modern, but acceptable. There was however no hot, only lukewarm water for a shower in the morning.
For the prices being charged, definitely one to be avoided

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 426 - smells too much of damp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor . We appreciate your constructive feedback which certainly allows us to monitor and improve our service and facilities.
I understand that you have high expectations with the Hilton brand and I am sorry that we were unable to meet these in this case.
We did have a problem with the smell on the top floor but it has been addressed, I apologise for the annoyance that this may have caused to you. I have passed your comments regarding the water to our maintenance department for immediate action.
I would be delighted to be able to welcome you back on a future date and to have the opportunity to show you our hotel in a different light.


Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our second stay at the London Euston Hotel, very convenient for the station and getting around London. Excellent rooms and service and a lovely breakfast. Our beds very extremely comfortable and both myself and my daughter slept exceptionally well especially as the receptionist had given us a quieter room without being asked. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor . We appreciate your constructive feedback which certainly allows us to monitor and improve our service and facilities.
I am very sorry if on this particular visit you found the service of our staff to be substandard. Thank you for bringing the matter to my attention and I have shared your comments with the department heads in order to avoid future recurrence. We endeavour to improve service by continuing staff training.
With regards to the room, due to the age and history of the building the size and shape of the bedrooms vary depending on their location within the property. We have taken note of your feedback regarding the damp smell and we are addressing this problem.
We do hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Don't be deceived by the Hilton name - this is a tired and overpriced hotel. Like a number of 2nd rate London Hotels staff are poorly trained and struggle to communicate the basics. The rooms are small, over heated and smell of damp. The breakfast is unremarkable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor . We appreciate your constructive feedback which certainly allows us to monitor and improve our service and facilities.
I am very sorry if on this particular visit you found the service of our staff to be substandard. Thank you for bringing the matter to my attention and I have shared your survey with the department heads in order to avoid future recurrence. We endeavour to improve service by continuing staff training.
With regards to the room, due to the age and history of the building the size and shape of the bedrooms vary depending on their location within the property. We have taken note of your feedback regarding the damp smell and we are addressing this problem.
We do hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The room was well equipped and very clean. Housekeeping is efficient. Woburn Restaurant had excellent food and service. The breakfast at Mulberry restaurant is just average compared to other hotels of similar rank. Location is excellent and the staff are very professional.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 331 which was very nice, but it sounded like there was a tree branch scraping again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diliana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Euston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that the cleanliness of the hotel met with your expectations. I am sorry to note that you were disappointed with the breakfast, your feedback has been taken on board and shared with the staff.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#471 of 1,067 in London
2,042 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#291 of 1,067 in London
3,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Euston

Property: Hilton London Euston
Address: 17-18 Upper Woburn Place | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 0HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Euston 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and central, Hilton London Euston is ideally located in the heart of the capital. Set in a stunning restored Victorian building, the hotel boasts seven meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant set in a beautiful Victorian conservatory. Euston station is just 5 minute walk away and the Eurostar service at St Pancras Station is only a 10-minute walk away. Start the day with breakfast at Mulberry's Restaurant. Hire a bicycle at Waterloo and ride along the Thames to London attractions such as the Tate Modern. See the lights come up over the city from the London Eye before dinner at the hotel's Woburn Place Dining Room. Experience our enticing outlets, host a banquet on the Woburn terrace and finish with a nightcap at the hotel's bar. Book a modern Hilton Room at Hilton London Euston hotel or upgrade to a spacious Deluxe Room. All rooms offer wireless internet access. NOTICE: During the final stages of our refurbishment programme, we are working on various parts of the hotel, including the 4th and ground floors. As a result our main entrance is being altered from 13 February for up to 6 weeks during which period an alternative entrance is provided to guests. All of our available guest rooms are now fully refurbished. We continue to work towards minimizing the disruption to our guests as much as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Euston Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing