We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grapevine Hotel
Ranked #426 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible. Avoid.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Arrived in London after a 30hr international flight to have a shower that was blocked and flooded the entire bathroom after 30 seconds of being turned on (literally) so was unusable. The night manager could not unblock it himself and there were no other rooms available so I spent another night without a shower. Disgusting. The WIFI did not work so I could not even call home to tell them I had arrived safely. The manager was arrogant and cheap and offered me 5 quid off my stay due to my experience. The only redeeming thing was the location but I stayed in a much better hotel 2 days later for the same price so shop around as you can get location without having to put up with poor quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    68
    83
    77
    234
See reviews for
102
115
76
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had booked this hotel for our visit to the Chelsea Flower Show in may as it was within walking distance. I have never been so disappointed with a hotel before. The twin room was on the 3rd floor up narrow stairs and it was so small, really small. The bed was pushed against a wall and you could only just get around the other side. The sink was in the room and had no plug. The toilet and shower was in what can only be called a cupboard. And you had to be careful sitting down or your knee's hit the door open. The tv was unwatchable, the free view had a very bad connection and there was no remote for it. Even after a visit to reception and a rumage through several draws all I got was a shrug and told sorry. We had to ask for extra pillows for the bed as you only get one each, this took an hour and they only can up with one ! On our second morning ( yes we had 2 days booked ) we realised that they had left no fresh towels so another trip to reception at 7am was in order. Breakfast was continental with toast, cheese slices and small Belgiun buns and the shower was ok. I know its in Chelsea but use the premier Inn instead, I know we will next time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy, but you have to go to reception in the adjoining hotel. My room was up about three flights of stairs that curve around and could be difficult if you had a lot of luggage. My room was a single room and very small. It had a single bed on one side of the room, with a tv on the wall. The reception was very good and it had some free-view channels to choose from. Coat hooks, no hangers, a small shelf which had tea-making facilities and a hand basin on the other wall with a small window. No work surface or dressing table. There was only a small space to walk through to the en-suite. This was up a step and there was only enough room for a toilet and shower, no floor space in between. Everything was clean, but you only get one towel, slim slither of soap and a shampoo and shower gel sachet. Temperature was not controlable and although there was a good supply of tea, coffee, there were only two milk juggers. I did not have breakfast so can not comment on this. They will store your luggage for free when you check out and offer you assistance with bus/underground if needed. I would go back to this hotel if I needed accomodation just for one night. Overall rating is taking price into consideration

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The Grapevine Hotel in Victoria, London only sometimes answers its phone daytime and has pretty poor Trip Adviser reviews. There are doubts for me about whether bathrooms have to be shared from customer reports.

I booked through Venere who did not send me email confirmation. I only knew that I was booked in by ringing the hotel.

Venere have not replied to 2 email requests for a cancellation.

That seems to mean two full nights payments although the hotel's given price was slightly cheaper than Venere's one. Venere said by phone that therefore some kind of a refund could be possible.

That was emailed to Venere but ONCE MORE there has been no reply.

I have reported the situation to Trip Adviser. Their agency recommended that I write an account which has to be pre-dated for my July visit if there is a chance of publication.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

For the money this hotel was better than others in similar price bracket. Our room was compact but had everything we needed, fresh towels were given each day. Although hotel offers free wifi we were on second floor and couldn't connect to it but could get it in breakfast room. Hot water was available at 6 in morning but not a couple of hours later, also the water pressure wasn't brilliant so water didn't come out at a great rate. Breakfast was better than expected but the older lady was a little surly, also the patio door wouldn't close properly yesterday,21/2, so room was draughty. The left luggage facility was great and man on reception was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again but maybe in a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Try for a room on ground or first floor for wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The pictures of this hotel did not match what we viewed. A number of rooms did not have ensuites. Room was very dated. for a hotel that has had refurbishment completed in June 2012 they really need to take another look at the situation. the bathroom was not cleaned during our stay. having worked in the industry I have never seen a hotel in the state this one was in. in actual fact we booked in else where on the second night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
8 Thank Ciaran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#917 of 1,068 in London
49 reviews
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#967 of 1,068 in London
281 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#641 of 1,068 in London
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#709 of 1,068 in London
1,157 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#637 of 1,068 in London
514 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#507 of 1,068 in London
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Hotel

Property: The Grapevine Hotel
Address: 117 Warwick Way | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel located in the heart of London within walking distance of major sightseeing attractions including Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Tate Britain and Harrods to name a few. We are located within 3 minute walking distance from the Victoria Coach Station and within 5 minute walking distance from the Victoria Train/Underground/Bus.We have undergone major refurbishment and modernisation, completed in June 2012. With imaginative planning we have updated all our rooms to provide private shower and WC facilities (either en-suite or exclusive suite) and offer a great choice of standard, superior and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelsClick so you can book your The Grapevine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing