We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit where it is due - I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grapevine Hotel
Ranked #439 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I booked this hotel as I needed a cheap hotel for the night. My expectations were managed at £60 and my review of this site before I left made me even more nervous! I did not need to worry; I found a hotel that had clearly spent a lot of money on refurbishment and appeared to have listened to the feedback received in the past. The room was bright and spacious (although odd that they put a single traveler in a room for 6!), all the lights worked, the TV worked well, the kettle worked and there was tea and coffee provided and more importantly it was clean. The only downside was that I did have to share a bathroom but it was only with one other room and again, it was newly refurbished and clean, not ideal but for £60 you don't get the Hilton! The bed was comfy, room temp adequate, the shower in the morning had hot water. The layout was odd; check in was actually in The Sheriff Inn next door but it appears they are actually connected and my room was in a totally different front door down the street! Odd but not off putting. For breakfast you did need to go back to the building where you checked in. The breakfast room again looked like it had been refurbished and was clean and tidy, the staff were pleasant and everything you would expect for a budget breakfast was there; tea and coffee, fruit juices, cereals, toast. Overall, it wasn't the Hilton but for £60 I felt it was great value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry75_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I only stayed in the Grapevine Hotel for one night.
The staff are all very welcoming and friendly and are more than happy to try their best to help.
However the rooms are sub par.
The room as basically a bed with little walking space and a small toilet/shower room.
For the price you pay i would expect this, it was not expensive so i could accept a small room that is fair.
However its still unacceptable that the bed had a couple bugs in it, the sheets had holes in them, and the toilet seat wasnt even fixed to the toilet. The shower was held up by duct tape and fell down half way through my shower.

on a positive not the breakfast was nice, despite their being no option to have anything cooked the help yourself style continental breakfast was satisfactory

i would not recommend this hotel unless it was just someone to lay your head for the night and you dont need or expect anything more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked a room which never materialized. Cancel celeb within 24 hours and was charged for a full week. Be very careful doing business with this hotel. Booked the room through expedia who refuses to get my money back. Presently fighting with credit card company and expedia months later. Hotel refuses to accept cancellation even though it was done right away. Hungry for business. No one stays there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

When first arriving at the grapevine hotel the check in and staff seemed lovely. We then got sent to back hotel which is the grapevine, upon walking to our room which was up 5 flights of very thin steep stairs (no lift) we were greeted with a keyring full of keys in our door. When we opened our door there was a small handy man who had a scent of alcohol on his breath sprawled across our bed watching tv. We were very disappointed but he soon left very apologetically. The size of the room was like a shoe box(nothing like the photos!!) And the bathroom was a converted cupboard which contained a toilet six inches away from an open shower, (sink was in bedroom) the bathroom wall had a small hole in it which had been covered with a post it note! After all the disappointment we decided to have a cup of tea but soon realised the kettle didnt work, my partner went down to complain and it took an hour and a half to finally get the problem sorted by the handyman which was previously watching tv in our room...he had no clue what he was doing...was persistent in telling us we needed a new fuse when it was obviously a broken kettle. The beds were comfy and we did have an enjoyable sleep. The next night we had just settled in watching tv when all the electric turned off due to a powercut...the 'handyman' then took 45 mins to fix it while we sat in darkness. .. to kill time we went downstairs for a cigarette and then while walking into the hotel a bulb popped above my partners head scaring us both and almost hurting my partner. We then sat back down to continue our night and thus once again we were sat in darkenss due to another powercut. After this we put up with our room and attempted to enjoy our stay there. Breakfast was average and we were satisfied but slightly put off by the breakfast workers constantly staring and watching you eat. However the last day we had coffee and cereal but discovered they were serving off milk which seperated and floated in our coffee and cereal later causing an upset stomach. We stayed for 4 nights but would only suggest a one night stay. AVOID THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewisha0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stay away from this so called hotel . Floors were stained the beds were stained towels unclean. Shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold with mould growing around it. Owners were not helpful at all . Cups dirty walls dirty ceiling dirty just a dump basically rather sleep on the street. Huge gap at bottom of door noise travels from other rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adders_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room awful,more like a broom cupboard,nothing like pictures they show,STAY AWAY. ensuite what a joke,ok if very slim.There was a terrible smell coming from the so called bathroom.The base of the bed was torn badly,I daren't look at the mattress.The painting work generally was flakey.There was no head borad like they showed.The pictures they show are not the ones of the room I had so goodness knows where they are.The whole room needs total referbishment and then its only fit for a single person,as long as you don;t want to use the bathroom unless you are a midget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmj201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Friendly staff, great location - very close to Victoria station.

The room was VERY very small compared to the one shown on website. The door lock was shaky, the bed was shaky….but there was free wi-fi and breakfast was ok.

If you don't expect much, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_Rozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Sheriff Hotel
Sheriff Hotel
#116 of 571 in London
340 reviews
Pimlico
Hanover Hotel Victoria
Hanover Hotel Victoria
#285 of 571 in London
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
Belgravia Rooms
Belgravia Rooms
#342 of 571 in London
246 reviews
Pimlico
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#298 of 571 in London
297 reviews
Belgrave Hotel London
#154 of 571 in London
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Hotel

Address: 117 Warwick Way | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £38 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel located in the heart of London within walking distance of major sightseeing attractions including Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Tate Britain and Harrods to name a few. We are located within 3 minute walking distance from the Victoria Coach Station and within 5 minute walking distance from the Victoria Train/Underground/Bus.We have undergone major refurbishment and modernisation, completed in June 2012. With imaginative planning we have updated all our rooms to provide private shower and WC facilities (either en-suite or exclusive suite) and offer a great choice of standard, superior and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grapevine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing