We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont ever live here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guilford House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guilford House Hotel
Ranked #451 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Fredrikstad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont ever live here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is the most horible hotel i have ever been at. It was so unbelivebel dirty. Even the beds were dirty. We complained, but it doesnt help at all. We also saw a mouse in the diningroom. When we told about it in the reception, the man answered that he didnt like mouse either. So my advice, never book at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgitte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    29
    26
    78
See reviews for
26
27
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

On augurs day night in London this is all we could find for under £100. Would suggest a hostel was better option. Hotel itself is ok buy I thought I would get for for £100 I have to say. Slow net, cramped room. Tiny plastic bathroom. But compared to what other hotels were charging probably was an ok deal. 10 mins walk to russell square tube.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jezsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

When checking into the hotel we were taken next door to the Grenville hotel and to room 400.
It was in the basement , it had not been cleaned for ages and was very dingy and dirty and in need of a very big makeover.
The bed linen was clean and so were the towels and we had hot water but that was all it had going for it, not worth the £94
Had we been staying longer and spending alot of the time in the room I would have asked to be moved or refunded. But we used it basically to change and to sleep in.
We didn't sample breakfast, but observed from a well known coffee chain across the road that people were coming out of the hotel coming in to get food and coffee and going back to the hotel!

Room Tip: Don't have room 400 in the Grenville !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeholidaysOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Was advised on the booking confirmation that the room contained an Iron & Ironing board, this was not the case, when i called reception i was told i could go down to the breakfast area and do my ironing there. The shower had no hot water, again i called reception and advised them & was told to keep the shower running for ten minutes, it took about 20 minutes before hot water started to 'trickle' thru. Its an extreemly noisey hotel, you hear every door closed & every foot step taken echoes through the room. I wouldnt send my worse enemy to this hotel for a night. The smell is unbearable and the decor is prehistoric! The bathroom area had not been cleaned as there were used cotton buds around the sink area.

Room Tip: There are cheaper options on the outskirts of London that offer far more luxury and are still minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

As we didn't pay lots , I didn't expect much. But rooms weer rather big and beds weer good! We didn't have bestaat because that closes at nine am!!!!nine is the time i get up! 10-15 minuten walk from st Pancras...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-in-Makerfield
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nine out of ten for location,but that is all this "hotel" has got going for it.The high presence of air freshener should have told us maybe they were to mask the nasty smells.One good point,the bed linen was clean. Looking at the kitchen,we decided to give the breakfast a miss.My advice is give this "hotel"a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

To tell the truth the location is excellent, 10 minutes walk from British Museum. The metro is a bit far, but in 7-8 minutes walking distance. A Russels square is nearer, than the Kings Cross metro station. The breakfast is 2 toast with some jam and butter. You can leave the luggage in the hotel on the check out day, and go for sight seeing if you have a late journey.
Our room on the last floor under the roof, was a bit ugly. The floor was not horizontal so first we had to repair the leg of the bed not to slip onto the floor during the night. (true)
Perhaps we should have asked for an other room, but we spent there 3 nights so we didn't moved. Altogether it was a cheap accomodation in London, if you can not accept the inconveniance you should choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept the room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#753 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#259 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#49 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#354 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Whitechapel
Monopoly Accommodations
Monopoly Accommodations
#157 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Clerk & Well Pub
The Clerk & Well Pub
#56 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilford House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilford House Hotel

Property: Guilford House Hotel
Address: 6 Guilford Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilford House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guilford House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guilford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing