We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must have done something bad in a former life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grenville House Hotel
Ranked #1,013 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I must have done something bad in a former life”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My fiance and I stayed here in May as we were visiting London for a friends wedding. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and was supposed to check out on the Sunday morning.
Lets put it this way, it's that bad we couldn't face staying the Saturday night after the Friday night.
We checked out a day early and lost the £120 per night we had paid and then spent and extra £50 purchasing new train tickets to go home a day early as we could not face another night.

We never tried the food - I am pregnant and we daren't risk it! I even had to send my other half out for bottled water.

If I was anymore pregnant in the time I wouldn't have even been able to use the 'ensuite' toilet as the space was that cramped I could sit on the loo and wash my hands in the basin and wash my feet in the shower all at the same time. It was like somebody had glued a portaloo to the wall and labelled it 'ensuite'.

Please please I beg of you, do not waste your money. Go on lastminute.com and book one of those mystery hotels for the same price - there is no hope in hell it would be any worse than this!

Room Tip: Do't choose ANY room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    9
    13
    45
See reviews for
11
20
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just back from a trip to london which was with my family,the area was good as close to kings cross and to the centre for sight seeing.
Wished we had read reviews before,our two rooms I believed was booked at the guilford and on arrival were taken next door to the Greenville, these were of poor up keep and although sheets were clean the rooms were disgusting the rooms smelled of damp, urine .
Dust , stains ,dirty mugs need I go on.
Breakfast was next door at the guilford, we only went once , no full English only foreign workers whose partial grasp of our language was yes, yes and served pale cold toast.
We took a positive from this and stayed out till late and caught the sights of london.

Room Tip: Use different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Aberystwyth, Wales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I've never written a bad review before, but was moved to with this place.

What really upset me was that I was cold in the night. The next day I asked for an extra blanket or quilt but the management refused to find me one. How's that for service.

Had that not happened I could have overlooked the tatty, smelly, cramped and dingy aspects.

The difference between this place and the ones for a few quid more around the corner us staggering ... And you'll end up paying that to get a drinkable cup of coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was a bit worried when I read the other reviews so I was expecting the worst. I booked through Hotels.com and specified four single beds as I was travelling with 3 children. When I arrived, we had been given a room with a double and two single beds. When I brought this to the attention of the manager, he apologised and gave us a family room after explaining that the full details had not been passed to him from the website. The second room was basic but spacious and clean.

London is an expensive place to stay so when you are paying these prices, don't expect the Ritz. This hotel is clean, safe and central and I would recommend it to any budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagliokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Had a better experience than I expected after reading other reviews. Room was cleaner than expected, but a bit run down. Top pillows (decorative) did not appear too clean. Found someone else's underwear down the side of our bed, chewing gum on the windowsill, bathroom you couldn't swing a cat in, but was relatively clean. All part of the fun!! However it is central London, great location, and cheap for where you are! Stay here if you are not planning on spending long in the room. By the way the picture on this website is not of the reception we saw, not sure where this picture is from. Continental Breakfast not up to much, but there are breakfast places around Russell square if you want a little more. Reception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#548 of 1,069 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#596 of 1,069 in London
258 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Bryson Hotel
The Bryson Hotel
#700 of 1,069 in London
81 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#791 of 1,069 in London
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenville House Hotel

Property: Grenville House Hotel
Address: 4 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,013 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grenville House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grenville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenville Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing