We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in a garden shed for £94 a night”
Review of Anchor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor House Hotel
Ranked #119 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

On arrival it looked pleasant enough. A small well kept reception area. The lady at the desk welcomed us and although our room was not ready we were shown where we would be staying and were directed through the kitchen down some external steps across a patio with some seating and pointed in the direction of a shed with a wooden painted peeling door with a padlock. I thought surely not !! It was attached to other out buildings with laundry equipment in them. We went off to meet our daughter but was given a key to let ourselves in to the main door that night The place was deserted that night we couldn't find our bags that were promised to be placed in our " room". My husband found them in the kitchen area. And indeed we let ourselves into the outdoor bedroom and discovered a bedroom area behind the shed door if was reasonably clean although pillowcases were of different colours one brown two white and a small shower room with a tap on the sink that came off in your hand when used the side window looked out onto a concrete wall inches away from the glass and I felt that if a fire broke out we would have no chance of escape. The breakfast was good but were we're served in the kitchen where one of the male staff had an awful cold sniffing and blowing his nose and not washing his hands after which I found very off putting We have stayed in dozens of hotels around the world and in this country and I have never had such an odd unsettling experience as this. I asked the other guests what their rooms were like inside the b&b and they were happy but they were bemused that we were placed in a garden shed that from the outside viewing no one would know was there. £96 !!!!!! Do not accept their " garden room"" when offered

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife was born in West Heath Drive and for a birthday present, she asked if we could stay near there so she could visit her old haunts and go through her memories of times past (over 50 years ago).
The hotel is clean, reasonably priced and although room No2 is small, it sleeps 3 and has everything you could want, including and iron and ironing board! It is however a little noisy but not overly so.
Location for us was great as there is a lot to do in and around the area. The restaurants are a different matter altogether as Anchor House only provide breakfast - and very good too!
I have posted a detailed criticism of one restaurant which offered 25% discount for cash. Do not believe that offer. The food was good, the waitress excellent, the manager a fool. Beware.
We will be going back and taking my grandson as the hotel staff were most accommodating when I had to change my dates unexpectedly due to client commitments. The parking saved me at least £7 per day alone.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

stayed at the anchor house hotel on the 8th june 13 for one night as we were at a concert in finsbury park for the evening, staff very pleasent, room spotless it even had a safe and a fridge in there, would stay here again if we were in london , they even reserved us a parking space , highly reccommended !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POLLY4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A warm welcome by the matriarch was somewhat let down by her less hospitable son who served us breakfast the next day.
As many others have said, the rooms are small, we stayed in the garden room. But this is to be expected in London and the room had everything it needed and more, coffee making facilities, ironing board, fridge which you don't always find in hotels anymore.
What let the place down according to us was the breakfast. We arrived at 9:15 but the scrambled eggs were stone cold. Upon asking if there were any more eggs coming, (my partner finished the last of the cold lot) the staff said no. We had to press to get one of them to throw a couple of eggs in a pan. The coffee was horrible, too diluted and also cold. All and all OK place to stay for venturing into London but I am sure there will be better places for the money (£90). Unfortunately we had no choice because of everything booked up during the Champions League final

Room Tip: Garden room is nice and secluded, but the aircon is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The room was very small and without any window. It is not suitable for staying in the room for any other reason than sleep. We didn't use the cupboard, because when we opened it a cloud of dust came upon us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The very convenient location of the Anchor House helps a guest to overlook the very cramped rooms. The service is good and the staff were very helpful, and the location, opposite Golders Green Station, is superb. It must be said that the rooms and bathrooms are cramped to the point of claustrophobia. In a double room (for one person) I just about managed, as long as I folded up the one chair before attempting to move around. There is no easy solution short of buying the house next door and doubling the size of the place. You can't really turn around in the shower and the toilet is so close to the wall that it is almost impossible to use. I was also unhappy that neither the linens nor towels were changed at all during a five-day stay. However the staff were very thoughtful and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is peaceful and well-run, and I would probably put up with the discomfort and stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the largest room you can and be prepared to be cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Enjoysgoodfood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed at this guest house twice. We stayed in the garden room in the back. It was very small, but for one person it would be perfect. Would have loved to have sat on the patio in the evening, but it rained most of the time. On second visit we stayed in the first room on the main floor and it was lovely. Clean, safe and very close to tube station, buses, restaurants, etc. The lady that prepares the delicious breakfast is very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegsterCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.5 mi away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#89 of 567 in London
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martel Guest House
Martel Guest House
#47 of 567 in London
453 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bennys B and B
Bennys B and B
#96 of 567 in London
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Junction Arms
Grand Junction Arms
#164 of 567 in London
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iolanthe
Iolanthe
#123 of 567 in London
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charlotte Guest House
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 567 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Hotel

Address: 10 West Heath Drive | Golders Green, London NW11 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £57 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 2 minutes walk from Golders Green Station, Anchor House London offers the ultimate in convenience for visitors around London, whether for business or for pleasure. The Anchor Guest House is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Golders Green is well connected with Underground/Buses and National Express Coaches direct to Stansted Airport or other parts of UK. There are many restaurants / cafe's and Supermarkets nearby which serves late in the evening. There is a taxi rank outside the Hotel for your convenience. We are here to ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Anchor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing