We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yuk”
Review of Anchor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor House Hotel
Ranked #84 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yuk”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

the place had zero personality. the staff were cold and totally unhelpful. the response to question at the desk, was a turn of the head and make believe we didn't exist.
the place was barely passable clean. extra towels were an issue.
exterior was clean and inviting.
location is excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    90
    18
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
47
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Never saw such a tiny room!!!!! fits only a bed. not even enough room for our bags. the A/C didn't work, absolutely no view even though promised, no workdesk, Took 15 minutes until we had hot water,Didn't change towels. The worst part was that the staff was very unpleasant and shrugged us off when we asked for help. never again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Zipora_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very compact but nice and clean and perfect for a weekend sightseeing stay. A two minute walk from the tube station, easy to get to from M1, and lots of restaurants close by. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here next time I'm in London

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DonkeyDan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Clean, room, tea coffee making facilities. safe, small but perfectly formed bathroom. Lots of hot water.
Breakfast plenty, helpful pleasant staff.
close to tube and bus transport.
all in all a little gem, just dont hope for lots and lots of space.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I booked a room for 2 and we were delighted from start to finish. A very warm welcome by the lady of the house and we were taken to our room through the garden area (with outdoor smoking facilities) . The room was small but it was immaculate all you needed was there, nothing was overlooked. Breakfast was perfection, very friendly staff. We only stayed for one day we asked if we could park there for the next day and for an extra £.7.- we were permitted to park there the whole second day ( now that's a bargain in London).

Who needs big West end Hotels, Anchor House Hotel is all you need!

Room Tip: Just let the lady of the house guide you, tell her what you want and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Croft Court Hotel
#74 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#50 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#71 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#31 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Martel Guest House
#33 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Hotel

Property: Anchor House Hotel
Address: 10 West Heath Drive | Golders Green, London NW11 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 2 minutes walk from Golders Green Station, Anchor House London offers the ultimate in convenience for visitors around London, whether for business or for pleasure. The Anchor Guest House is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Golders Green is well connected with Underground/Buses and National Express Coaches direct to Stansted Airport or other parts of UK. There are many restaurants / cafe's and Supermarkets nearby which serves late in the evening. There is a taxi rank outside the Hotel for your convenience. We are here to ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Anchor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing