We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,590)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
492
570
317
145
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
570
317
145
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streeta business class roommarble archhyde parkstandard rooman upgradetwo blocksnespresso machinejunior suiteexcellent locationbreakfast was excellentbusiness tripwest endtube stationselfridgesconciergedoorman
Filter
Updating list...
1,247 - 1,252 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The hotel is situated in a good area if you are there for tourism.
Staff is polite and nice, especially at the bar in the evening.
Rooms are clean and confortable.
The only thing is that at Breakfast they are probably understaffed during the weekend, we had to wait more than 15 minutes for 1 cappucino.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfina1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We Stayed for four nights from Sept 9 - 13th. We reached hotel at 7.30am in the morning . After 20 hours flight you are so tired you just want to go to your room & rest. Receptionist was so helpful, that we got our room by 9.30am. We were very happy with the service.

Excellent Location. Just five minutes to Oxford Street. Breakfast in the hotel is very good. Worth the money.

Room was very clean. Quite location. Selfridges food court is just five minutes from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20suma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The hotel was OK, but not great. The food (breakfast) was particularly weak, not much choice, and rather plain. The room was small and "old" The location is great, close to everything, and that was important to me.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

September 2009 – this was our second stay at this hotel (first stay was Feb 2008) and again it was for a weekend’s trip to London for the theatre and exhibitions. It is in an ideal location for a visits to London (5 minutes from Oxford Street and Tube stations).

Staff are always helpful and couteous.

This time we had a Business Class room (406) and again it was comfortable and well- appointed (iron + ironing board, safe) – we particularly liked the coffee machine.

Our package included breakfast which is good – plenty of variety from the healthy options (plenty of fruit) up to the full English. Once seated, we were never rushed, even though it was extremely busy.

The one (major) irritant was the ridiculous basin plug. To fill the basin you have to raise the plug and to empty the basin you lower the plug. This (to my mind) is counter-intuitive. The plug is immediately below the tap so the incoming water has a tendency to push the plug down and so allow the water out. Once you have managed to fill the basin (usually after several attempts) because the plug is high in the basin it is not easy to use. If you scoop water out to rinse your face (say) and you create too much turbulence or hit the plug it goes down and the water empties out. We had a more normal system in the room of our earlier stay.

Overall a good hotel for Visiting London.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Firstly let me tell you about reception. I am in a good place to judge as it took me 3 attempts and 1 hour before I finally got a room.

When I arrived I had to wait for 10 mins to check in as there was a queue which was not surprising given that I was checking in at 7pm which is normally a popular time. However when I got to the desk the concierge without acknowledging me went over to the receptionist and started arguing with her about a taxi he had been asked to call for a customer. I waited another 2 mins whilst they bickered and eventually was asked my name. I was given my key and directed to my room.

When I arrived I discovered I had a room opposite the lifts and the ice machine (always a good spot for a comfortable nights sleep – not) and also that I was in a single bedded room. When I book my rooms I always book a double room for single occupancy and this is what I had on my confirmation. I went to reception and waited another 10 mins for service. During this period I was treated to the concierge lecturing one of his team on recording his overtime. I know it is difficult but surely such conversations should be had out of the hearing of guests!

When I got to talk to the second receptionist and asked for my double room I received a quite indignant lecture from her on the “policy” of the Radisson being to always give a single room to a single person. When I showed her my confirmation she relented but was clearly not happy I had not agreed to follow her policy. This was despite my paying a double room rate.

Up in the lifts again – I then arrived in I think what are call their oriental styled rooms. This just means a big wooden painted headboard (which I doubt is comfortable) and a lacquered table. However, the room was disgusting. The table was stained. The floor was stained and the carpet was so bare in places there were gaps exposing the floor. The shower was dirty and the fan above the shower was thick with dust. I rang reception to complain and was asked to go back down.

Third time down I was preparing myself for the usual 10 minute wait and for the insights of the concierge but fortunately the first receptionist spotted me and gave me a key to a new room. Back up in the lifts again. The third room was cleaner than the first although it had marks over most of the paintwork and an opened shampoo bottle in the shower. Frankly though I was so exhausted with the whole process I thought I would just stay put and turned the lights on. Only to discover only one of the three lights worked. I called reception to be treated to a lecture on the Radisson “policy” of every day checking the lights worked. At the end of this I was then offered another room but I would have to go back to reception which I could not stand or they would send an engineer. He arrived after 10 mins and changed the bulbs which were not working.

There were some positives. I could not face going out after it took me so long to checkg in so I ordered room service and had the most delicious bolognaise. It came with spaghetti rather than the tagletelli I had asked for but in any event it was fabulous. However on top of the price advertised for room service I was also charged a £3 tray charge!!!

The barman was nice and very knowledgeable letting me sample wines before selecting a glass and the breakfast was lovely.

However – I would not stay there again for all the tea in China. In my opinion they need to focus more on service than on the CSR messages they have around the hotel including a television channel which tells you all about Radisson and its policies. Also no way is this four star. The three rooms I had were all worst than you would get in a Travel Inn.

Save your cash and go somewhere else - unless you have fond memories of Basil Fawlty and want to experience a similar level of service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Izzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews