We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent choice great personal service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent choice great personal service!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

Stayed at this hotel recently and arrived early (before 2pm) left our bags with the hotel, the hotel staff were very helpful and helped us with bags doors etc, went shopping and came back our room wasnt ready still alothough they were very apologetic about this and we waited in the hotels lovely bar area warm and very inviting after a mad crazy day spent shopping.

We got our room key for our junior suite eventually and our bags were all laid out for us in the room, the room had a baby cot as we requested and the room was not as large as i wouldve expected after paying extra to have the junior suite although it was themed and the furnishings were very lavish and the bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath. (which after a day shopping in london was a delight!)

We really enjoyed the service at their bar and in the morning for breakfast the staff just couldnt do enough for you i would say the hotel should probably be rated 5 star as it was immmaculate and service was second to none.

overall apart from small rooms, the hotel is really nice with a good location just of berkley sq and 5 mins walk to oxford st, it is charming and the staff cant do enough for you, and i would stay here again.

  • Liked — service, bar and location
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carolanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,524
    408
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
590
1,329
181
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

We spent 9 days at the Chesterfield Mayfair in London. It excelled our expectations. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made us feel at home. The service was prompt and the restaurant served excellent food.

The hotel itself has retained the old style charm of the past while it has been upgraded. Modern conveniences have been added but the cozy charm has been well maintained. It is charming boutique hotel.

Furthermore, the location is a plus. It is near both the tube and bus stops. Shepherd's Market is only one block away. There we found a number of good little restaurants that were affordable, considering the drop in the dollar.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank friendchicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

We visit London twice a year and The Chesterfield is the only hotel we would ever consider staying. The hotel itself is beautiful - sophisticated and elegant yet small and charming like a private club. The staff is second to none and everyone makes sure your stay is the very best. The bar and restaraunt are excellent - both the food and the very gracious staff. The Chesterfield is like our home away from home.

  • Liked — the location and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spendalot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

We just finished our honeymoon with a stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the room, and the staff. The are warm and attentive. The room was comfortable and beautiful. The location could not be beat. We were thrilled with the quiet, wonderfully appointed hotel. We would absolutely stay there again, and recommend them at the highest level to anyone!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank MDMORG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lausanne, switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2007

This is the third time I have stayed at the Chesterfield. My first room was very noisy, as it gave onto Charles Street - just about every taxi in London must go past the hotel. At the time, I told the hotel that "less would be more": The small room is so overcrowded with little pillows, vases and other unnecessary items that you can hardly move round. The second time I was lucky as I had a room at the back, but it was equally clustered. This time was the worst, though I was told I had been upgraded to a junior suite. The floorboards creaked so much in my room and in those next and above it that I did not dare go to the - tiny - bathroom during the night! Short of lying on the bed, it was very uncomfortable to watch the - not flat-screen - TV. The drawers were too small to put a shirt into them. The room is being heated through the air-conditioning - very noisy and it blows the smoke from the smoking rooms into what should be a non-smoking room. So, do beware of the rooms which have a name plate on the door!
Now a more positive note: As other reviewers have pointed out, staff are very friendly and I love the restaurant, especially in the evening, though breakfast is also very good (too expensive).
I shall return to the Chesterfield, but only to eat, not to stay.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blacklab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, Oliver Raggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 20 November 2007
Here at the Chesterfield Hotel we continually monitor Tripadviser as we appreciate the valuable feedback that it provides. Occasionally, as in this instance, the comments have highlighted issues that we will work hard to address.

We strive to try and exceed all of our guests’ expectations and we pride ourselves on our success rate. Our customers appreciate the fact that we are not a modern day sterile hotel where each room is a replica of its neighbour. Here we try to give each room a character of its own. Other guests have commentated on how much they appreciate the uniqueness of the Chesterfield and this, they state, is one of the reasons why they return again and again. In fact many enjoy the "clutter" of their "home from home". However, if a guest finds that they are not comfortable, then they need only notify me or my staff and we will remove the items or place them in a room which is more to their liking.

We are very fortunate that we reinvest heavily in the property and we refurbish the hotel on a far more regular basis than our competitors. When we do we look at market trends, technology and very importantly guest feedback and I will be passing on these comments to our designer team.

I would like to offer a sincere apology to the author of these comments and would really appreciate it if they could email me directly at oraggett@rchmail.com so I can understand a little more about the issues encountered and the particular rooms involved.

Kind Regards

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

As with other reviewers here and elsewhere we found The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect. As you may see from my other reviews I rarely give "5" ratings; simply because so few places merit a perfect score.

The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel deserves a 5+++! Honestly, we could not have been MORE impressed and pleased with the quality of the accommodation, location, service, staff & facilities. Perfect on every front and we're quite demanding! For those interested more details follow below, but in short: a stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair will not disappoint and provided very good value for price in London. Check their website directly for special offers which certainly were advantageous over the web-based travel sites.

Reception: We arrived at noon Friday and hoped for an early check-in. We had let them know we'd be early and while they would not guarantee availability our room was ready upon arrival; obviously this started things off on the right foot! Reception staff were of course welcoming & courteous. The concierge, Darren Briggs, was an absolute GEM! He recognized our name, provided the theater tickets delivered from a friend, suggested some restaurants near the theater and gave us a brief review assuring us we'd be very entertained by the musical Wicked!

The Room (#214; Superior King) As others mention the rooms are truly quite lovely, immaculately clean and designed to satisfy travelers requirements. Our room, is pictured on their website (taupe-striped silk draping & mirror above the bed) and was even more lovely in reality, with an extremely comfortable King-sized bed, fine linens, and ample down pillows (although hypoallergenic foam pillows were available upon request.) We slept like babies & awakened refreshed. The thermostatic control worked perfectly; allowing us to keep our room cool for sleeping & warm for bathing. Plenty of storage space for our clothing and luggage without taking-up room space. We were combining work with pleasure, so the free wireless connection and spacious desk area were unexpected conveniences!

The bath was slightly larger than typical Euro-baths, with marble and modern fixtures and (surprise!) all plumbing working as expected! No bidet, which is generally not a problem for we Americans! Bathrobes, slippers, & toweling all very nice quality, soft & brightly white.Gilchrist & Soames vanity supplies (soap, lotion, shampoo, etc.) were replenished daily.

Full English breakfast was included in our weekend package and we opted to dine in-room. Our breakfasts were delivered on-time and were simply delicious both mornings. Highly recommend the Eggs Benedict which was scrumptious and HOT upon arrival (truly a small miracle!) My husbands traditional eggs, bacon, potatoes & toast were eaten with gusto as well, so I presume they were luscious.

Our second evening we dined at Butler's Restaurant in the hotel. We were a bit concerned when is wasn't very busy on a Saturday--but our concerns were quickly dashed by the excellent service and cuisine! The Scottish & Irish Smoked Salmon Duo appetizer was a meal in itself: carved table-side with a more than ample portion--luscious! I went traditional with a Potted Chicken Pie that was not only delicious but presented more beautifully than I would have imagined possible. My husband had a carved ham with mustard sauce and was quite impressed. No room for dessert but we were tempted to try the complimentary dark chocolate truffles--perfect finish to our meal. Tara the hostess & sommelier recommended a lovely South African white wine that paired beautifully with our diverse main courses!

I'll wrap up this long review by repeating our recommendation that anyone looking for a luxurious, well-priced, 4-star hotel in a very walkable, quiet area of London should look no further than The Chesterfield Mayfair.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

stayed at the chesterfield for 2 nights at the beginning of november. wonderful experience, the staff cant do enough for you (highly unusual in london), the rooms are immaculate, food exceptional, especially the roast of the day and the superb breakfast. the location of the hotel tops it off, just quite simply the best hotel in london. i wont even consider staying anywhere else in the capital again.

  • Liked — the englishness !!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing