We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,561)
Filter reviews
3,561 results
Traveller rating
2,965
467
86
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,965
467
86
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabutlers restaurantwilly wonkagreen park tube stationred carnationterrace barchocolate factoryshepherds marketbuckingham palacecharming hotelbond streetturn down servicebottle of champagnejunior suitequiet streetevery member of staffwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,031 - 3,036 of 3,561 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair for 3 nights mid September. The location is great, walking distance from the Piccadilly Circus and the Buckingham Palace.
The staff was very warm and friendly at all times, even to my little toddler. The food is overpriced, but that is London for you!!
The rooms are a good size considering Europe's standards and the bathrooms are very well appointed. We had a great view of the courtyard from our room.
Overall, we had a great stay and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snshn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Stayed three nights at Chesterfield based on TA recommendations. Overall impressions were that the hotel is extremely charming and decor is consistent with the old world theme. The breakfast was wonderful and was a real full breakfast. We did not stay for dinner but had afternoon tea one day which was only ok for the price we paid. Rooms were a bit small for what we expected but you sort of have to temper expectations being in Central London and especially Mayfair. The area surrounding the hotel is phenomenal - extremely quiet and very upscale. The area makes the stay at Chesterfield seem to be very exclusive. Tony at the concierge even scored us a reservation at Gordon Ramsay's at Claridges - I had tried to call a week earlier but got turned away. Overall, I would stay at Chesterfield again but perhaps splurge a bit more in a larger room.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Terps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

For our wedding anniversary my husband and I had decided on a two night stay in London. Having read the excellent reviews we were looking forward to staying at The Chesterfield. I had booked by phone in September and specifically requested the Music Room and asked to be e-mailed confirmation. Two weeks later I had to ring again and request confirmation, which then duly came. We arrived just before check-in, which is 2pm to be told that our room was not available because the previous guests were still in there, and due to a special package may not check out until 6pm. When my husband asked why we had not been told about this the reply was "it was a late booking"! At this point I did wonder if I had arrived at the wrong hotel - not one charging £399.00. + vat. per night. Seeing that we were not happy another member of staff came over and offered us an upgrade to another suite. We ended up in The Duchess Suite, which although perfectly comfortable was decorated in the style of a Victorian gentlemen's club - lots of old prints, very brown and dark. Not quite what we had in mind for our anniversary! Breakfast the following morning was again not what I would have hoped for at a charge of £24.00. Although the room was virtually empty - only two other couples when we arrived, every one there seemed to be having problems with getting what they had ordered. The next day we decided to breakfast out and I can recommend Europa - 37 Albemarle Street for a tasty cooked breakfast at £6.00. Hoping that the evening food would be better we ordered room service, again there were problems with the order and when my steak arrived it was completely overcooked. I would have sent it back but we were due at a concert, so didn't have time. Finally, when we got home I realised we'd been overcharged on our use of the mini bar. Now for the good bits! The location is excellent, and quiet at night. The majority of the staff are extremely helpful and courteous. We were asked if we were happy in our room and I'm sure had we wanted to raise other issues these too would have been dealt with, but we wanted to get on with enjoying our time in London together. Which we did immensely.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mulherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Stayed at this hotel recently and arrived early (before 2pm) left our bags with the hotel, the hotel staff were very helpful and helped us with bags doors etc, went shopping and came back our room wasnt ready still alothough they were very apologetic about this and we waited in the hotels lovely bar area warm and very inviting after a mad crazy day spent shopping.

We got our room key for our junior suite eventually and our bags were all laid out for us in the room, the room had a baby cot as we requested and the room was not as large as i wouldve expected after paying extra to have the junior suite although it was themed and the furnishings were very lavish and the bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath. (which after a day shopping in london was a delight!)

We really enjoyed the service at their bar and in the morning for breakfast the staff just couldnt do enough for you i would say the hotel should probably be rated 5 star as it was immmaculate and service was second to none.

overall apart from small rooms, the hotel is really nice with a good location just of berkley sq and 5 mins walk to oxford st, it is charming and the staff cant do enough for you, and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carolanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We spent 9 days at the Chesterfield Mayfair in London. It excelled our expectations. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made us feel at home. The service was prompt and the restaurant served excellent food.

The hotel itself has retained the old style charm of the past while it has been upgraded. Modern conveniences have been added but the cozy charm has been well maintained. It is charming boutique hotel.

Furthermore, the location is a plus. It is near both the tube and bus stops. Shepherd's Market is only one block away. There we found a number of good little restaurants that were affordable, considering the drop in the dollar.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank friendchicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews