We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely. No complaints at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level Contributor
244 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely. No complaints at all!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This was our first time at the Chesterfield but certainly won’t be our last!

Conveniently tucked away on a quiet street in Mayfair, just a couple of minutes walk from Green Park tube (Piccadilly line direct to Heathrow). It is also very central for sightseeing (Buckingham Palace is just across Green Park), Bond Street is close for shopping and Leicester Square etc is ‘walkable’ after a night at the theater. Shepherds Market is one block away and is a great place for breakfast alfresco if you chose not to eat in the hotel.

The staff were discrete, helpful and very pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble.
I loved receiving the phone call within 5 mins of us checking in to ensure everything was OK with the room. The one minor repair which was needed was dealt with swiftly.
The room was well furnished with fabric covered walls. It resembled an old sailing ship (or maybe that was my imagination). Either the room has recently been refurbished or is well cared for as everything was pristine.
The monogrammed crisp white duvet covers, pillow cases, towels and bath robes were a nice change from the bedspreads etc one finds at large chains.
The under floor bathroom heating and fresh red carnation (their signature flower) were a nice touch.

We faced onto a side street so it was quiet but I get the impression the rooms directly overlooking Charles street were not noisy as it is a quiet street. Some rooms faced a rear courtyard/mews so if you are concerned about potential nose, request one of those.

Our only regret is that we didn’t eat in the restaurant. Usually we avoid hotel restaurants but after making reservations elsewhere we were very impressed with the menu and, upon looking inside, it was very busy.
Maybe next time!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive review.

It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and I so glad that you enjoyed the room.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London and we especially hope to welcome you to our Butlers Restaurant.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,594
    420
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
612
1,367
183
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

the hotel was nice enough. the room slightly small and no view! the lobby small but a nice bar . clean and practical. and very good location. overall : nice!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I thought the service was very good, personnel who we had contact with were very cordial and helpful. We had no problem with questions and service was very good.
Room was nicely groomed and cared for, neat and tidy and clean. Bathrooms cleaned daily and arranged with clean towels and tub area. (Decor was nice, being early English.)
Not to familiar with London proper, but we had no problem with getting from hotel to points we wanted to see or visit. This was in part of the hotel personnel who helped with questions and directions where we wanted to go.
What I liked best was the persons who worked the hotel who took their job to task and made our visit very nice and comfortable, I would come back to your establishment without hesitation and would recommend your hotel to others with approval.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golf6690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive review with your fellow travellers.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that liked your room. Thank you, too, for highlighting the good service you received from our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I was recommended the Chesterfield Hotel by a friend.

We stayed at the Chesterfield in Mayfair for just one night for our anniversary. Everything was just perfect. The hotel is a superb choice for a weekend in London being very central, and at the same time, located in a quiet corner of Mayfair.

All of the staff we encountered during our stay were amazing and could not do enough for us.

The hotel maintains a historic and elegant charm when so many hotels are turning into bland clones.

The Chesterfield will be our first choice of hotel for when we stay in London again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. Thank you for trusting us with such special occasion, your anniversary! It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and it is always fantastic to hear that the entire team went that extra mile to help make your stay so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I stay in London about once every six months and have previously visited Claridges and the May Fair hotel among. However, our recent stay at the The Chesterfield has topped all of them. A comfortably styled hotel that you can readily relax in aligned with fantastic customer service and nice, surprising little touches. The staff were uniformly exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyAlfa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed at the Chesterfield for 8 nights earlier this month. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience I had across the board on so many fronts This is the second time I stayed at the Chesterfield. Both times were awesome. From booking my reservation, arrival, housekeeping until departure. I arrived early, and they had me checked in within the hour. The room was pristine clean and very comfortable. The mattress comfy. The room perfect size for one person. I booked a single. The barhroom very clean. The towels so fresh and fluffy! Not sure what they are made of, but I loved them. As well, the room was comfortable temperature-wise and it was quiet! I felt safe staying at the Chesterfield. I liked how one of the entrance doors was closed off to outside traffic in the later eveing. Being a single woman, this meant a lot to me. There is much more that stood out, but for time sake these are a few of the highlights. Thanks to the Chesterfield for another great stay! I appreciate your professionalism and attention to so many details.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousgeorgetravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location and the room we stayed in was sumptuous and elegant. The service of all the staff was attentive but unobtrusive. The doorman was particularly helpful.

The breakfast was delicious with the eggs benedict highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_laidlaw1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing