We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had the pleasure of enjoying an afternoon tea here, over the years we have had tea at some of the best places in London, this ranks amongst the best. The tea, pastries and sandwiches were of a high quality, but what really makes this venue stand out is the relaxed ambiance. We had our tea in the conservatory area, which was bright and airy, the service was excellent. Antonio our waiter served us with a smile and was happy to replenish teas , sandwiches or pastries. We would highly recommend this venue and will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank mrskhan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your feedback with us from your Afternoon Tea.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your afternoon with us and enjoyed the tea, selection of sandwiches and pastries as well as the relaxed ambience. Thank you also for highlighting the beautiful Conservatory, with its bright and airiness, as well as the service you received from Antonio. I will pass your comments on to him and I am sure he will be delighted to know how much you appreciated his service.

I look forward to welcoming you back for Afternoon Tea next time you are in London.

Kind regards,
Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
There are newer reviews for The Chesterfield Mayfair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,209 - 2,215 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Decided to give the Chesterfield Mayfair a try after filtering through countless competitive shortlisted choices for the best value for money afternoon tea in London.

We were seated at a table in the conservatory, however the size of it is definitely much smaller and less dramatic than the photos depicted on their official website. This place gets fully booked during the weekends, therefore make sure to book at least 2 weeks ahead and ask for a table in the conservatory.

We shared two Traditional Afternoon Tea and a Chocolate Lovers Afternoon Tea sets which were all nicely arranged and consolidated into a 3 tier rounded stand. Although it seems really preposterous to consolidate what would be an Afternoon Tea set for 3 people into ONE stand. You can't help but feel that the more people you have at a seating, you lose out on some of the food as they do try to consolidate everything into one stand. However it really does fill you up! Most of the other tables can't even finish what they've ordered within their seating and opted to pack the remains instead.

The Chocolate Lovers Afternoon Tea set was definitely very unique as it was purely chocolate heaven, with chocolate eclairs, cupcakes, scones that comes with either a cup of hot chocolate/chocolate milkshake! A must try for chocolate addicts.

The whole experience was wonderful and I have nothing to complain about. From the calming atmosphere right down to the food and tea, it was money well spent. Therefore I would highly recommend the Chesterfield Mayfair.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank geographile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here as I was at a party nearby. Good location but the rooms for their price miss a certain something. Bland and homogonous. Service was totally impersonal which i suppose could be expected for a London hotel, but I´ve definately had better. Won´t be back in too much of a hurry.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourdes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is our first time staying here in the summer months and despite the hoards of tourists in London, it didn't seem full. We really like the quiet charm of the public rooms. Standard bedrooms are well furnished if a little small, with some nice touches - complimentary bottled water & free WIFI.Towels were replaced in the early evening - ideal if you've showered before going out. Staff were helpful and attentive. We booked via a travel agent so got a good reduction on the rack rate.
There's a very good tapas restaurant a short walk away (El Pirata) which I really like. They have their own website so check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandaStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The single room that I stayed in was a nice size. Very comfortable bed and pillows. A good sized bathroom, clean and nice amenities. I heard one couple complain about the water pressure but my shower was fine. Service was friendly and fast. I did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment. I was there for only 1 night. I walked to Covent Garden to go to a play - it was about a half hour walk (I like to take it slow and occasionally take a peek in a shop along the way). 3 blocks to the Ritz Hotel, Fortnum & Masons, Burlington Arcade, etc.
Green Park tube station is 3 blocks away (one of the busier tube stations). 10 pounds for a cab from Paddington Station (including tip). Used the Express train from Heathrow 18 pounds and 15 minutes to Paddington (simple and fast). navigating a suitcase through Green Park station is do'able - but there are some stairs and it is busy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Perfect welcome; nice room; always friendly. You don't have to ask for anything here, as the nice staff are always ahead of you. For instance, "do you need a wi-fi key; do you need a taxi; can we hold your luggage, etc." We like it so much that we will be back, and will regard it as our London home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Another fantastic weekend in this great hotel!
Just wish a loyalty scheme was introduced for loyal customers!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodacademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,868 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £183 - £773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing