We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the center of London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The reviews pretty much say it all, the Chesterfield Mayfair is a very good hotel that is tucked away on a quiet street near St. James Park. It's easy walking distance to parks, the Palace and even Victoria Station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was small, but it was nicely decorated, well appointed and clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, which is something that is very important to me. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Overall, I had a very good stay and would certainly return to the Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your positive review.

It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed the room facilities and the breakfast buffet in Butlers Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,255)
There are newer reviews for The Chesterfield Mayfair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,191 - 2,197 of 3,255 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Cool, serene and close to almost all the shopping districts of central London. The staff were very nice and ready to assist throughout my ten days stay. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveAbuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and it is always fantastic to hear that the team were always ready to help and assist during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home” on your next visit to London.

With kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Staying at the Chersterfield Mayfair for the first time is truly getting the "welcome to London" I used to experience in the '50s but returning is like coming home. From the reception desk to the restaurant nothing is left to give that unique welcome. Even the pianist didn't forget to play "As time goes by" ! What more can you expect ?

Room Tip: If you like a ceiling shower it is up to you, otherwise try to get a room with a hand held shower in...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean-PIerre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just returned home from 2 weeks in England, one of which was spent at the Chesterfield Mayfair. We had requested an early check in and were very pleased when the room was ready at noon when we arrived. The room was as described, good sized, extremely clean with a very comfortable bed, roomy bath with nice products. As breakfast was included in our rate, we took it two mornings in the room and 5 in the dinning room, the breakfast buffet was excellent. So much more than coffee, juice and toast.

The staff was excellent, assisting as needed. Chris the concierge was extremely helpful with car rentals, theatre tickets, etc. While many reviewers said it was a five minutes walk to the tube, i was concerned as i don't walk quickly but i am happy to report that the walk of about 6 blocks was very doable. The Green Park station allows access to 3 different tube lines. The hotel is located in Mayfair which is very safe and rather centrally located. All in all, i would highly recommend this hotel and hope I can return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AstridBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers from your recent stay.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to enjoy the room and amenities. Thank you, too, for highlighting the excellent breakfast as well as the good service you received from our staff, in particular Chris on Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My sister and I had afternoon tea in the Conservatory at the Chesterfield on 13th September. The staff were very friendly andhelpful, showing us to our nicely laid out table. The conservatory is furnished in green and cream and well set out although it was smaller than I expected. There was one other couple having tea when we arrived. The selection on the menu was very good and the waiter soon put us our Afternoon blend port of Tea. However we had to wait 20 minutes before our sandwiches arrived, which was rather disappointing as there was no-one else to serve. When it did arrive it was very nicely presented and a good selection of finger sandwiches, mini tarts and pastries and scones with clotted cream and jam. The smoked salmon sandwiches and the scones with cream were our favourite - the sones were very light and tasty. I found the cucumber sandwiches rather bland in taste and didn't finish it. Our waiter brought more tea and more sandwiches for us and we stayed for over an hour. The room did gradually fill up and about half a dozen tables were occupied by the time we left but the atmosphere was rather quiet and at one point there seemed to be more staff than customers. It would have been nice to have some piano or classical music playing in the background. The basic afternoon tea was reasonably priced at £25.50 a head, although a service charge was added to our bill.
On the whole it was enjoyable but I would not be rushing to return or recommend as a "must do" experience. I did prefer the Ritz Afternoon tea which seemed much more of an occasion when we went about three years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dancebluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your afternoon tea experience.

I am delighted to read that you and your sister enjoyed your afternoon tea on Tuesday. It is always good to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass on your comments. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn that the service was slow and I would like to assure you that this is a matter that we are taking very seriously. Please rest assured that we are working on this to prevent similar reoccurrences in the future. Thank you for your kind comments and feedback about the selection of sandwiches, scones and pastries. With regards to your comments about some music; we do have a classical pianist that joins us over the weekend and then also on the first Thursday of every month we host our own tea poet who adds a special atmosphere to our afternoon tea.

We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel one day in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Wonderful hotel in Mayfair, 5 minutes' walk from tube station. Our room was very nice, with a warm decor and very comfortable bed. Wi-fi, mineral water and coffee were provided free of charge.From the very warm welcome on our arrival until we left, they were, without exception, friendly, attentive, helpful and efficient and we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble - they certainly enhanced our stay. We truly enjoyed our first English afternoon tea experience. We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

We are pleased you had a wonderful stay and that you were able to enjoy the room and the complimentary amenities. Thank you for highlighting the brilliant service you received from our staff from the moment you arrived and throughout your stay. I am delighted to read that your first afternoon tea experience was particularly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Wonderful, luxurious hotel in a superb location in Mayfair, 5 minutes' walk from Green Park tube station, convenient for Piccadilly, Hyde Park etc. Our room was immaculate,
well-appointed, with a warm decor and very comfortable bed: wi-fi, mineral water, newspaper, tea & coffee were provided free of charge. We stayed for 3 nights and must say that we have never experienced such excellent service from hotel staff (and we travel extensively!). From the very warm welcome on our arrival until we left, they were, without exception, friendly, attentive, helpful and efficient and we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble - they certainly enhanced our stay. Would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted to read that you had an exceptional stay and thought the hotel luxurious. Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and I am so glad that you enjoyed the room facilities. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,874 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £187 - £770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing